CNPH 10100: Introduction to Film Aesthetics and Analysis
General Tips
Steers, Stacey 2017 Edge of Alchemy (detail) Stacey Steers Studio. Accessed 20, August, 2018 <https://staceysteers.com/installation/edge-of-alchemy/#-installations>
The main search field on the library page (Library Search) is the best starting point for this class. For more information about using Library Search, see our guide. Here, you'll find articles, books, DVDs and CDs.
When researching specific films, older titles will have more information written about them. If you choose to write about a recent film (released in the past year), you'll find that articles will be your best bet. Please keep in mind that books often take years to write, and there may not be an entire book that focuses exclusively on your chosen film. Also remember to search additional material about the directors, the motion picture industry, or general subject matter such as cinematography or mise en scene.
Best Bets:
- Screen Studies: Bloomsbury and Faber Screenplays and Criticism (Bloomsbury)
Contains ebooks and overview articles covering aspects of filmmaking across many genres and regions, as well as classic, contemporary, and adapted screenplays, and an interactive timeline that illustrates the history of cinema.
Contents: Screenplays, ebooks, articles, and a timeline.
- MLA International Bibliography (EBSCO)
Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), this resource contains citations covering literature, language, linguistics, folklore, literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts, and historical information about printing and publishing.
Contents: Citations, the MLA Directory of Periodicals thesaurus, and a searchable directory of noted authors' names.
- EBSCO Research Library
Search across all of our EBSCO subscriptions for full-text articles and abstracts in almost every discipline.
- Project Muse
Subjects covered include literature and criticism, history, education, philosophy, political science, and gender studies.
Contents: Full-text peer-reviewed articles.
- ProQuest Research Library (ProQuest)
This custom link allows patrons to search across several ProQuest databases including APA PsycInfo, Healthcare Administration Database, Education database, Psychology Database, Research Library, and Social Science Database.
Contents: Full-text articles, abstracts, and ebooks.
- Communication Source (EBSCO)
Contains content from communications journals, magazines and other publications, covering related disciplines including linguistics, rhetoric and discourse, speech-language pathology, and media studies.
Contents: Indexing, abstracts, and full-text articles. 1900-present.
- Communication Studies: a SAGE Full-Text Collection
Contains articles from communications journals covering related disciplines including journalism, public opinion, political communication, mass communication, television and media, and management.
Contents: Full-text articles from Sage journals.
