DOC 40100: Documentary Industries
Funding
- Documentary Core ApplicationIDA - Sundance. Common funding application.
- Gucci Tribeca Documentary FundThe Gucci Tribeca Documentary Fund provides finishing funds to feature-length documentaries which highlight and humanize issues of social importance from around the world
- Seed & Spark: FundingIndependent film website with fundraising.
- Chicken & Egg PicturesChicken & Egg Pictures supports women nonfiction filmmakers whose artful and innovative storytelling catalyzes social change.
- Slated"Where great movies get made"
- TFI DocumentaryGrants and guidance to support exceptional character-driven, nonfiction works that spotlight contemporary themes with an original focus and bold, creative filmmaking.
- Tribeca All AccessTribeca All Access® is TFI’s flagship program for scripted and documentary storytellers from systematically excluded communities.
- Fledgling FundOur goal is to explore, support, and deepen the role of documentary film and other forms of visual storytelling in larger social change efforts.
- CinereachFounded in 2006 as a film foundation, Cinereach began supporting independent filmmakers through grants.
- Patagonia: Media FundingFor environmental non-profits that use media.
- Creative CapitalCreative Capital supports innovative and adventurous artists across the country through funding, counsel, gatherings, and career development services.
- Go Fund MeCrowdfunding site
- IndieGoGo: FilmCrowdfunding site.
- KickstarterCrowdfunding site
- Foundation Directory OnlineIthaca College Library does not subscribe to this database.
Marketing
- Advertising AgenciesA-Z Listing from ProductionHUB
- Nexis Uni (LexisNexis)Use Nexis Uni to research advertising agencies.
Business Guides
These are guides on conducting internal and external audits by the Business Librarian, Jim Bondra.
- P.E.S.T.E.L. Political, Economic, Social, Technical, Environmental, Legal
- Porter's Five Forces (Rivalry Among Existing Competitors, Threat of New Entrants, Bargaining Power of Suppliers, Threat of Substitute Products or Services; Bargaining Power of Buyers)
- S.W.O.T. Strengths, Weaknesses, Opportunities, Threats
- Business Plans
See also: Jim's guides on Company and Industry research:
Company, Industry, & Brand Analysis information
Film Production Companies
- Film Production CompaniesA-Z listing from ProductionHUB
- Companies House (Gov.UK)Company information from the UK.
Trade and industry news, competitors, some industry reports such SWOT
- Business Insights (Gale) (Formerly known as Business Insights: Essentials)
Contains detailed company and industry news and information including company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, market research reports, SWOT reports, company histories, and more.
Contents: Company and industry information, articles, and statistical data.
- Nexis Uni (LexisNexis)
Contents: Full-text local, national, and international newspaper articles and legal resources.
Need search tips? See our guides for tips on Legal Searching and News Searching.
- Business Source Premier (EBSCO)
Covers all areas of business.
Contents: Full-text articles, books, news industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses, working papers, and more.
- ABI/INFORM Collection (ProQuest)
This collection, comprised of ABI/INFORM Global, Trade & Industry, and Dateline, contains resources covering accounting, marketing, sports and business, and economics.
Contents: Full-text articles, dissertations, working papers, periodicals, country- and industry-focused reports, case studies, and market information.
- Yahoo FinanceSearch for news, symbols or companies.
- Seeking Alpha Analysis, news, earnings call transcripts, investment ideas.
Statistics
- Statista
Subjects are geared towards business and marketing statistical needs, and include consumer goods, media, politics, sports, travel, and technology.
Contents: Statistical information, data, infographics, and tables.
- data.census.gov
The data.census.gov platform provides access to data and digital content from the US Census Bureau including some data previously available through American FactFinder.
Contents: Census data.
- SRDS Media Solutions
Includes access to the following databases: Consumer magazines, Claritas 360, Digital websites, Newspapers, Out of Home, Radio, TV & Cable.
Contents: Advertising rates and deadlines, editorial or programming content, circulation, links to online media kits, web sites, and audit statements.
- Data.govThe purpose of Data.gov is "to increase public access to high value, machine readable datasets generated by the Executive Branch of the Federal Government." The site includes searchable data catalogs providing access to data in three ways: through the "raw" data catalog, the tool catalog, and the geodata catalog.
- Data USAThe most comprehensive visualization of U.S. public data. Data USA provides an open, easy-to-use platform that turns data into knowledge. The software code is open source - users can build custom applications by adding other data.
- Statistical Abstract of the United States
Summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States.
Contents: Statistical tables.
Industry Print Reference
Print volumes accessible behind the Research Help Desk (to the right as you enter the library)
- Plunkett's entertainment & media industry almanac.Complete A-Z profiles on top companies with the latest statistics and trends in: Film & Video, Radio & Television, Cable & Satellite, Magazines & Books, Gaming, Newspapers, & New Media. Some Plunkett industry reports can be found online in the database Business Insights under the Industries tab.
- Standard & Poor's (S&P) Industry Surveys Published quarterly. Covers the 30 major industries which make up the S&P 500 . Gives a good overview of the industry, major news, trends, legislative/regulatory issues, statistics. Useful sections on specific sources to consult and how to analyze that particular industry.
- Encyclopedia of Business Information Sources Great starting point for what sources to consult when researching various business topics and industries. Lists such resources such as organizations, statistical sources, industry publications.
