TVDM 32000: Streaming Media & Digital Platforms
Search Tips
USE THE THESAURUS IN DATABASES
If you search the subject GLOBALIZATION in the Thesaurus tab, you will find all spellings of the word (globalization or globalisation).
WILDCARDS AND TRUNCATORS
- globali?ation -- the ? is a wildcard and will give you globalization or globalisation in your search
- Disney* -- the * is a truncator and will give you Disney, Disneyfication or Disneyization
Truncators and wildcards differ from database to database. Click on the "Help" tab (usually in the upper right) and look for wildcards and trucators.
BROADEN YOUR SEARCH
If you are searching for articles on a station such as PBS, or a program, such as Spongebob, use the "all text" search feature.
Select Journals
- Global media and communicationGlobal Media and Communication is an international, peer-reviewed journal that provides a platform for research and debate on the continuously changing global media and communication environment.
- International communication gazetteInternational Communication Gazette is one of the world's leading communication journals publishing scholarly articles from the international community of communication scholars.
Social & Cultural Perspectives
- EBSCO Research LibraryThis platform searches across all subject indexes we subscribe to via EBSCO including Communication Source, Academic Search Premier and Business Source. Use this to broaden your search.
- Communication Source (EBSCO)
Contains content from communications journals, magazines and other publications, covering related disciplines including linguistics, rhetoric and discourse, speech-language pathology, and media studies.
Contents: Indexing, abstracts, and full-text articles. 1900-present.
- Communication Studies: a SAGE Full-Text Collection
Contains articles from communications journals covering related disciplines including journalism, public opinion, political communication, mass communication, television and media, and management.
Contents: Full-text articles from Sage journals.
- SocINDEX with Full Text (EBSCO)
Covers a broad range of studies, including gender studies, criminal justice, social psychology, religion, racial studies, and social work.
Contents: Abstracts and full-text of scholarly journals, books, and conference papers.
- GenderWatch (ProQuest)
Supports gender and women's studies, and gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender research.
Contents: Citations and full-text articles from academic, radical, community, and independent presses. 1970-present.
- Ethnic NewsWatch (ProQuest)
Collects full-text articles from the ethnic, minority, and native press, including top scholarly journals on ethnicities and ethnic studies. Contents include African American, Arab, Middle Eastern, Asian American, European, Jewish, and Native American publications.
Contents: Full-text articles from newspapers, magazines, and scholarly journal. 1990-present; plus historical coverage of Native American, African American, and Hispanic American periodicals from 1959-1989.
Country Guides
- Country Reports (Statista)Report on countries via Statista.
- Central Intelligence Agency (CIA): The World FactbookProvides basic history of all countries - includes maps, population, history, politics, economics, education, communications, transportation and military data.
- BBC News: Country ProfilesClick on a region to find country profiles. The Media page will list press, television and radio and who owns them (private, public) as well as the language it is in.
- The Compendium of Cultural Policies and TrendsThe Compendium of Cultural Policies & Trends seeks to generate and review policy standards in areas of concern to governments and society, by providing knowledge, statistics, comparisons, resources, thematic sections and more.
