DOC 40100: Documentary Industries
Books
- Documentary Films
- Documentary films Authorship
- Documentary films--History and criticism
- Documentary films--Production and direction
- Documentary television programs
- Emmy Awards
- Instructional films
- Motion Picture Industry
- Motion Pictures -- Distribution
- Motion Pictures -- Marketing
- Nonfiction films
- Piracy (Copyright)
- Special Event -- Planning
- Special Event -- Management
Selected Titles
Business for Filmmakers by
This practical guide teaches readers the skills and business acumen required to build a career in the film industry from the ground up. While countless books and classes teach newcomers the creative aspects of the film industry, many fail to properly prepare readers for the reality of how to navigate a freelance film career today. From creating a business model, dealing with taxes and funding, finding and managing clients, networking, investing, cashflow, and planning for the long-term, Business and Entrepreneurship for Filmmakers provides real-world, pragmatic advice on navigating a freelance film career, whether you're a recent film school graduate looking to take the next step or a seasoned professional hoping to start a production company. Moreover, the skills taught here apply across the industry, from corporate media and commercials to music videos and feature films. Interviews with filmmakers, innovators, and business experts are included throughout the book to offer further expertise and examples.
Call Number: PN1995.9.P7 H345 2020ISBN: 9780367140069Publication Date: 2019
The Art of Nonfiction Movie Making by
The past few years have featured such blockbusters as Super-Size Me, Fahrenheit 9/11, Sicko, March of the Penguins, and An Inconvenient Truth. And as news articles proclaim a new era in the history of documentary films, more and more new directors are making their first film a nonfiction one. But in addition to posing all of the usual challenges inherent to more standard filmmaking, documentaries also present unique problems that need to be understood from the outset. Where does the idea come from? How do you raise the money? How much money do you need? What visual style is best suited to the story? What are the legal issues involved? And how can a film reach that all-important milestone and find a willing distributor? Epstein, Friedman, and Wood tackle all of these important questions with examples and anecdotes from their own careers. The result is an informative and entertaining guide for those just starting out, and an enlightening read for anyone interested in a behind-the-scenes look at this newly reinvigorated field of film.
Call Number: ebookISBN: 9780313084539Publication Date: 2012
The Insider's Guide to Independent Film Distribution by
Innovation in technology means that almost anyone can make an independent film these days. Although this may be good news for aspiring filmmakers, it also means that the oversupply of independent films on the market has caused acquisition prices to dramatically decrease. As a result, producers and investors rarely recover their initial investment in the films they make. But don't be discouraged! Use this book to learn the realities of the market in advance and map out a winning distribution plan. This comprehensive manual for filmmakers and producers dedicated to film distribution and the marketplace could mean the difference between getting your film out to the public and keeping it "in the can." Learn how to sell your movie to a studio, a cable network, a video distributor, or international buyers. Self-distribution and other alternatives to traditional distribution are also considered. As well, you'll hear some success stories from producers and hear directly from buyers what they are seeking. Stacey Parks has worked with dozens of hungry filmmakers to get their films a distribution deal and knows how frustrating the whole process can be. Let her tell you how you can take control of your filmmaking career and start getting your work seen by audiences with a few little-known distribution secrets. Features include: * Interviews and case studies with producers and distributors * Ten Ways to Market Your Film for Self-Distribution * Sales Projections per Territory * Distribution Resource Listings * Negotiation tips for distribution agreements * Sample distribution agreements
Call Number: ebookISBN: 9780080478517Publication Date: 2009-
The Documentary Filmmaker's Roadmap by
The Documentary Filmmaker's Roadmap is a concise and practical guide to making a feature-length documentary film--from funding to production to distribution, exhibition and marketing. Using her award-winning film Musicwood--a New York Times Critics' Pick--as a case study, director Maxine Trump guides the reader through the complex lifecycle of the documentary Film. Her interviews with lawyers, funders, distributors, TV executives and festival programmers provide a behind-the-scenes look that will assist readers on their own filmmaking journey. Written from the perspective of a successful documentary filmmaker, the book covers mistakes made and lessons learned, a discussion on the documentary genre, crowdfunding, pre-production through post, test screenings, the festival circuit distribution, legal pitfalls, fair use and more. Perfect for documentary filmmaking students and aspiring filmmakers alike, this book emphasizes the skills needed to succeed in a competitive production market. An appendix includes useful web links for further study, a list of films for recommended viewing and sample release forms. This concise guide is ideal for the classroom or as a quick reference out in the field, at a budget meeting or in the editing room.
Call Number: ebookISBN: 9781351628990Publication Date: 2018
Think Outside the Box Office by
As the digital revolution has democratised film production, a new hybrid model of distribution is the way independent filmmakers can take control of their own distribution. This approach is not just DIY or Web-based - it combines the best techniques from each distribution arena, old and new. In Think Outside the Box Office, Reiss explains audience identification and targeting, negotiating split-rights agreements, the new role of film festivals and more.
Call Number: General Stacks PN1993.5.U6 R447 2010ISBN: 098257620XPublication Date: 2009
Documentary Storytelling Creative Nonfiction on Screen by
Cover; Title; Copyright; Dedication; Contents; Preface to the Fourth Edition; Acknowledgments; Sources and Notes; About the Author; CHAPTER 1 Introduction; PART I Understanding Story; CHAPTER 2 Story Basics; CHAPTER 3 Finding the Story; CHAPTER 4 Story Structure; CHAPTER 5 Time on Screen; CHAPTER 6 Creative Approach; CHAPTER 7 Close Viewing; PART II Working with Story; CHAPTER 8 Research; CHAPTER 9 Planning and Pitching; CHAPTER 10 Treatments and Proposals; CHAPTER 11 Shooting; CHAPTER 12 Editing; CHAPTER 13 Narration and Voice-Over; CHAPTER 14 Storytelling: A Checklist
PART III Talking about StoryCHAPTER 15 Alex Gibney; CHAPTER 16 Susan Kim; CHAPTER 17 James Marsh; CHAPTER 18 Cara Mertes; CHAPTER 19 Stanley Nelson; CHAPTER 20 Deborah Scranton; CHAPTER 21 Kazuhiro Soda; CHAPTER 22 Orlando von Einsiedel; PART IV Additional Material; Films; Index
Call Number: ebookISBN: 1135015821Publication Date: 2015
Documentary Filmmakers Handbook by
A complete guide to all phases of documentary production, this is an essential handbook for student filmmakers and professional documentarians alike. Written in clear, concise language and geared for easy reference, the text provides a progression of real-world learning skills, including project organization and production design. Also itemized is the necessary production equipment, with technical information refined for universal comprehension of the equipment and its application. Featured are exclusive interviews with several award-winning film and television documentarians, who explain in detail how they have conceived, planned, produced and directed their documentaries. Among the interviewees are Deborah Oppenheimer (Into the Arms of Strangers), Arnold Shapiro (Scared Straight!), Connie Bottinelli (Forensic Files) and Paul Gallagher (Behind the Music). The filmography lists every documentary cited in the handbook, with relevant and related websites.
Call Number: General Stacks PN1995.9.D6 E24 2012ISBN: 9780786460434Publication Date: 2011
The Shut up and Shoot Documentary Guide by
To anyone who wants to make a doc but doesn't have a lot of time, money, or experience, Anthony Artis says: "It's time to get down and dirty!"--a filmmaking mentality that teaches you how to be creative with your resources and do more with less. Written by a guerrilla filmmaker for guerrilla filmmakers, this all new edition of a bestselling classic doesn't just tell you, it showsyou how to make your projects better, faster, and cheaper and has been updated to include: Fresh coverage of DSLR cameras, new lighting gear, visual storytelling, postproduction techniques, and distribution in an online era. 500+ full color illustration, timesaving tips, and practical input from filmmakers that you can immediately apply to your own projects New sections on fundraising, choosing lenses, shooting internationally, the 4K format, shooting on iPhones, previsualization, wireless microphones, dolly and slider shots, staging remote interviews, transcripts, and more This bonus website (www.focalpress.com/cw/artis) features video and audio tutorials, storyboards, releases, equipment guides, and checklists. Hustle up a winning documentary crew and choose the right equipment for the job. Learn to shoot more polished, professional-looking footage and interviews on any budget, any camera, any time. Plan through all the obstacles, avoid common filmmaking pitfalls and tighten your lighting, audio, and visual storytelling skills beforeyou hit the streets. The hotly anticipated second edition of The Shut Up and Shoot Documentary Guide will help you do all this and more!
Call Number: General Stacks PN1992.94 .A77 2014ISBN: 9780240824154Publication Date: 2014
Distribution Revolution by
Distribution Revolution is a collection of interviews with leading film and TV professionals concerning the many ways that digital delivery systems are transforming the entertainment business. These interviews provide lively insider accounts from studio executives, distribution professionals, and creative talent of the tumultuous transformation of film and TV in the digital era. The first section features interviews with top executives at major Hollywood studios, providing a window into the big-picture concerns of media conglomerates with respect to changing business models, revenue streams, and audience behaviors. The second focuses on innovative enterprises that are providing path-breaking models for new modes of content creation, curation, and distribution--creatively meshing the strategies and practices of Hollywood and Silicon Valley. And the final section offers insights from creative talent whose professional practices, compensation, and everyday working conditions have been transformed over the past ten years. Taken together, these interviews demonstrate that virtually every aspect of the film and television businesses is being affected by the digital distribution revolution, a revolution that has likely just begun. Interviewees include: * Gary Newman, Chairman, 20th Century Fox Television * Kelly Summers, Former Vice President, Global Business Development and New Media Strategy, Walt Disney Studios * Thomas Gewecke, Chief Digital Officer and Executive Vice President, Strategy and Business Development, Warner Bros. Entertainment * Ted Sarandos, Chief Content Officer, Netflix * Felicia D. Henderson, Writer-Producer, Soul Food, Gossip Girl * Dick Wolf, Executive Producer and Creator, Law & Order
Call Number: ebookISBN: 0520959086Publication Date: 2014
Succeeding As a Documentary Filmmaker: a Guide to the Professional World by
While many film programs prepare students for the realities of Hollywood, comparatively little guidance is provided for the aspiring documentary filmmaker. Alan Rosenthal fills this void with Succeeding as a Documentary Filmmaker: A Guide to the Professional World. Unlike traditional manuals on documentary filmmaking, which focus primarily on the creation of films, this user-friendly volume draws upon real-world examples and the advice of experienced filmmakers to provide essential information about the nonfiction movie business. From the basics of the current film business environment and how to navigate it, to tips on how to maximize distribution and sales for a finished film, Rosenthal leads novice filmmakers step-by-step through the professional arena of documentary moviemaking. Included here are recommendations for how to make the most of a film school education; the best ways to find financing for a film and the realities of working with a budget; how to develop a successful proposal for a project; the intricacies of working both as an independent filmmaker and for others; and insight into the often complicated arenas of contracts and markets. Throughout the volume, Rosenthal shares the expertise of actual filmmakers on such subjects as film school and starting a career; pitching and funding projects; contract negotiation; effective marketing; and commissioning editors and legal help. Not limiting himself to merely the documentary world, the author also offers valuable information and advice for filmmakers interested in other genres of nonfiction movies - such as industrial, public relations, travel, and educational films - to provide a truly comprehensive and one-of-a-kind guide for readers. Packed with useful tips for novices, film students, and practitioners alike, Succeeding as a Documentary Filmmaker is an indispensable addition to the library of anyone involved in the world of nonfiction filmmaking."
Call Number: ebookISBN: 1280697520Publication Date: 2012
Encyclopedia of the Documentary Film by
The Encyclopedia of the Documentary Filmis a fully international reference work on the history of the documentary film from the Lumière brothers' WorkersLeaving the Lumière Factory(1885) to Michael Moore's Fahrenheit 911(2004). This Encyclopediaprovides a resource that critically analyzes that history in all its aspects. Not only does this Encyclopediaexamine individual films and the careers of individual film makers, it also provides overview articles of national and regional documentary film history. It explains concepts and themes in the study of documentary film, the techniques used in making films, and the institutions that support their production, appreciation, and preservation.
Call Number: Reference Stacks PN1995.9.D6 E53 2006ISBN: 1579584454Publication Date: 2005
