Religion
Online Encyclopedias
Britannica Encyclopedia of World Religions by
A guide to the religions of the world and to the concepts, movements, people, and events that have shaped them. It includes features such as: entries on religious movements and concepts, historical and legendary figures, divinities, religious sites and ceremonies; images that show sacred places, vestments, rituals, objects, and texts; and more.
Call Number: EbookISBN: 9781593394912Publication Date: 2008
Religion and the Law in America by
This work is a comprehensive survey of one of the oldest--and hottest--debates in American history: the role of religion in the public discourse. * 250 A-Z entries analyze specific court cases or offer short, topical surveys of specific areas * Bibliographies follow each entry, indicating direction for further investigation * Thematic essays analyze such controversial topics as the establishment clause, the teaching of creationism and evolution, and the refusal of medical care
ISBN: 9781851098637Publication Date: 2007
Indigenous Religions: A Companion by
Indigenous religions are the majority of the world's religions. This Companion shows how much they can contribute to a richer understanding of human identity, action, and relationships.An international team of contributors discuss representative indigenous religions from all continents.
ISBN: 9780304704484Publication Date: 2000
Books in the Ithaca College Library
Religion in America by
Provides a comprehensive yet concise introduction to the changing religious landscape of the United States. Extensively revised and updated to reflect current events and trends, this new edition continues to engage students in reflection about religious diversity. Julia Corbett-Hemeyer presents the study of religion as a tool for developing appreciation of communities of faith other than one's own and for understanding the dynamics at work in religion in the United States today.
Call Number: BL2525 .C67 2016ISBN: 1138188077Publication Date: 2016
How Religion Evolved by
Why did many religious leaders--Moses, Old Testament prophets, Zoroaster--claim they heard divine voices? Why do ancient civilizations exhibit key similarities, e.g., the "living dead" (treating the dead as if they were still alive); "speaking idols" (care and feeding of effigies); monumental mortuary architecture and "houses of gods" (pyramids, ziggurats, temples)? How do we explain strange behaviour such as spirit possession, speaking in tongues, channelling, hypnosis, and schizophrenic hallucinations? Are these lingering vestiges of an older mentality? Brian J. McVeigh answers these riddles by updating "bicameralism."
Call Number: BL430 .M38 2016ISBN: 9781412862868Publication Date: 2016
Being Godless: ethnographies of atheism and non-religion by
Drawing on ethnographic inquiry and the anthropological literature on doubt and atheism, this volume explores people's reluctance to pursue religion. The contributors capture the experiences of godless people and examine their perspectives on the role of religion in their personal and public lives. In doing so, the volume contributes to a critical understanding of the processes of disengagement from religion and reveals the challenges and paradoxes that godless people face.
Call Number: BL2747 .B45 2017ISBN: 9781785335730Publication Date: 2017
Religion vs. Science: what religious people really think by
Based on a five year journey to find out what religious Americans think about science, Ecklund and Scheitle tell the real story of the relationship between science and religion in the lives of ordinary citizens. It is a story that is more nuanced and complex than the media and pundits would lead us to believe. As the title of the book suggests, the way religious Americans approach science is shaped by two fundamental questions: What does science mean for the existence and activity of God? and what does science mean for the sacredness of humanity?
Call Number: BL240.3 .E249 2018ISBN: 9780190650629Publication Date: 2017
Sacred Fury: Understanding Religious Violence by
From ISIS attacks to the conflict between Israel and Palestine, Sacred Fury explores the connections between faith and violence in world religions. Author Charles Selengut looks at religion as both a force for peace and for violence, and he asks key questions such as how "religious" is this violence and what drives the faithful to attack in the names of their beliefs? Revised throughout, the third edition features new material on violence in Buddhism and Hinduism, the rise of ISIS, "lone wolf terrorists," and more. This up-to-date edition draws on a variety of disciplines to comprehend forms of religious violence both historically and in the present day. The third edition of Sacred Fury is an essential resource for understanding the connections between faith and violence.
Call Number: BL65.V55 S33 2017ISBN: 9781442276840Publication Date: 2017
Dictionaries
- Oxford English Dictionary (OED Online)
Contents: Dictionary definitions, a historical thesaurus, and timelines.
- The Analytical Greek lexiconCall Number: General Stacks ; PA881 .A5Consisting of an alphabetical arrangement of every occurring inflexion of every word contained in the Greek New Testament scriptures, with a grammatical analysis of each word, and lexicographical illustration of the meanings : a complete series of paradigms with grammatical remarks and explanations.
- A Greek-English lexicon of the New Testament, being Grimm's Wilke's Clavis Novi Testament byCall Number: General Stacks ; PA881 .G7 1889Publication Date: 1889"List of ancient authors quoted": p. [xi]-xiv; "List of books referred to": p. [xv]-xvii.
NTC's New College Greek and English Dictionary by
Provides English and Greek equivalents for more than fifty thousand words and phrases plus a detailed chart of irregular verbs.
Call Number: General Stacks ; PA1139.E5 N37 1990ISBN: 0844284734Publication Date: 1990
