Art
Women Artists
Encyclopedias and Dictionaries
Women in the Fine Arts by
Many women artists throughout history have generated a brilliant heritage that has been suppressed and left inaccessible for scholarly or public appreciation and study. This book provides a remedy by making available literary references to women artists' lives and social milieu and, more importantly, citing illustrations of their work for serious study.Most of the references are drawn from unindexed sources in books, periodicals, exhibition catalogs and newspapers, accompanied by an illustration guide that directs the reader to specific pictures for further study. Subjects include architects, painters and sculptors since the Renaissance, photographers, recent artists in performance, video and computer fields, and related areas of feminist aesthetics. References are annotated if they represent a major (or only) work of the artist in question.
Call Number: Reference Stacks N8354 .A47 1991ISBN: 0899505414Publication Date: 1991- Women Artists in America by Call Number: Reference Stacks N6536 .C523 1980ISBN: 0938290002Publication Date: 1981
Dictionary of Women Artists by
First Published in 1997. Routledge is an imprint of Taylor & Francis, an informa company.
Call Number: Reference Stacks N8354 .D53 1997ISBN: 1884964214Publication Date: 1997
Contemporary Women Artists by
This volume provides thorough biographical, bibliographical and critical information on 350 of the world's most prominent and influential 20th century women artists, including important new artists.
Call Number: Reference Stacks N8354 .C66 1999ISBN: 1558623728Publication Date: 1999
American Colonial Women and Their Art by
Less celebrated than their male counterparts, women have been vital contributors to the arts. Works by women of the colonial era represent treasured accomplishments of American culture and still impress us today, centuries after their creation. The breadth of creative expression is as impressive as the women themselves. In American Colonial Women and Their Art: A Chronological Encyclopedia, Mary Ellen Snodgrass follows the history of creative expression from the early 1600s to the late 1700s. Drawing upon primary sources--such as letters, diaries, travel notes, and journals--this timeline encompasses a wide variety of artistic accomplishment, such as: -Stitchery, quilting, and rug hooking -Painting, sculpture, and sketches -Essays, poems, and other writings -Dance, acting, and oratory -Musical composition and performance Individual talents highlighted in this volume include miniature portraits by Mary Roberts, pastel likenesses by Henrietta Dering Johnston, stagecraft by Elizabeth Sampson Sullivan Ashbridge, basketry by Namumpum Weetamoo, dance by Mary Stagg, metalwork by blacksmith Elizabeth Hager Pratt, calligraphy by Anna "Anastasia" Thomas W ster, city planning by Deborah Dunch Moody, poems and essays by Phillis Wheatley, and fabric design by Anne Pogue McGinty. Featuring appendices that list individuals by skill and by state--as well as a glossary that clarifies the parameters of genres--this volume is essential to the study of Colonial women's art. Resurrecting the efforts of women to record, adorn, and illustrate the spirit of their times, American Colonial Women and Their Art is a valuable resource that will be of interest to students and scholars of gender and women's studies, art history, and American history.
Call Number: Reference Stacks N6507 .S66 2018ISBN: 9781442270961Publication Date: 2017
Additional Reading
Life Stories of Women Artists, 1550-1800 by
The struggles and achievements of forty-six notable women artists of the early modern period, as documented by their contemporaries, are uniquely brought together in this anthology. The life stories presented here are foundational texts for the history of art, but since most are found only in rare volumes and few have been translated into English, until now they have been generally inaccessible to many scholars. Originally published in biographical compendia such as Vasari's Lives of the Artists, the writings included here document not only the lives of relatively well known women artists such as Artemisia Gentileschi and Sofonisba Anguissola, but also those who have languished in obscurity, like Anna Waser and Li Yin. Each life story is preceded by a brief introduction to the artist as well as to her biographer, and the texts themselves are annotated to provide necessary clarification. Beyond their documentary value, these stories provide fascinating insight as to how men commonly characterized women artists as exceptions to their sex, and attempted to explain their presence in the male-dominated realm of art. The introductory chapter to the book explores this intriguing gender dynamic and elucidates some of the strategies and historical context that factored into the composition of these lives. The volume includes an appended index to women artists' life stories in biographical compendia of the period
Call Number: N8354 .D33 2009ISBN: 9780754654315Publication Date: 2009- Our Hidden Heritage: five centuries of women artists. Tufts, Eleanor.• by Call Number: General Stacks N43 .T93ISBN: 0846700263Publication Date: 1974
Trouble with Women Artists by Call Number: N8354 .A3513 2019ISBN: 9782080203700Publication Date: 2019-09-03
Women Artists by
The achievements of women in the arts have, until recently, been a well-kept secret, and the (re)discovery of women artists is one of the great ongoing adventures of the twentieth century, revealing vibrant, long neglected chapters in humanity's history, and redefining our very understanding of what art is. Women Artists presents a wealth of information on the subject with nearly 300 colour plates of works by extraordinary female artists spanning five centuries.
Call Number: Oversize Books N8354 .B37 1999 +ISBN: 0883633981Publication Date: 1999
Women Artists in History by
This concisely written book introduces readers to the most recent contributions of women to the history of art from the ancient past to the year 2000. It also focuses on the roles of women as patrons and collectors--along with the ways in which women have been represented in imagery in different periods. Organized chronologically of western civilizations and the roles women have played in their visual cultures, it highlights contributions from the Middle Ages to the present. Coverage includes Europe from 1450-1800; 19th Century France, United States and Victorian England; the Post World War II Era; contemporary art; and a conclusion of global issues for women artists: past, present, and future. For artists, and art lovers looking to truly understand and appreciate the outstanding contributions of women to the field.
Call Number: General Stacks N43 .S57 2001ISBN: 0130273198Publication Date: 2000
