Art
Get Started
- Oxford Art Online (Grove Art Online) This database provides access to Grove Dictionary of Art, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics (2nd edition), The Oxford Companion to Western Art, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms.Contents: Articles, images, subject entries, and biographies along with bibliographies.Note: Access is limited to 3 users at a time.
A Short Guide to Writing about Art by
The best-selling guide to writing about art Sylvan Barnet's A Short Guide to Writing About Art guides students through every aspect of writing about art. Students are shown how to analyze pictures (drawings, paintings, photographs), sculptures and architecture, and are prepared with the tools they need to present their ideas through effective writing.
Call Number: Reference Stacks N7476 .B37 2015ISBN: 9780205886999Publication Date: 2014
30,000 Years of Art by
Following on from The Art Book published in 1994, 30,000 Years of Artoffers an original and accessible introduction to art for a general readership. Unlike The Art Book,it organises the work in chronological order (rather than alphabetical), it covers all cultures (not only western) and, as the title suggests, it covers 30,000 years of art (rather than art since the Renaissance).
Call Number: Reference Stacks N5300 .A14 2007ISBN: 9780714847894Publication Date: 2007
Art in World History by
A guide to the establishment of the library which covers materials acquisition, the organization and usage of the library's collection to provide a variety of services and the use of automation. This book aims to instruct the librarian on managing the small library effectively.
Call Number: available online (print available in Reference Stacks N5300 .H674 2004)ISBN: 0765680696Publication Date: 2003
Atlas of World Art by
The Atlas of World Art maps the cumulative traces of humankind's artistic activity and demonstrates the importance of physical and political geography for the history of the world's art. This stunning volume is the first to treat the art of the whole world from prehistory to present day andto show the importance of natural and social factors in shaping artistic activity. The Atlas is divided into seven parts, each devoted to a specific time period: Art of the Hunter Gatherer (50,000-5,000 BCE); Art, Agriculture and Urbanization (5,000-500 BCE); Art, War and Empire (500 BCE-600 CE); Art, Religion and Empire (600-1500); Art, Exploitation and Display (1500-1800); Art,Industry and Science (1800-1900); Art, Competition and Identity (1900-2000). Each section opens with a helpful timeline for that period bringing together important dates from across various cultures. Within each section, the spreads are organized by four broad geographic regions: the Americas,Europe, Africa, and Asia and the Pacific. With dramatic full-color maps, as well as commentaries and illustrations, the Atlas of World Art is an authoritative, comprehensive, and elegant volume.
Call Number: Reference Stacks G1046.E1 O9 2004ISBN: 0195215834Publication Date: 2004
