JOUR 48400: Mass Media Research
Library Databases
- Statista
Subjects are geared towards business and marketing statistical needs, and include consumer goods, media, politics, sports, travel, and technology.
Contents: Statistical information, data, infographics, and tables.
- SMA | Sports Market Analytics
Coverage includes sports equipment sales, sports participation statistics, the fan market, sports marketing information, and sponsorship for all major sports.
Contents: Full-text news and market research.
- Catalyst, powered by MRI-Simmons (formerly Simmons Insights)
Contains U.S. adult (18+) consumer data on product and brand usage, spending behavior, and media habits. Users can create custom reports to analyze demographic and/or psychographic characteristics of product users and their media behavior.
Note: Access is limited to 5 users at a time.
Need search tips? Try: How to Use Catalyst (MRI-Simmons) and Catalyst-MRI/Simmons YouTube Videos.
Web Sources
- Pew Research Center: Internet & TechnologyNumbers, facts and trends from Pew.
annual report State of the News Media
- CISER (Cornell Institute for Social and Economic Research)CISER has an extensive data collection with emphasis on labor, political, and social behavior, demography, economics, and health. The collection includes federal and state census files, administrative records, public opinion surveys, economic and social data from national and international organizations, along with studies compiled by individual researchers.
- Data.govThe purpose of Data.gov is "to increase public access to high value, machine readable datasets generated by the Executive Branch of the Federal Government." The site includes searchable data catalogs providing access to data in three ways: through the "raw" data catalog, the tool catalog, and the geodata catalog.
- Data USAThe most comprehensive visualization of U.S. public data. Data USA provides an open, easy-to-use platform that turns data into knowledge. The software code is open source - users can build custom applications by adding other data.
- EurobarometerPublic opinion data from the European Commission. Data has been gathered since 1973.
- Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR)Organization of academic and research organizations that maintains a data repository. Offers reports and statistics across cultures, internationally, arranged by themes such as aging, demographics and race. Some data is for members only.
- Media CloudData tool from the Berkman Center for Internet & Society at Harvard that visualizes the flow of the media.
- U.S. Census BureauSocial, demographic and economic information. Includes the American FactFinder resource.
- UNDataInternational data from the United Nations Statistics division. Includes information on greenhouse gases and general environmental data.
Software
- SPSS at Ithaca CollegeSoftware for data analysis.
- QualtricsOnline survey tool that allows one to build surveys, distribute surveys and analyze responses.
- NVivo QDA SoftwareNVivo qualitative data analysis software is now available on the computers located in the Data Analytics Lab, Friends 102, for faculty, staff and students who need to complete research projects.
