Academic Writing Group Projects
Fairy Tales
Below are a few selected works that may be helpful for researching fairy tales.
Oxford Encyclopedia of Children's Literature, volumes 1-4 by Call Number: Reference Stacks: PN1008.5 .O94 2006ISBN: 9780195146561Publication Date: 2006
Man, Myth and Magic by Call Number: Reference Stacks ; BF1407 .M34 1997ISBN: 9781854357311Publication Date: 1994-12-01
Finding Books:
Fairy Tale Call Number Ranges:
• BL: Mythology & World Religions
• E 98 and E 99: Indigenous and Traditional Stories
• GR 40 - GR 390: Folklore
• PZ 8: Fairytales, Folktales (PZ 8.1) & Fables (PZ 8.2) in Juvenile Literature & Illustrated Children's books
Databases:
- Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)
This multidisciplinary database contains articles from magazines and peer-reviewed journals, as well as Associated Press (AP) video content (1930s-present).
Contents: Full-text articles and video.
- Ebook Central (ProQuest)
Contains over 180,000 ebooks in nearly all disciplines including business, education, sciences, technology, law, and medicine.
Contents: Ebooks.
Need search tips? See our Guide for more information.
- JSTOR
Includes archival journal collections in the Arts & Sciences and Life Sciences covering language and literature, history, economics, political science, and health sciences.
Contents: Full-text articles and books.
- Literary Reference Center (EBSCO)
Contents: Synopses, critical essays, book reviews, literary journals, author biographies, full-text classic novels, short stories, and poems.
- MLA International Bibliography (EBSCO)
Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), this resource contains citations covering literature, language, linguistics, folklore, literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts, and historical information about printing and publishing.
Contents: Citations, the MLA Directory of Periodicals thesaurus, and a searchable directory of noted authors' names.
- Project Muse
Subjects covered include literature and criticism, history, education, philosophy, political science, and gender studies.
Contents: Full-text peer-reviewed articles.
- ProQuest Research Library (ProQuest)
This custom link allows patrons to search across several ProQuest databases including APA PsycInfo, Healthcare Administration Database, Education database, Psychology Database, Research Library, and Social Science Database.
Contents: Full-text articles, abstracts, and ebooks.
- WorldCat via FirstSearch
Contents: Bibliographic information for books, journals, and multimedia owned by libraries worldwide.
