Politics
Government Information
- Nexis Uni (LexisNexis)
Contents: Full-text local, national, and international newspaper articles and legal resources.
Need search tips? See our guides for tips on Legal Searching and News Searching.
Online Course: Nexis Uni®: Unlocking Political and Governmental Insights
Nexis Uni® provides access to political and governmental documents, presidential information, and election results. This course guides you through searching Nexis Uni to uncover valuable insights and data related to these topics, enabling targeted searches and platform navigation.
After finishing this course, a certificate of completion is available with a link to add the certificate to your LinkedIn profile. You must complete the course in one go. If you close it before you're done, you'll have to start over to get the certificate. Be prepared to give about 30 minutes or less to this valuable lesson. It’s loaded with expert videos and exercises to help you practice. It's worth it!
- GovInfoPortal to documents from the Government Publishing Office (budget, bills, hearings, Constitution, US Code, etc.). Formerly: FDsys, GPO Access
- United Nations Official Document System"The Official Document System (ODS) is an online database of UN documents that was first launched in 1993 and updated in 2016. ODS has full-text, born-digital UN documents published from 1993 onward, including documents of the Security Council, the General Assembly, the Economic and Social Council and their subsidiaries, as well as administrative issuances and other documents." - website
- American Presidency ProjectA digital archive of the Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States from Hoover to Bush (1929 to present); see also IC Library stacks at: J80 .A283. The site also includes: inaugural addresses, radio addresses, fireside chats, debates, convention speeches, and party platforms.
- Congress.govFind the status and history of bills in the current or prior legislature of Congress. Includes Committee Reports, Roll Call votes, Public Laws, U.S. Code, Congressional Record, etc.
- Congressional HearingsMost Congressional hearings are published two months to two years after they are held. Only hearings released to GPO from the committees are made available on GovInfo. Coverage from 1985 - present.
- CREST (CIA Declassified Documents)25 years worth of declassified documents now available to the public.
- Open CRS: Congressional Research Report for the PeopleCongressional Research Service (CRS) provides background reports to Congress yet they were not distributed to government document collections. Citizens had to write their Congressional representatives to obtain copies. The Open CRS site has indexed and posted copies of these valuable documents.
- Government Accountability Office (GAO)The U.S. Government Accountability Office (GAO) is an independent, nonpartisan agency that works for Congress. Often called the "congressional watchdog," GAO investigates how the federal government spends taxpayer dollars.
- Oyez: Supreme Court MultimediaUser friendly website that contains biographies of Supreme Court justices, case decisions, and some audio transcripts of select cases.
- USA.govThe U.S. government's official web portal. This site makes it easy for the public to get U.S. government information and services on the web
- US Code from the House of Representatives.Searchable version of the U.S. code either by keyword, boolean or by title and section.
