Media Literacy & Critical Thinking
Search the Catalog
Click on the subject to find more books:
Or, use the Library catalog to search for related topics:
- Advanced Library SearchSearches across many of our databases. Use the filters on the right after searching to narrow your results.
Reference
The International Encyclopedia of Media Literacy by
The definitive international reference on a topic of major and enduring importance Dynamic, multidisciplinary, and global in scope, media literacy is one of today's fastest growing fields of applied communications. Media literacy encompasses a truly vast range of issues, including participatory culture, digital learning, civic engagement, the impact of media on children, the sociocultural and political dimensions of literacy education, the role of media in shaping social identity, activism, digital teaching and learning, the role of media in shaping health behavior, the impact of news on society, and adolescent development, to name just a few. The first of its kind in ambition and scope, The International Encyclopedia of Media Literacy provides global coverage of this dynamic and swiftly moving topic. As wide ranging and inclusive as the subject it treats, this two-volume encyclopedia offers a perspective on the past, present and future of media literacy around the world. Defines the vocabulary and key concepts that engendered the field and have shaped its trajectory over the past half-century Co-edited by the foremost names in Media Literacy and features contributions from leading international scholars and practitioners in the field Organized around the major subject areas of media literacy history and theoretical foundations; community, democracy, and policy; identity and health; the news; media effects, children, family, and youth; literacy, technology, and education; digital media and learning Part of The Wiley Blackwell-ICA International Encyclopedias of Communication series, published in conjunction with the International Communication Association. Online version available at www.wileyicaencyclopedia.com The International Encyclopedia of Media Literacy is an indispensable reference for students, teachers, scholars and practitioners of media literacy from a wide range of backgrounds and life experiences. It will also be of value to people in a wide array of professions and academic disciplines, including sociology, media studies, cultural studies, journalism, social media, educational and developmental psychology, and more.
Call Number: Reference Stacks P96.M4 I58 2019ISBN: 9781118978245Publication Date: 2019
Media Literacy from: Encyclopedia of Educational Psychology by
The field of educational psychology draws from a variety of diverse disciplines including: human development across the life span, measurement and statistics, learning and motivation and teaching. Within these different disciplines, many other fields are featured including psychology, anthropology, education, sociology, public health, school psychology, counselling, history and philosophy. When taught at the college or university level, educational psychology is an ambitious course that undertakes the presentation of many different topics all tied together by the theme of how the individual can best function in an "educational" setting, loosely defined as anything from pre-school through to adult education. There are few comprehensive overviews of the field of educational psychology and the purpose of this two volume Encyclopedia is to share this information in a way that is informative without being overly technical or intimidating. With more than 275 contributions, the Encyclopedia of Educational Psychology opens up the broad discipline of educational psychology to a wide and general audience. Written by experts in each area, the entries in this far-reaching resource provide an overview and an explanation of the major topics in the field of human development. The Encyclopedia includes technical topics related to educational psychology, but also focuses on those topics that evoke the interest of the everyday reader. Key Features " Addresses topics that are of particular interest to the general public such as vouchers, Head Start, divorce, elarning communities and charter schools " Covers subjects that are rich, diverse and deserving of closer inspection by an educated reader who may be uninformed about educational psychology " Draws from a variety of disciplines including psychology, anthropology, education, sociology, public health, school psychology, counselling, history and philosophy " Presents many different topics all tied together by the theme of how the individual can best function in an educational setting, from pre-school through to adult education. Key Themes " Classroom Achievement " Classroom Management " Cognitive Development " Ethnicity, Race and Culture " Families " Gender and Gender Development " Health and Well-Being " Human Development " Intelligence and Intellectual Development " Language Development " Learning and Memory " Organizations " Peers and Peer Influences " Public Policy " Research Methods and Statistics " Social Development " Teaching " Testing, Measurement and Evaluation " Theory
Call Number: onlineISBN: 9781412916882Publication Date: 2008
Selected titles
The Teacher's Guide to Media Literacy by Call Number: General Stacks P96.M4 S34 2012ISBN: 9781412997584Publication Date: 2011What do we mean by media? -- What is media literacy? -- What is media literacy education? -- When are questions the answer?: teaching students how to analyze media -- General approaches to teaching media literacy across the whole curriculum -- Integrating media literacy into specific content areas -- Media literacy lesson plans -- Does it work? -- "Sounds great, but I don't have time!": getting past the barriers and why it's worth it.
Media Literacy for Young Children by Call Number: ebookISBN: 1938113985Publication Date: 2022Media Literacy in Early Childhood Education will be a first-of-its-kind guide for pre-service and currently practicing teachers and child care professionals looking for pedagogically sound and developmentally appropriate ways to help today's children navigate the world of media.
Exploring Media Literacy Education As a Tool for Mitigating Truth Decay by Call Number: P96.M42 U648 2019ISBN: 9781977402578Publication Date: 2019Truth Decay--the diminishing role that facts, data, and analysis play in political and civil discourse--appears to result, in part, from an increasingly complex information ecosystem. This report's authors explore the ways in which media literacy education may be used to counter Truth Decay by changing how participants consume, create, and share information.
Civic Media Literacies by Call Number: P95.8 .M54 2019ISBN: 9781138695818Publication Date: 2018Civic life today is mediated. Communities small and large are now using connective platforms to share information, engage in local issues, facilitate vibrant debate, and advocate for social causes. In this timely book, Paul Mihailidis explores the texture of daily engagement in civic life, and the resources human, technological, and practical that citizens employ when engaging in civic actions for positive social impact. In addition to examining the daily civic actions that are embedded in media and digital literacies and human connectedness, Mihailidis outlines a model for empowering young citizens to use media to meaningfully engage in daily life.
The Routledge Companion to Media Education, Copyright, and Fair Use by Call Number: ebookISBN: 9781315637549Publication Date: 2018Media literacy educators rely on the ability to make use of copyrighted materials from mass media, digital media and popular culture for both analysis and production activities. Whether they work in higher education, elementary and secondary schools, or in informal learning settings in libraries, community and non-profit organizations, educators know that the practice of media literacy depends on a robust interpretation of copyright and fair use. With chapters written by leading scholars and practitioners from the fields of media studies, education, writing and rhetoric, law and society, library and information studies, and the digital humanities, this companion provides a scholarly and professional context for understanding the ways in which new conceptualizations of copyright and fair use are shaping the pedagogical practices of media literacy.
- Media Manipulation CasebookThe Media Manipulation Casebook is a digital research platform linking together theory, methods, and practice for mapping media manipulation and disinformation campaigns. This resource is intended for researchers, journalists, technologists, policymakers, educators, and civil society organizers who want to learn about detecting, documenting, describing, and debunking misinformation.
