Sports Economics
Databases to Find Newspaper Articles
- New York Times.com
Our campus subscription to The New York Times allows patrons to register for an individual account to NY Times online.
Note: To access our subscription for the first time, patrons will need to claim a pass. Already have a pass? Simply go to nytimes.com and log in using your account credentials. See our guide to The New York Times for more information.
- New York Times (1980-present) (ProQuest)
Contents: Full-text NY Times articles, including New York Times Book Review (1988-present), New York Times Magazine (1997-present), New York Times Online (2015-present), and New York Times Video (2018-present). Updated daily.
- Wall Street Journal (1984-present) (ProQuest)
Contents: Full-text articles from The Wall Street Journal, including The Wall Street Journal Online (2010-present), and WSJ: the Magazine from The Wall Street Journal (Jun 2011-Apr 2013).
- U.S. Newsstream (ProQuest)
Newspapers covered includes The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Boston Globe, Newsday, and Chicago Tribune.
Contents: Full-text newspaper articles, broadcast transcripts, blogs, and news sites from the United States.
- Newspaper Source (EBSCO)
Contents: Newspaper articles from national, regional, and international newspapers and television and radio news transcripts.
- New York Times (1851-2020) (ProQuest)
This collection of articles from the New York Times is a subset of U.S. Major Dailies -- Historical Newspapers.
Contents: Full-text, digitized NY Times articles. 1851-2020.
- Wall Street Journal (1889-2012) (ProQuest)
This collection of articles from the Wall Street Journal is a subset of U.S. Major Dailies -- Historical Newspapers.
Contents: Full-text, digitized articles from The Wall Street Journal from 1889-2012.
Databases to Find Articles
- ABI/INFORM Collection (ProQuest)Contains articles from a wide variety of journals and newspapers which are both general, business specific and academic in nature. Coverage of such subjects as the business, economics and marketing of sports.
- EconLit (ProQuest)
Published by the American Economic Association, this resource provides bibliographic information or economics-related literature.
Contents: Abstracts and some full-text articles in economics. 1969-present. Full-text book reviews from Journal of Economic Literature. 1993-present.
- JSTORCoverage of various economics topics including sports economics and stadium finance among others. Articles are scholarly.
- Business Source Premier (EBSCO)Combination of general, trade and scholarly articles from a wide variety of sources.
- ScienceDirectCoverage of both the economics and finance of sports, stadiums and other subjects. Articles are scholarly in nature and often link to other useful articles.
- Business Insights (Gale) (Formerly known as Business Insights: Essentials)Contains detailed general and industry news including such topics as sports finance and sports economics.
- IDEASIDEAS is the largest bibliographic database dedicated to Economics and available freely on the Internet. Based on RePEc, it indexes over 2,600,000 items of research, including over 2,400,000 that can be downloaded in full text.
- SPORTDiscus with Full Text (EBSCO)
Covers sports, sports medicine research, physical fitness, exercise, physical education, kinesiology, coaching, leisure studies, and occupational therapy.
Contents: Full-text journal articles, abstracts, detailed records for sports-related video, and searchable cited references.
- EBSCO Research Library
Search across all of our EBSCO subscriptions for full-text articles and abstracts in almost every discipline.
- Nexis Uni (LexisNexis)Search for articles in newspapers, magazines and law reviews among others. Law review searches yield some very detailed results by using the following search: (stadium financing) and atleast20(stadium!)
