TPDM 29237: Wes Anderson: Character and Production Design
Books
- Search for "Wes Anderson" in the Library Search
- Search for "Wes Anderson" in Ebook Central (searches the inside of the fulltext book)
- Screenplays by Wes Anderson in Screen Studies
Isle of Dogs (2018)
Grand Budapest Hotel. (2014)
Moonrise Kingdom (2012)
The Royal Tenenbaums (2001)
Through the Decades, American Pop Culture, & All American Ads
On the 4th floor of the library is the American Decades Series. Look for Call Number: Reference Stacks ; E169.12 .A419. The volumes range from 1900 to 2009 in print. The 2010-2019 is available online.
American Decades by Call Number: E169.12 .A419ISBN: 9781414436067Publication Date: 2011Covers everything from monumental events and groundbreaking individuals to the details of Americans' daily lives. Supports historical research in disciplines from the arts and business to law, medicine, technology, and social trends.
American Popular Culture Through History
Also in the Reference section of the 4th floor, find the series of books on popular culture in history. The Call Number is generally: E163 to E169 (I may see if they can be catalogued together).
In General Stacks on the 5th floor is a series of books by the decades that contain advertisements.
Featured books
Wes Anderson by
The Grand Budapest Hotel and Moonrise Kingdom have made Wes Anderson a prestige force. Rushmore and The Royal Tenenbaums have become quotable cult classics. Yet every new Anderson release brings out droves of critics eager to charge him with stylistic excess and self-indulgent eclecticism. Donna Kornhaber approaches Anderson's style as the necessary product of the narrative and thematic concerns that define his body of work. Using Anderson's focus on collecting, Kornhaber situates the director as the curator of his filmic worlds, a prime mover who artfully and conscientiously arranges diverse components into cohesive collections and taxonomies. Anderson peoples each mise-en-scéne in his ongoing ""Wesworld"" with characters orphaned, lost, and out of place amidst a riot of handmade clutter and relics. Within, they seek a wholeness and collective identity they manifestly lack, with their pain expressed via an ordered emotional palette that, despite being muted, cries out for attention. As Kornhaber shows, Anderson's films offer nothing less than a fascinating study in the sensation of belonging--told by characters who possess it the least.
Call Number: Circulation Desk Reserves ; PN1998.3.A526 K67 2017ISBN: 9780252041181Publication Date: 2017
The Wes Anderson Collection by
This New York Times bestselling overview of Wes Anderson's filmography features previously unpublished behind-the-scenes photos, artwork, and ephemera, with an introduction by Michael Chabon.Writer/director Wes Anderson guides movie/television critic Matt Zoller Seitz through Anderson's life and career in a hardcover book-length conversation, woven together with original illustrations and production images from Bottle Rocket, Rushmore, The Royal Tenenbaums, The Life Aquatic with Steve Zissou, The Darjeeling Limited, Fantastic Mr. Fox, and Moonrise Kingdom.The result is a meticulously designed book that captures and reflects the spirit of Wes Anderson's movies: melancholy, playful, wise, and wonderfully unique.Also available from Matt Zoller Seitz: The Oliver Stone Experience, The Wes Anderson Collection: Bad Dads, The Wes Anderson Collection: The Grand Budapest Hotel, and Mad Men Carousel.
Call Number: Circulation Desk Reserves ; PN1998.3.A526 A5 2013 +ISBN: 9780810997417Publication Date: 2013
The Wes Anderson Collection: the Grand Budapest Hotel by
This companion to the New York Times bestselling book The Wes Anderson Collection takes readers behind the scenes of the Oscar\u00ae-winning film The Grand Budapest Hotel with a series of interviews between writer/director Wes Anderson and movie/television critic Matt Zoller Seitz. Learn all about the film's conception, hear personal anecdotes from the set, and explore the wide variety of sources that inspired the screenplay and imagery - from author Stefan Zweig to filmmaker Ernst Lubitsch to photochrom landscapes of turn-of-the-century Middle Europe. Also inside are interviews with costume designer Milena Canonero, composer Alexandre Desplat, lead actor Ralph Fiennes, production designer Adam Stockhausen, and cinematographer Robert Yeoman; essays by film critics Ali Arikan and Steven Boone, film theorist and historian David Bordwell, music critic Olivia Collette, and style and costume consultant Christopher Laverty; and an introduction by playwright Anne Washburn. Previously unpublished production photos, artwork, and ephemera illustrate each essay and interview. The Wes Anderson Collection: The Grand Budapest Hotel stays true to Seitz's previous book on Anderson's first seven feature films,The Wes Anderson Collection, with an artful, meticulous design and playful, original illustrations that capture the spirit of Anderson's inimitable aesthetic. Together, they offer a complete overview of Anderson's filmography to date. Praise for the film, The Grand Budapest Hotel: Four Academy Awards\u00ae, including Costume Design, Music - Original Score, and Production Design; Nine Academy Award nominations, including Best Picture, Directing, and Writing - Original Screenplay; Best Film - Musical or Comedy, Golden Globe Awards; Best Original Screenplay, BAFTA, WGA, NYFCC, and LAFCA Awards Praise for the book, The Wes Anderson Collection: "The Wes Anderson Collection comes as close as a book can to reading like a Wes Anderson film. The design is meticulously crafted, with gorgeous full-page photos and touches . . ." - Eric Thurm, The A.V. Club Also available from Matt Zoller Seitz: Mad Men Carousel, The Oliver Stone Experience, The Wes Anderson Collection: Bad Dads, andThe Wes Anderson Collection.
Call Number: PN1997.2.G735 S45 2015ISBN: 9781419715716Publication Date: 2015
Wes Anderson's Symbolic Storyworld by
Wes Anderson's Symbolic Storyworld presents a theoretical investigation of whatmakes the films of Wes Anderson distinctive. Chapter by chapter, it relentlessly pulls apart each of Anderson's narratives to pursue the proposition that they all share the same deep underlying symbolic values - a common symbolic storyworld. Taking the polemical strategy of outlining and employing Claude L vi-Strauss's distinguished (and notorious) work on myth and kinship to analyze eight of Anderson's films, Warren Buckland unearths the peculiar symbolic structure of each film, plus the circuits of exchange, tangible and intangible gift giving, and unusual kinship systems that govern the lives of Anderson's characters. He also provides an analysis of Wes Anderson's visual and aural style, identifying several distinctive traits of Anderson's mise en sc ne.
Call Number: ebookISBN: 9781501316524Publication Date: 2018
Projections 11 by
Why live and work as a film-maker in New York rather than Hollywood? The birthplace of US cinema, New York has played a hugely influential role in its evolution - particularly in the realm of more personal, 'independent' film-making of figures from Sam Fuller to John Cassavetes. Now Projections 11 seeks to answer Mike Figgis' Los Angeles issue Projections 10 by interviewing film-makers who base themselves in New York, creating an East coast alternative to Hollywood. Tod Lippy speaks to Spike Lee, Jim Jarmusch, Sidney Lumet, Christine Vachon, David O. Russell, Nora Ephron, Tim Robbins, Frances McDormand, and many others.
Call Number: General Stacks ; PN1993.5.U77 P76 2000ISBN: 9780571205912Publication Date: 2000
American eccentric cinema by
"
"Since the late 1990s a new language has emerged in film scholarship and criticism in response to the popularity of American directors such as Wes Anderson, Charlie Kaufman, and David O. Russell. Increasingly, adjectives like 'quirky', 'cute', and 'smart' are used to describe these American films, with a focus on their ironic (and sometimes deliberately comical) stories, character situations and tones."
Call Number: onlineISBN: 9781501336942Publication Date: 2019
Music, Sound and Filmmakers by
Music, Sound and Filmmakers: Sonic Style in Cinema is a collection of essays that examine the work of filmmakers whose concern is not just for the eye, but also for the ear. The bulk of the text focuses on the work of directors Wes Anderson, Ingmar Bergman, the Coen brothers, Peter Greenaway, Krzysztof Kieślowski, Stanley Kubrick, David Lynch, Quentin Tarantino, Andrey Tarkovsky and Gus Van Sant. Significantly, the anthology includes a discussion of films administratively controlled by such famously sound-conscious producers as David O. Selznick and Val Lewton. Written by the leading film music scholars from Europe, North America, and Australia, Music, Sound and Filmmakers: Sonic Style in Cinema will complement other volumes in Film Music coursework, or stand on its own among a body of research.
Call Number: ebookISBN: 0203343093Publication Date: 2012
The Sundance Kids by
A formidable new generation of American filmmakers are currently in their prime: Paul Thomas Anderson, Alexander Payne, Sofia Coppola, David Fincher, Spike Jonze, Wes Anderson, to name but six. Call them 'The Sundance Kids'.
Call Number: Online & in print General Stacks ; PN1995.9.P7 M67 2006ISBN: 9780571222674Publication Date: 2006
Transmedia Directors by
Transmedia Directors focuses on artist-practitioners who work across media, platforms and disciplines, including film, television, music video, commercials and the internet. Working in the age of media convergence, today's em/impresarios project a distinctive style that points toward a new contemporary aesthetics. The media they engage with enrich their practices - through film and television (with its potential for world-building and sense of the past and future), music video (with its audiovisual aesthetics and rhythm), commercials (with their ability to project a message quickly) and the internet (with its refreshed concepts of audience and participation), to larger forms like restaurants and amusement parks (with their materiality alongside today's digital aesthetics). These directors encourage us to reassess concepts of authorship, assemblage, transmedia, audiovisual aesthetics and world-building. Providing a vital resource for scholars and practitioners, this collection weaves together insights about artist-practitioners' collaborative processes as well as strategies for composition, representation, subversion and resistance.
Call Number: General Stacks ; PN1995.9.P7 T73 2020ISBN: 9781501341007Publication Date: 2020
Screenwriters' Masterclass by
Industry insider Kevin Conroy Scott reveals the secrets of writing a successfulscreenplay in a series of fascinating interviews with 21 of the world's leadingscreenwriters--a wonderfully diverse mix, ranging from writers of Hollywoodblockbusters to top writers on the U.S. and European indie scene. Scott explores the screenwriters' creative process and shares their insightsinto what worked--and what didn't--in their greatest films, and why. Eachinterview is an entertaining, illuminating look at the screenwriter's world,offering film buffs and aspiring screenwriters a rare glimpse behind thescenes of some of today's most riveting cinema.
Call Number: ebookISBN: 1557046921Publication Date: 2006
