Journalism
Context and History
- CQ Researcher
This database contains reports and analysis with opposing viewpoints on current issues.
Contents: Reports including background information and chronology, assessments, pro/con statements, and bibliographies.
- Opposing Viewpoints (Gale in Context)
Contains a range of perspectives on many important social issues and current events, with pro/con viewpoints in an interdisciplinary resource. Areas of focus include science, environmental studies, politics, business, and social sciences.
Contents: Reference articles, viewpoints, infographics, news, periodical content, multimedia, and more.
- Gale Ebooks
Formerly known as Gale Virtual Reference Library, this collection contains reference materials covering business, philosophy, history, film, Jewish studies, and more.
Contents: Ebooks.
- Journalist's Resource: Knowledge-based reportingBackground research from Harvard's Shorenstein Center. Free.
Public Records & Government Documents
- GovInfoPortal to documents from the Government Publishing Office (budget, bills, hearings, Constitution, US Code, etc.). Formerly: FDsys, GPO Access
- Congress.govFind the status and history of bills in the current or prior legislature of Congress. Includes Committee Reports, Roll Call votes, Public Laws, U.S. Code, Congressional Record, etc.
- Regulations.govFind and comment on Federal administrative regulations
- Tutorial: Public Records Act Request ResourcesBy Paul Grabowicz, UC Berkeley.
- NYDatabases.comThe Ithaca Journal compiled this site with New York state data that may be of interest to its readers.
- Government Accountability Office (GAO)The U.S. Government Accountability Office (GAO) is an independent, nonpartisan agency that works for Congress. Often called the "congressional watchdog," GAO investigates how the federal government spends taxpayer dollars.
- EveryCRSreport.comPosts reports by the Congressional Research Service, a nonpartisan think tank for Congress that analyzes topics of public debate.
- National Conference of State Legislatures (NCSL)Gathers policy information state-by-state.
- New York StateOfficial website.
- New York Open GovernmentThe New York Open Government site is maintained by the Office of the Attorney General. It is a product of the aggregation of data from several New York State agencies, including data on campaign contributions and expenditures, lobbyist disclosures, government contracts, and registered charities.
- New York. Board of ElectionsFind elected officials. Includes district maps.
- Free Public Records DirectoryCommercial site. Browse by state.
Images and Video
- Associated Press (YouTube) Archive VideoAP Archive is the film and video archive of The Associated Press. View AP Archive’s videos via this channel – the collection offers 1.7 million global news and entertainment video stories, which date back to 1895.
- Prelinger Archive: News and Public AffairsAn analysis of news and public affairs independent from traditional corporate media is available from this diverse video library. These collections offer an alternative way to view and interpret current news and public affairs. Many of these videos are available for free download.
- Library of CongressThe Library of Congress is the largest library in the world, with millions of books, recordings, photographs, newspapers, maps and manuscripts in its collections. The Library is the main research arm of the U.S. Congress and the home of the U.S. Copyright Office
- NYPL Digital CollectionsThis site is a living database with new materials added every day, featuring prints, photographs, maps, manuscripts, streaming video, and more.
Statistics
- Statista
Subjects are geared towards business and marketing statistical needs, and include consumer goods, media, politics, sports, travel, and technology.
Contents: Statistical information, data, infographics, and tables.
- American Factfinder from the U.S. Census BureauFind census data on people, housing, the economic census on businesses, employment, education, income, etc. by city/town/county/state and the nation as a whole.
- New York State Data CenterWelcome to the New York State Data Center (NYSDC), located in the Division of Research and Statistics within the New York State Department of Labor. The State Data Center operates as part of a nationwide effort to improve public access to data provided by the U.S. Census Bureau.
- Stockholm International Peace Research InstituteDatabases on the arms industry, peace operations, and military expenditures.
- UN DataCountry statistics from the United Nations.
- Statistical Abstract of the United States
Summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States.
Contents: Statistical tables.
Directories & Statistical Sources
- Almanac of American Politics (Nexis Uni)he Almanac of American Politics analyzes elected political figures in theHouse and Senate, governors, big city mayors and the presidency.
- Current BiographyCall Number: Reference Stacks CT100 .C8A compilation of over 200 up-to-date, contemporary profiles of accomplished and rising stars of politics, industry, entertainment and the arts from the U.S. and around the world. Indexed in EBSCO.
- Polk City DirectoryA-Z directory, reverse look-up, look-up by street, wealth codes, etc. Reference Stacks F129.24 .C57
- Editor & publisher newspaper data bookListing of daily and weekly newspapers.
- The New York Red BookDirectory of who is who in New York government . Includes maps.
- United States Government ManualThe official handbook of United States government including executive, judicial and legislative information. PDFs of 1995+ are available.
- The Writer's Market Lists places to publish for freelancers including approximate salary for accepted submissions as well as submission information.Call Number: PN161 .W83Publication Date: Annual
- CQ's Politics in AmericaCongress 106 (2000) - Current edition in Reference, previous editions in General Stacks
- The Accountability Project (TAP)The Accountability Project gives researchers and journalists a powerful, but simple tool to search across data that would otherwise be siloed. Our collection includes more than 1.4 billion public records. From the Reva & David Logan Foundation & the Investigative Reporting Workshop.
- Statistical Abstract of the United States
Summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States.
Contents: Statistical tables.
Historical News
- Readers' Guide Retrospective (EBSCO)
Subjects covered include general news, business, fashion, politics, education, food, sports, history, science and film reviews.
Contents: Citations and abstracts for articles from general-interest journals and magazines. 1891-1982.
- U.S. Major Dailies: Historical Newspapers (ProQuest)
Newspaper titles covered includes The New York Times, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and Wall Street Journal.
Contents: Full-text, digitized newspaper articles including full-page views, front-page headlines, classified ads, marriage and death announcements, comic strips, reviews, display advertising, editorials, birth notices, and photographs.
- Al Jazeera Creative Commons RepositoryThe Al Jazeera Creative Commons Repository hosts select broadcast quality media that Al Jazeera has released under various Creative Commons licenses. -website
- Associated Press (YouTube) Archive VideoAP Archive is the film and video archive of The Associated Press. View AP Archive’s videos via this channel – the collection offers 1.7 million global news and entertainment video stories, which date back to 1895.
- BBC Motion GalleryGetty Images licences access to the BBC Motion Gallery, an unparalleled collection spanning from the first BBC broadcast in 1922 to the present day. With more than 125,000 license-ready clips to choose from plus over a million hours of footage from the BBC's Broadcast Archive available on request, this footage has to be seen. --website
- Chronicling America: Historic American NewspapersSearch America's historic newspaper pages from 1789-1963.
- Google News ArchivePart of Google News, the archive pulls older newspaper content from the web.
- I. F. Stone's WeeklyIssues between January 17, 1953 and December 1, 1971. See website for terms of use. The Park Center for Independent Media's annual award is called the Izzy after I.F. Stone, a journalist known for uncovering government lies.
- Internet Archive (Prelinger Archives)Includes the Prelinger Archives (archive.org/details/prelinger), Political TV Ad Archive, Wayback Machine (website captures), CNN Transcript Collection and a Television Archive.
- Library of Congress Digital CollectionsCollections from the diverse resources at the Library of Congress including many photographs.
- List of Online Newspaper Archives (Wikipedia)Provides scope by year and access (free or pay)
- Media History Digital LibraryA non-profit initiative dedicated to digitizing collections of classic media periodicals about cinema, broadcasting, and recorded sound. Collections feature extensive runs of several important trade papers and fan magazines.
- Mike Wallace InterviewCollection of broadcasts from the the Harry Ransom Center at the University of Texas. Interviews from the the early 1960s broadcast features leading senators, artists, and politicians from the period.
- Museum of Broadcast Communications:Video ArchiveThe mission of MBC is to collect, preserve, and present historic and contemporary radio and television content as well as educate, inform, and entertain the public through its archives, public programs, screenings, exhibits, publications, and online access to its resources. They offer an online archive.
- National Public Broadcasting Archives (NPBA) and the Library of American Broadcasting (LAB)Special Collections in Mass Media & Culture holds a wide-ranging collection of resources documenting the history of radio and television broadcasting. Important collections include the National Public Broadcasting Archives (NPBA) and the Library of American Broadcasting (LAB).
- National Security Archive (at George Washington University)Declassified documents pertaining to national security obtained by FOIA requests. Contains collections such as the Torture Archive (primary sources related to the detention and interrogation of individuals by the United States).
- NBC Learn Higher EdNBC Learn believes in the power of great stories - historic news reports, original video content, and current events coverage - to engage, inspire, and educate Higher Ed students.--Mission
- NewseumFront pages from US newspapers and international newspapers are posted daily. Geographic and alphabetical by title searching is available.
- Newspaper ArchiveCommercial / subscription newspaper archive (IC does not subscribe).
- NYS Historic NewspapersThe NYS Historic Newspapers project provides free online access to a wide range of newspapers chosen to reflect New York's unique history
- Paley Center for MediaWith Museums in both Los Angeles and New York City, the Paley Center for Media preserves and promotes radio, television and advertising history through events, screenings, lectures, and workshops. They collect programming, not artifacts. Formerly known as The Museum of Television & Radio.
- National Public Broadcasting Archives (NPBA) and the Library of American Broadcasting (LAB)Special Collections in Mass Media & Culture holds a wide-ranging collection of resources documenting the history of radio and television broadcasting. Important collections include the National Public Broadcasting Archives (NPBA) and the Library of American Broadcasting (LAB).
- Television News Archive (Vanderbilt University_The Vanderbilt Television News Archive is the world's most extensive and complete archive of television news. We have been recording, preserving and providing access to television news broadcasts of the national networks since August 5, 1968. The core collection includes evening news from ABC, CBS, and NBC (since 1968), an hour per day of CNN (since 1995) and Fox News (since 2004). (website)
- UCLA Library Broadcast NewsScapeThe UCLA Library NewsScape contains digitized television news programs collected from cable and broadcast sources in the Los Angeles area from 2005 to the present, as well as a smaller number of news programs from other domestic, international, and online sources collected from 2004 to the present. The archive includes hundreds of thousands of hours of news programs, which are indexed and time-referenced via their closed captions and other associated metadata to enable full-text searching and interactive streaming playback.
- UCLA News and Public Affairs (NAPA) CollectionThe UCLA Film & Television Archive’s News and Public Affairs (NAPA) Collection consists of over 100,000 news programs and broadcasts taped off air from 1979 to 2003. Titles from the collection can be made available for research viewing on the UCLA campus in the Instructional Media Lab (IML), located in room 270 of the Powell Library. Viewing requests must be made in advance through the Archive Research and Study Center (ARSC).
- Understanding 9/11: A Television News ArchiveFrom the Internet Archive this is, "a library of news coverage of the events of 9/11/2001 and their aftermath as presented by U.S. and international broadcasters. ".
- LIFE Magazine (Google Books)Google Books digitized LIFE magazine. Browse or check box to search all issues.
- Sports Illustrated Vault50+ years of Sports Illustrated content including video and images.
