JOUR 48400: Mass Media Research
Key Databases
General Broad Indexes
- Library Search: Advanced SearchLimit to the Search Scope: Everything to include the library's catalog plus most library Databases. You can also limit to just Databases if you're just searching for scholarly articles.
- EBSCO Research LibraryWhen you search EBSCO Research Library you're searching ALL of the subject indexes on the EBSCO platform including Academic Search Premier, Business Source Premier, SportDiscus and Communication Source. It is a broader search scope.
- Google Scholar
This search engine includes peer-reviewed online academic journals, books, conference proceedings, theses, technical reports, court opinions, and other scholarly literature.
Contents: Citations and some full-text.
Note: Few results in Google Scholar link directly to full-text.
Databases indexing scholarly articles in the field of Communications
- Communication Source (EBSCO)
Contains content from communications journals, magazines and other publications, covering related disciplines including linguistics, rhetoric and discourse, speech-language pathology, and media studies.
Contents: Indexing, abstracts, and full-text articles. 1900-present.
- Communication Studies: a SAGE Full-Text CollectionThis is a small group of fulltext journals concerning the subject of Communication from the publisher SAGE.
Newspaper Databases
- Nexis Uni (LexisNexis)Full-text local, national & international newspaper articles. To search the sports section, type this in your search: section(sport!)
- U.S. Newsstream (ProQuest)
Newspapers covered includes The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Boston Globe, Newsday, and Chicago Tribune.
Contents: Full-text newspaper articles, broadcast transcripts, blogs, and news sites from the United States.
Search for a particular outlet:
Databases Tab > Journals A-Z type in the name of the broadcast network (example: CBS)
Sports News
Databases
- SMA | Sports Market Analytics
Coverage includes sports equipment sales, sports participation statistics, the fan market, sports marketing information, and sponsorship for all major sports.
Contents: Full-text news and market research.
- SPORTDiscus with Full Text (EBSCO)
Covers sports, sports medicine research, physical fitness, exercise, physical education, kinesiology, coaching, leisure studies, and occupational therapy.
Contents: Full-text journal articles, abstracts, detailed records for sports-related video, and searchable cited references.
Search for a particular outlet:
Under JOURNALS A-Z, type in the name of the broadcast network (example: CBS)
Some sports only channels may need to be searched directly online; here are some major sports media outlets:
- Yahoo Sports
- ESPN
ESPN Radio transcripts: see note 11 about availability: "ESPN, Inc. does not sell or release copies of its programming due to the process and difficulties in obtaining the appropriate legal review and clearances internally and externally since ESPN does not own all the rights" - SBNation
- CBS Sports
- NBC Sports
- FOX Sports
- Sports Illustrated (website); Sports Illustrated (via the library)
- Street & Smith's SportsBusiness journal
- SportBusiness International
- Ebizmba.com lists additional sources: Bleacher Report,RantSports, DeadSpin, ThePostGame, SportingNews, Scout,FanSided, and YardBarker
- You can also research specific fan websites (ex. PhilliesNation)
About ESPN:
- articles: ESPN as a subject
- ESPN, Inc. (2004). In T. Grant (Ed.), International Directory of Company Histories (Vol. 56). Detroit: St. James Press. Retrieved from
- ESPN : the company : the story and lessons behind the most fanatical brand in sports*** this book covers “The Emperor’s New Clothes” report of 2008
- ESPN : the uncensored history (2001)
- ESPN sports century (1999)
- Sports media : transformation, integration, consumption Includes: Sport, identities, and consumption: The construction of sport at ESPN.com / Lindsey J. Meân. Nov 2015: checking on the status of this title.
- Those guys have all the fun : inside the world of ESPN (2011)
- A history of sports highlights [electronic resource] : replayed plays from Edison to ESPN / Ray Gamache (2010)
- Sports mania : essays on fandom and the media in the 21st century Includes Two nations, two networks, one game : an analysis of the ESPN and Univision telecasts of the 2002 Mexico-United States World Cup match / John P. McGuire and Greg G. Armfield
Journals
Search all the library's journals by title or ISSN.
