THEA 33600: Dialects for the Stage
African American
- Black Freedom Struggle in the United States (ProQuest)
This website presents a selection of primary source material documenting the Black Freedom Struggle divided into 6 phases including: Slavery and the Abolitionist Movement (1790-1860); The Civil War and the Reconstruction Era (1861-1877); Jim Crow Era from 1878 to the Great Depression (1878-1932); The New Deal and World War II (1933-1945); The Civil Rights and Black Power Movements (1946-1975); and The Contemporary Era (1976-2000).
Contents: Newspaper articles, pamphlets, diaries, and correspondence. 1790-2000.
African American Cemeteries Online
Search by state. Cemeteries often contain genealogical information that can't be found anywhere else. As such, they provide crucial information and clues for further research for the African American genealogist.
African American Genealogy (Maryland)
Research guidelines from the Enoch Pratt Free Library.
African American Genealogy Records
A collection of links to African American Online databases.
African American History & Federal Records (Journal, Special Issue devoted to African American History in Federal Records)
This issue focuses on the use of federal records in African American historical research. Sixteen articles by NARA staff and other historians explore the depth and breadth of material in the National Archives relative to African Americans. This issue examines the Civil War and Reconstruction, labor issues, civil rights, pictorial records, and research aid
AfriGeneas
AAHGS provides a number of tools and resources to help individuals and families in finding their family story.
Afro-American Historical and Genealogical Society
"The Afro-American Historical and Genealogical Society, Inc. (AAHGS) strives to preserve African-ancestored family history, genealogy, and cultural diversity by teaching research techniques and disseminating information throughout the community. Our primary goals are to promote scholarly research, provide resources for historical and genealogical studies, create a network of persons with similar interests, and assist members in documenting their histories."
Afro-Louisiana History and Genealogy: 1719-1820 (Louisiana)
Dr. Gwendolyn Hall is professor emerita of history at Rutgers University, where she taught Latin American and Caribbean history. A noted New Orleans writer and historian, Dr. Hall has written four books, and developed and edited Databases for the Study of Afro-Louisiana History and Genealogy, 1699 - 1860 (2000), from which this search engine is built.
Alabama African American Genealogy Research
Black Family Research: Using the Records of Post-Civil War Federal Agencies at the National Archives
Civil War Soldiers and Sailors System
Covers more than 230,000 African-American troops who served in the Civil War.
Living with the Hydra: Documentation of Slavery and the Slave Trade in Federal Records
An article by Walter Hill in the Winter 2000 issue of NARA’s magazine, Prologue.
Marriage Registers of Freedmen
Elaine Everly, NARA staff member, wrote this article on Freedman's marriage registers, an invaluable source of family history, for the Fall 1973 issue of Prologue.
Register of Free Blacks: Augusta County, Virginia
A complete register of the sightings of black men freed in Augusta County, Virginia. Each registration entry includes proof of the man's freedom, where he was spotted, and a thorough physical description.
Rost Home Colony, St. Charles Parish, Louisiana
This article by Michael Knight on the Freedmen's Bureau appeared in the Fall 2001 issue of NARA's magazine Prologue.
The recordings of former slaves in Voices Remembering Slavery: Freed People Tell Their Stories took place between 1932 and 1975 in nine states. Twenty-three interviewees discuss how they felt about slavery, slaveholders, coercion of slaves, their families, and freedom. Several individuals sing songs, many of which were learned during the time of their enslavement. It is important to note that all of the interviewees spoke sixty or more years after the end of their enslavement, and it is their full lives that are reflected in these recordings. The individuals documented in this presentation have much to say about living as African Americans from the 1870s to the 1930s, and beyond.
