Sociology
Sociology
Best Bets
- SocINDEX with Full Text (EBSCO)Scholarly journals, books, and conference papers. Search tips:
- Use quotation marks to search for words together as a term, e.g. "minimum wage".
- Use an asterisk (*) to search for a word plus any variants, e.g. work* will search for work, worker, workforce, and workplace.
- Use the OR between words to search for synonyms, such as "poor" OR "poverty".
- Use the limits to filter for a particular source type, such as peer reviewed journals - Social Science Database (ProQuest)
Subjects covered include sociology, psychology, anthropology, criminology, political science, and education.
Contents: Abstracts and full-text academic journal articles, newspaper articles, and conference papers.
- PsycInfo (APA) (EBSCO)
Subjects covered include psychology, behavioral and social science, neuroscience, business, nursing, law, and education.
Contents: Abstracts and full-text journal articles and dissertations.
- Opposing Viewpoints (Gale in Context)Research and background information on social issues, supplemented by, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles.
- Google Scholar
This search engine includes peer-reviewed online academic journals, books, conference proceedings, theses, technical reports, court opinions, and other scholarly literature.
Contents: Citations and some full-text.
Note: Few results in Google Scholar link directly to full-text.
- Social Science Research Network (SSRN)Social Science Research Network (SSRN) includes a number of specialized research networks in each of the social sciences. The SSRN eLibrary consists of two parts: an Abstract Database containing abstracts for scholarly working papers and forthcoming papers and an Electronic Paper Collection containing downloadable full text documents in Adobe Acrobat pdf format.
