By collecting and analyzing data from a variety of government and private sources, we're able to create detailed, informative profiles for every city in the United States. From crime rates to weather patterns, you’ll find the data you're looking for.
The most comprehensive visualization of U.S. public data. Data USA provides an open, easy-to-use platform that turns data into knowledge. The software code is open source - users can build custom applications by adding other data.
Is the new platform to access data and digital content from the U.S. Census Bureau. The vision for data dissemination through data.census.gov is to improve the customer experience by making data available from one centralized place so that data users spend less time searching for data content and more time using it. For guidance on using data.census.gov, please see our Resources page at https://www.census.gov/data/adrm/what-is-data-census-gov.html.
Subjects are geared towards business and marketing statistical needs, and include consumer goods, media, politics, sports, travel, and technology. Contents: Statistical information, data, infographics, and tables.
Which neighborhoods in America offer children the best chance to rise out of poverty?
The Opportunity Atlas answers this question using anonymous data following 20 million Americans from childhood to their mid-30s.
Now you can trace the roots of today's affluence and poverty back to the neighborhoods where people grew up.
See where and for whom opportunity has been missing, and develop local solutions to help more children rise out of poverty.
Collects full-text articles from the ethnic, minority, and native press, including top scholarly journals on ethnicities and ethnic studies. Contents include African American, Arab, Middle Eastern, Asian American, European, Jewish, and Native American publications. Contents: Full-text articles from newspapers, magazines, and scholarly journal. 1990-present; plus historical coverage of Native American, African American, and Hispanic American periodicals from 1959-1989.
Newspapers covered includes The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Boston Globe, Newsday, and Chicago Tribune. Contents: Full-text newspaper articles, broadcast transcripts, blogs, and news sites from the United States.
Formerly known as InfoTrac Newsstand, this database provides access to major U.S. regional, national, and local newspapers and news sources, as well as world news sources. Contents: Newspaper articles, images, and radio and TV broadcast transcripts.
Contents: Full-text NY Times articles, including New York Times Book Review (1988-present), New York Times Magazine (1997-present), New York Times Online (2015-present), and New York Times Video (2018-present). Updated daily.
Our goal is to foster the preservation of historic buildings, historic downtowns and neighborhoods, cultural resources and to promote heritage tourism by facilitating communication among historic preservation professionals and the general public.
See which indigenous groups resided where in the Americas. Native-Land.ca is not an organization (yet) and is run by Victor G Temprano, whose company, Mapster, funds the website. This is not an academic or professional survey of Indigenous territories, and the maps are constantly being refined from user input. These are meant more for the sake of helping people get interested and engaged.
Library Database: SRDS is used to find sources to place ads but can be used as a directory. Click on Newspapers atop the page & then select a Designated Market Area (DMA) which is typically a large city.
Local level: for US towns and cities, try searching the city or town with the word code. Ex. City of Ithaca. (a lot of municipal codes are on the General Code platform). In the least, go to the website of your jurisdiction (Town, County, City) and browse the tabs for signs of a code or law. Also go to local websites to see if they post local government meeting minutes and agendas. Ex. City of Ithaca: Government. or Tompkins County Government. For schools, search your local School District. Ex. Ithaca City School District. Local newspapers will summarize key points of meetings for the public.
International level: I would Google the State, City or school you're searching and mine their website to begin. Fill in blanks with newspaper searching in Nexis Uni.