TVDM 22500: Television Production and Direction
Books: Table of Contents
Books by Subject
See also:
- Cable television
- Children's television programs
- Comedy programs
- Communication International
- Cop shows
- Crime on television
- Detective and mystery television programs
- Emmy Awards
- Fantasy television programs
- Feature films
- (screenwriting) Motion picture authorship
- Motion picture producers and directors
- Motion pictures--Editing
- Police Television series
- Sex on television
- Science fiction television programs
- Television advertising
- Television and children
- Television comedies
- Television programs for children
- Television serials
Finding Books
- Library Search: Advanced SearchChange the "Any Field" drop-down to Title to search by title. Under "Tweak my results" in the right menu, limit to "Library Catalog" to find books and videos available in the library.
- Ebook Central (ProQuest)
Contains over 180,000 ebooks in nearly all disciplines including business, education, sciences, technology, law, and medicine.
Contents: Ebooks.
Need search tips? See our Guide for more information.
- WorldCat via FirstSearch
Contents: Bibliographic information for books, journals, and multimedia owned by libraries worldwide.
Encyclopedias and Handbooks
Encyclopedia of television shows a comprehensive supplement, 2011-2016 by
"This supplement to Encyclopedia of Television Shows, 1925-2010 covers 1612 series broadcast between January 1, 2011, and December 31, 2016. Major networks--ABC, CBS, the CW, Fox and NBC--are covered along with AMC, Disney, Nickelodeon, Bravo, Lifetime, Discovery, TNT, Comedy Central and History Channel. Alphabetical entries provide storylines, casts, networks and running dates"--
Includes index.
Call Number: ebookISBN: 1476630941Publication Date: 2018- Encyclopedia of television shows, 1925 through 2007 by This work represents decades of research and television's entire history. While documentation regarding cast and personnel is now often found online, descriptions of the shows from authoritative sources are still not widely available. Terrace fills that gap with this work, which covers more than 9,350 shows and constitutes the most comprehensive documentation of TV series ever published"Call Number: ebookPublication Date: 2009
The Business of Entertainment by
The Business of Entertainment lifts the curtain to show the machinery (and sleight of hand) behind the films, TV shows, music, and radio programs we can't live without. The Business of Entertainment comprises three volumes, covering movies popular music, and television. But it's not all about stars and glitter--it's as much about the nuts and bolts of daily life in the industry, including the challenges of digitizing content, globalization, promoting stars and shows, protecting intellectual property, developing talent, employing the latest technology, and getting projects done on time and within budget. Challenges don't end there. There's also advertising and product placement, the power of reviews and reviewers, the cancerous spread of piracy, the battles between cable and satellite operators (and the threat to both from telephone companies), the backlash to promoting gangsta lifestyles, and more. Each chapter is written by an authority in the field, from noted scholars to entertainment industry professionals to critics to screenwriters to lawyers. The result is a fascinating mosaic, with each chapter a gem that provides insight into the industry that--hands down--generates more conversations on a daily basis than any other.
Call Number: ebookISBN: 9780275998394Publication Date: 2008
Dictionary of Media and Communication Studies by
The Dictionary of Media and Communication Studies has provided students and the general public alike with a gateway into the study of intercultural communication, public relations and marketing communications since 1984. In this 9th edition, James Watson and Anne Hill provide a detailed compendium of the different facets of personal, group, mass-media and internet communication that continues to be a vital source of information for all those interested in how communication affects our lives. They cover new applications and developments, such as the incorporation of Neuroscience techniques in advertising and marketing. Other updates include Cyber-bullying, Twitter scandals, conduct in media organizations, on-line lobbying, global protesting/petitioning, and gender issues relating to social media in general. While new entries explore the profound shifts that have taken place in the world of communication in recent years, the purpose of this new edition is not necessarily to keep abreast of every new media event but to reflect the trends that influence and prompt such events, such as the Leveson Inquiry and Report and phone hacking via mobile phones. Politics seems to be playing out more on Twitter than in The Times. This volume seeks to make its twenty-first century readers more media literate, as well as more critical consumers of modern news.
Call Number: ebookISBN: 9781628921496Publication Date: 2015
Encyclopedia of the Documentary Film by
The Encyclopedia of the Documentary Filmis a fully international reference work on the history of the documentary film from the Lumière brothers' WorkersLeaving the Lumière Factory(1885) to Michael Moore's Fahrenheit 911(2004). This Encyclopediaprovides a resource that critically analyzes that history in all its aspects. Not only does this Encyclopediaexamine individual films and the careers of individual film makers, it also provides overview articles of national and regional documentary film history. It explains concepts and themes in the study of documentary film, the techniques used in making films, and the institutions that support their production, appreciation, and preservation.
Call Number: Reference Stacks PN1995.9.D6 E53 2006ISBN: 1579584454Publication Date: 2005- Encyclopedia of international media and communications byCall Number: ebookPublication Date: 2003Explores the ways that editorial content--from journalism and scholarship to films and infomercials is developed, presented, stored, analyzed, and regulated around the world.
- Encyclopaedia of Mass Communication : Volumes 1- 3Entries on the role, impact and significance of media; communication methods and theories; moral, ethical social & political aspects; and international aspects.
- Encyclopedia of television (Museum of Broadcast Communication) byCall Number: ebookPublication Date: 2004also available in Reference Stacks PN1992.18 .E53 2004 Covers programs, people, history, trends, policy, etc.
- Encyclopedia of television shows, 1925 through 2007 byCall Number: ebookPublication Date: 2008Covers more than 9,350 shows (including pilots)
History of the Mass Media in the United States by Call Number: Reference Stacks P92.U5 H55 1998ISBN: 1579580122Publication Date: 1998- International television & video almanac.Call Number: General Stacks PN1992.1 .I55Publication Date: 1987 - 2014Ceased in 2014. This is a good source of historical television statistics.
Television Cartoon Shows by
This comprehensive reference to TV cartoon shows covers some 75 years. In the decade or so since the first edition, the industry has grown and expanded to previously unimagined heights, thanks in great part to the upsurge of cable TV services catering to animation fans. In the ten-year period since the first edition, nearly 450 new cartoon series premiered in the U.S.Alphabetically arranged by title, the book discusses each cartoon show in detail, providing full production credits and offering commentary on such elements as development, characters, style, and the show's significance in the overall scheme of television animation.
Call Number: Reference Stacks PN1992.8.A59 E74 2005ISBN: 0786420995Publication Date: 2005
