Journalism
Books
- Library Search: Advanced SearchChange the "Any Field" drop-down to Title to search by title. Under "Tweak my results" in the right menu, limit to "Library Catalog" to find books and videos available in the library.
- Ebook Central (ProQuest)
Contains over 180,000 ebooks in nearly all disciplines including business, education, sciences, technology, law, and medicine.
Contents: Ebooks.
Need search tips? See our Guide for more information.
- WorldCat via FirstSearch
Contents: Bibliographic information for books, journals, and multimedia owned by libraries worldwide.
Select Titles
Encyclopedia of Journalism by
2009 Dartmouth Medal Honorable Mention Library Journal Best Reference 2009 "Written in a clear and accessible style that would suit the needs of journalists and scholars alike, this encyclopedia is highly recommended for large news organizations and all schools of journalism." --Starred Review, Library Journal Journalism permeates our lives and shapes our thoughts in ways that we′ve long taken for granted. Whether it′s National Public Radio in the morning or the lead story on the Today show, the morning newspaper headlines, up-to-the-minute Internet news, grocery store tabloids, Time magazine in our mailbox, or the nightly news on television, journalism is woven throughout our day. The six-volume Encyclopedia of Journalism will cover all significant dimensions of journalism including: print, broadcast, and Internet journalism; U.S. and international perspectives; and history, technology, legal issues and court cases, ownership, and economics. The set will contain approximately 3,000 pages in all and approximately 350 signed entries from scholars, experts, and journalists, under the direction of leading editor Christopher Sterling of The George Washington University.
Call Number: Reference Stacks PN4728 .E48 2009ISBN: 0761929576Publication Date: 2009
American Journalism and Fake News : Examining the Facts by
This book provides a comprehensive and impartial overview of the state of American journalism and news-gathering in the 21st century, with a special focus on the rise--and meaning--of "fake news." * Reflects an easy-to-navigate question-and-answer format * Uses quantifiable data from respected sources as the foundation for examining every issue * Provides readers with leads to conduct further research in extensive Further Reading sections accompanying each entry * Analyzes claims made by individuals and groups of all political backgrounds and ideologies to fairly represent a diversity of perspectives
Call Number: ebookISBN: 1440861846Publication Date: 2018
Deciding What's True: the rise of political fact-checking in American journalism by
Over the past decade, American outlets such as PolitiFact, FactCheck.org, and the Washington Post's Fact Checker have shaken up the political world by holding public figures accountable for what they say. Cited across social and national news media, these verdicts can rattle a political campaign and send the White House press corps scrambling. Yet fact-checking is a fraught kind of journalism, one that challenges reporters' traditional roles as objective observers and places them at the center of white-hot, real-time debates. As these journalists are the first to admit, in a hyperpartisan world, facts can easily slip into fiction, and decisions about which claims to investigate and how to judge them are frequently denounced as unfair play. Deciding What's True draws on Lucas Graves's unique access to the members of the newsrooms leading this movement. Graves vividly recounts the routines of journalists at three of these hyperconnected, technologically innovative organizations and what informs their approach to a story. Graves also plots a compelling, personality-driven history of the fact-checking movement and its recent evolution from the blogosphere, reflecting on its revolutionary remaking of journalistic ethics and practice. His book demonstrates the ways these rising organizations depend on professional networks and media partnerships yet have also made inroads with the academic and philanthropic worlds. These networks have become a vital source of influence as fact-checking spreads around the world.
Call Number: ebookISBN: 0231542224Publication Date: 2016
The Chicago Guide to Fact-Checking by
A column by Glenn Garvin on Dec. 20 stated that the National Science Foundation funded a study on Jell-O wrestling at the South Pole. That is incorrect. The event took place during off-duty hours without NSF permission and did not involve taxpayer funds. Corrections such as this one from the "Miami Herald" have become a familiar sight for readers, especially as news cycles demand faster and faster publication. While some factual errors can be humorous, they nonetheless erode the credibility of the writer and the organization. And the pressure for accuracy and accountability is increasing at the same time as in-house resources for fact-checking are dwindling. Anyone who needs or wants to learn how to verify names, numbers, quotations, and facts is largely on their own. Enter "The Chicago Guide to Fact-Checking," an accessible, one-stop guide to the why, what, and how of contemporary fact-checking. Brooke Borel, an experienced fact-checker, draws on the expertise of more than 200 writers, editors, and fellow checkers representing the "New Yorker," "Popular Science," "This American Life," "Vogue," and many other outlets. She covers best practices for fact-checking in a variety of media from magazine articles, both print and online, to books and documentaries and from the perspective of both in-house and freelance checkers. She also offers advice on navigating relationships with writers, editors, and sources; considers the realities of fact-checking on a budget and checking one s own work; and reflects on the place of fact-checking in today s media landscape. If journalism is a cornerstone of democracy, then fact-checking is its building inspector, Borel writes. "The Chicago Guide to Fact-Checking" is the practical and thoroughly vetted guide that writers, editors, and publishers need to maintain their credibility and solidify their readers trust."
Call Number: ebookISBN: 9780226291093Publication Date: 2016
The Data Journalism Handbook by
When you combine the sheer scale and range of digital information now available with a journalist's "nose for news" and her ability to tell a compelling story, a new world of possibility opens up. With The Data Journalism Handbook, you'll explore the potential, limits, and applied uses of this new and fascinating field. This valuable handbook has attracted scores of contributors since the European Journalism Centre and the Open Knowledge Foundation launched the project at MozFest 2011. Through a collection of tips and techniques from leading journalists, professors, software developers, and data analysts, you'll learn how data can be either the source of data journalism or a tool with which the story is told--or both. Examine the use of data journalism at the BBC, the Chicago Tribune, the Guardian, and other news organizations Explore in-depth case studies on elections, riots, school performance, and corruption Learn how to find data from the Web, through freedom of information laws, and by "crowd sourcing" Extract information from raw data with tips for working with numbers and statistics and using data visualization Deliver data through infographics, news apps, open data platforms, and download links
Call Number: General Stacks PN4784.E53 D383 2012ISBN: 9781449330064Publication Date: 2012
Browse Books by Subject
- American newspapers
- Broadcast journalism
- Censorship United States
- Electronic journals
- Electronic news gathering
- Electronic newspapers
- Foreign news
- Freedom of the press
- Government and the press
- Journalism Objectivity
- Journalism Social aspects United States
- Journalistic ethics
- Journalists United States Biography
- Press and politics
- Press law United States
- Radio journalism
- Reporters and reporting
- Television broadcasting of news
- War press coverage
