Abby Juda
Best Bets for Databases
-
America: History and Life (EBSCO)
Contains citations and abstracts covering US and Canadian history, popular culture, gender studies, anthropology, literature, and folklore.
Contents: Indexing for journals, citations and links to books and media reviews. 1895-present.
-
Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)
This multidisciplinary database contains articles from magazines and peer-reviewed journals, as well as Associated Press (AP) video content (1930s-present).
Contents: Full-text articles and video.
-
ProQuest Research Library (ProQuest)
This custom link allows patrons to search across several ProQuest databases including APA PsycInfo, Healthcare Administration Database, Education database, Psychology Database, Research Library, and Social Science Database.
Contents: Full-text articles, abstracts, and ebooks.
-
JSTOR
Includes archival journal collections in the Arts & Sciences and Life Sciences covering language and literature, history, economics, political science, and health sciences.
Contents: Full-text articles and books.
Encyclopedias and Dictionaries
-
The Oxford companion to United States history
Publication Date: 2001Brief entries on a variety of topics in U.S. history. -
The Oxford Encyclopedia of American Social History
Publication Date: 2012
-
The Oxford encyclopedia of American cultural and intellectual history
Publication Date: 2013
-
The Oxford Encyclopedia of American Business, Labor, and Economic HistoryPublication Date: 2013
-
The Princeton Encyclopedia of American Political History
by
ISBN: 9781400833566Publication Date: 2009-11-09Describes key political periods and eras, from the founding to the present day Traces the history of political institutions, parties, and founding documents Explains ideas, philosophies, and movements that shaped American politics Presents the political history and influence of geographic regions Describes the roles of ethnic, racial, and religious groups in the political process Explores the influence of mass culture, from political cartoons to the Internet Examines recurring issues that shape political campaigns and policy, from class, gender, and race to crime, education, taxation, voting, welfare, and much more -
Hutchinson Dictionary of American History
ISBN: 9781859865330Publication Date: 2006-01-01Peoples, places, events, movements, terms, and battles.
-
The A to Z of the Early American Republic
by
ISBN: 1299356354Publication Date: 2009-01-01The A to Z of the Early American Republic recounts the achievements and the failures, the progress and the backsliding, and the high and low points of our forefathers. First traced in the chronology and then explained in the introduction, the history of our nation's formative years is laid out in great detail. The several hundred dictionary entries describe the more eminent persons, the evolving institutions, and the crucial events that our young country faced. An extensive bibliography is included to provide easy access for further studies. -
Encyclopedia of the Sixties: a decade of culture and counterculture
by
Call Number: Reference Stacks E169.12 .E515 2012ISBN: 9780313329449Publication Date: 2011This encyclopedia documents the people, places, movements, and culture of that memorable decade for those who lived it and those who came after. -
The Sixties in America
by
ISBN: 0893569836Publication Date: 1999The Sixties in America, surveys the events and people of the 1960's, a turbulent decade that had a profound and lasting effect on the life and culture of the United States. The set not only provides in-depth coverage of all aspects of the three major events of the 1960's that give the decade its distinctive character-the Civil Rights movement, the social revolution, and the Vietnam War-but also surveys important developments in the arts, science and technology, business and the economy, government and politics, and gender issues.
