Cathy Michael
Selected Databases
You can find databases in numerous ways: 1) The Guides tab (homepage), 2) The Databases tab (homepage), & 3) ask your librarian!
GENERAL DATABASES:
-
Library SearchUse to find relevant materials in databases, books, images, scores, and multimedia. Does not search all library databases.
-
EBSCO Research Library
Search across all of our EBSCO subscriptions for full-text articles and abstracts in almost every discipline.
-
Google Scholar
This search engine includes peer-reviewed online academic journals, books, conference proceedings, theses, technical reports, court opinions, and other scholarly literature.
Contents: Citations and some full-text.
Note: Few results in Google Scholar link directly to full-text.
-
Ebook Central (ProQuest)
Contains over 180,000 ebooks in nearly all disciplines including business, education, sciences, technology, law, and medicine.
Need search tips? See our Guide for more information.
SUBJECT SPECIFIC RESOURCES
-
Art & Architecture Source (EBSCO)
Includes citations and articles on art, including fine, decorative, and commercial art, as well as photography, architecture, and design.
Contents: Indexing for art reproductions, indexing and abstracts for periodicals, peer-reviewed journals, and dissertations. Also includes images and full-text articles.
-
Philosopher's Index (EBSCO)
Produced by the Philosopher’s Information Center, this database covers all major fields of philosophy.
Contents: Abstracts and citations for journals and dissertations.
-
Art Index Retrospective (EBSCO)
Covers fine art, decorative art, and commercial art literature from nearly 600 publications.
Contents: Citations and abstracts of articles, interviews, film and book reviews, bibliographies, exhibition listings, conference reports, anthologies, and editorials. 1929-1984.
-
Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA)
The BHA, searchable along with Répertoire international de la littérature de l'art (RILA) 1975-1989, collects citations for European and American visual arts materials.
Contents: Citations and abstracts for books, articles, conference proceedings, dissertations, and exhibition and dealer's catalogs. 1975-2007.
-
Artstor
Contains images from approximately 300 collections from all over the world to support study across disciplines, including anthropology, fine art, archaeology, history, and theatre.
Contents: Images.
-
Statista
Subjects are geared towards business and marketing statistical needs, and include consumer goods, media, politics, sports, travel, and technology.
Contents: Statistical information, data, infographics, and tables.