Media Literacy & Critical Thinking
Background
- Opposing Viewpoints (Gale in Context)
Contains a range of perspectives on many important social issues and current events, with pro/con viewpoints in an interdisciplinary resource. Areas of focus include science, environmental studies, politics, business, and social sciences.
Contents: Reference articles, viewpoints, infographics, news, periodical content, multimedia, and more.
- Gale Ebooks
Formerly known as Gale Virtual Reference Library, this collection contains reference materials covering business, philosophy, history, film, Jewish studies, and more.
Contents: Ebooks.
The Cambridge Handbook of Responsible Artificial Intelligence by
In the past decade, artificial intelligence (AI) has become a disruptive force around the world, offering enormous potential for innovation but also creating hazards and risks for individuals and the societies in which they live. This volume addresses the most pressing philosophical, ethical, legal, and societal challenges posed by AI. Contributors from different disciplines and sectors explore the foundational and normative aspects of responsible AI and provide a basis for a transdisciplinary approach to responsible AI. This work, which is designed to foster future discussions to develop proportional approaches to AI governance, will enable scholars, scientists, and other actors to identify normative frameworks for AI to allow societies, states, and the international community to unlock the potential for responsible innovation in this critical field. This book is also available as Open Access on Cambridge Core.
Call Number: ebookISBN: 1009207865Publication Date: 2022
The International Film Business by
The International Film Business examines the independent film sector as a business, and addresses the specific skills and knowledge it demands. It describes both the present state of the industry, the significant digital and social media developments that are continuing to take place, and what changes these might effect. The International Film Business: describes and analyses the present structure of the film industry as a business, with a specific focus on the film value chain discusses and analyses current digital technology and how it potentially may change the structure and opportunities offered by the industry in the future provides information and advice on the different business and management skills and strategies includes case studies on a variety of films including The Guard (2011), The King's Speech (2010), The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel (2012), Cloverfield (2008), Pobby & Dingan (aka Opal Dream, 2005), Confessions of a Dangerous Mind (2002), The Reckoning (2002)and The Mother (2003), and company case studies on Pixar, Renaissance, Redbus and Zentropa. Further case studies on films that failed to go into production include Neil LaBute's Vapor and Terry Gilliam's Good Omens. Taking an entrepreneurial perspective on what future opportunities will be available to prepared and informed students and emerging practitioners, this text includes case studies that take students through the successes and failures of a variety of real film companies and projects and features exclusive interviews with leading practitioners in all sectors of the industry, from production to exhibition.
Call Number: ebookISBN: 9780415531535Publication Date: 2014
Schirmer Encyclopedia of Film by Call Number: Available onlineISBN: 9780028657912Publication Date: 2007This reference provides a comprehensive and accessible introduction to film and film studies, covering such aspects as production, national traditions, studios, genres, critical theory and film history. Approximately 200 entries cover specific topics, including acting, censorship, editing, lighting and others. Also included are more than 230 career profiles, placing individual achievements in the context of specific topics (for example, Robert Altman is featured in the article on "Sound"). Additional features include a comprehensive index; a list of further reading sources; 350 black-and-white and 150 full color photographs; and more.
- Freedom HouseOrganization that monitors freedom, democracy and human rights worldwide. They publish the following reports: Freedom in the World, Freedom on the Net, Freedom of the Press, Nations in Transit, Countries at the Crossroads, and Women's Rights in the Middle East and North Africa.
Encyclopedia of Sports Management and Marketing by Call Number: onlineISBN: 9781412994156Publication Date: 2011
Photography: a cultural history by
A richer, more kaleidoscopic account of the history of photography Incorporating the latest research and international uses of photography, Photography: A Cultural History surveys the history of photography in such a way that students can gauge the medium's multifold developments and see the historical and cultural contexts in which photographers lived and worked. Mary Marien's comprehensive survey shows how photography has sharpened, if not altered forever, our perception of the world. It provides a unique focus on contemporary photo-based work and electronic media. The book was written to introduce students to photography, requiring no previous technical knowledge of photography. The 4th edition has been revised to include new material and to expand topics that have received recent scholarly and public attention. Material on the history of photography in China, ranging from the nineteenth century to the present, has been added throughout the new edition.
Call Number: General Stacks ; TR15 .M273 2015ISBN: 9780205988945Publication Date: 2013
Religion and Mass Media by
This research on the uses of mass media across diverse Christian traditions is both original and provocative. By focusing on what audiences perceive and how they respond, Religion and Mass Media is able to illuminate the experience of faith at a time when devotion is seen as a dimension of individuality best suited to the privacy of one′s home. Professors Daniel A. Stout and Judith M. Buddenbaum should be commended for helping advance the study of religion and mass communication in the United States. --John P. Ferrè, Associate Professor of Communication, University of Louisville How do religious audiences react to and use the mass media? Religion and Mass Media is an audience-centered examination that reveals how a variety of Christian traditions experience media news and entertainment--in the context of institutional religious influences and expectations. Drawing on social science theories and empirical research methodologies, the contributors explore responses from Roman Catholics, Fundamentalists, Evangelicals, mainline Protestants, and Mormons and a variety of other traditions. In the first section, contributors set the framework by describing recent theoretical developments in the sociology of religion and communication theory. Section two provides an overview of the particulars of certain religious beliefs, section three looks at audience behavior, section four describes specific case studies (including one on rap music), and section five looks at the changing information environment and the future. Students and professionals in communication, sociology, sociology of religion, and anthropology will find this volume to be both informative and insightful--an excellent supplement.
Call Number: General Stacks ; BV652.95 .R43 1996ISBN: 0803971737Publication Date: 1996
The Routledge Companion to Media and Race by
The Routledge Companion to Media and Race serves as a comprehensive guide for scholars, students, and media professionals who seek to understand the key debates about the impact of media messages on racial attitudes and understanding. Broad in scope and richly presented from a diversity of perspectives, the book is divided into three sections: first, it summarizes the theoretical approaches that scholars have adopted to analyze the complexities of media messages about race and ethnicity, from the notion of "representation" to more recent concepts like Critical Race Theory. Second, the book reviews studies related to a variety of media, including film, television, print media, social media, music, and video games. Finally, contributors present a broad summary of media issues related to specific races and ethnicities and describe the relationship of the study of race to the study of gender and sexuality. Chapters 1, 3, and 11 of this book re freely available as downloadable Open Access PDF at http://www.taylorfrancis.com under a Creative Commons Attribution-Non Commercial-No Derivatives (CC-BY-NC-ND) 4.0 license.
Call Number: ebookISBN: 9781317695837Publication Date: 2016
