TVDM 21390: Women in Media, Film and Television
Women in Media, Film & Television
Encyclopedias or Handbooks
Note: if you need an encyclopedia entry from a print book, go to the book in the catalog, sign into your account, and request pages for digitization.
- Hollywood Heroines: the Most Influential Women in Film History by This is a topical resource that provides a comprehensive look at the most influential women in Hollywood cinema across a wide-range of occupations rarely found together in a single volume. Unlike other anthologies, Hollywood Heroines: The Most Influential Women in Film History is a hybrid of film history and industry information with an exclusive focus on prominent women. This reference work includes more commonly discussed categories of important women in Hollywood film history, such as directors and actresses, and reaches beyond them to encompass women working as cinematographers, casting directors, studio heads, musical composers, and visual and special effects supervisors. The wide range of filmmaking crafts covered in the book provides an acute view of the industry and increases the visibility of and quality of representation for women working in Hollywood. By bringing the experience of these influential women to light, Hollywood Heroines joins a growing movement that endeavors to dismantle harmful, long-standing industry myths that perpetuate the systemic underrepresentation of women and the devaluation of women's stories in the Hollywood film industry. Provides the reader with an invaluable, complete, and easy-to-understand view of film history and filmmaking while simultaneously highlighting the most important women, making the subject of Hollywood and film more transparent as a whole Enables a fuller understanding of the many complicated challenges women have faced historically and currently in Hollywood filmmaking Offers a unique blend of film history and industry information, cohesively presenting them both in one place Reaches beyond the more commonly discussed categories of women who have had important roles throughout Hollywood film history, such as directors and actresses, although they too are included Examines women's visibility and representation in Hollywood in the context of the history of the film industry for studentsCall Number: ebookISBN: 1440836493Publication Date: 2018
Schirmer Encyclopedia of Film by
This reference provides a comprehensive and accessible introduction to film and film studies, covering such aspects as production, national traditions, studios, genres, critical theory and film history. See also entries on Third Cinema (https://bit.ly/2CQkaqG )
Call Number: ebookISBN: 9780028657912Publication Date: 2006
Feminism. (2007). In B. K. Grant (Ed.), Schirmer Encyclopedia of Film (Vol. 2, pp. 201-207). Schirmer Reference.
Women and Film by
"Written with unequivocal enthusiasm for film, feminism and theory, "Women and Film" is a welcome and useful guide to a complex area."--"The Arts"
Call Number: ebookISBN: 9781134972418Publication Date: 2013
Women and American Television by
This work presents more than 400 A-Z entries on the individuals, programs, media innovations, and broad topics that tell the story of women's involvement both in front of and behind the television camera. From thought-provoking trends to entertaining trivia, this delightfully illustrated A-Z encyclopedia covers it all: Gracie Allen, Ally McBeal, Asian women, black sitcoms, cable TV, the Emmys, tabloid and talk shows, older women on television, Penny Marshall, Our Miss Brooks, Jane Pauley, soap operas, Jamie Tarses, That Girl, Oprah Winfrey, and more. Although limited to the role of women in and on television, Women and American Television is notable for unearthing the more obscure personalities and programs not covered by other television encyclopedias. Includes cross references, bibliography, helpful appendixes, and a subject index. A-Z entries range from Gracie Allen and Ally McBeal to talk shows and soap operas Includes cross references, a bibliography, helpful appendixes, and a subject index Delightfully illustrated
Call Number: ebookISBN: 0874369703Publication Date: 2000
Title The queens of animation : the untold story of the women who transformed the world of Disney and made cinematic history by
From the bestselling author of Rise of the Rocket Girls, the untold, "richly detailed" story of the women of Walt Disney Studios, who shaped the iconic films that have enthralled generations (Margot Lee Shetterly, New York Times bestselling author of Hidden Figures). From Snow White to Moana, from Pinocchio to Frozen, the animated films of Walt Disney Studios have moved and entertained millions. But few fans know that behind these groundbreaking features was an incredibly influential group of women who fought for respect in an often ruthless male-dominated industry and who have slipped under the radar for decades. In The Queens of Animation, bestselling author Nathalia Holt tells their dramatic stories for the first time, showing how these women infiltrated the boys' club of Disney's story and animation departments and used early technologies to create the rich artwork and unforgettable narratives that have become part of the American canon. As the influence of Walt Disney Studios grew -- and while battling sexism, domestic abuse, and workplace intimidation -- these women also fought to transform the way female characters are depicted to young audiences. With gripping storytelling, and based on extensive interviews and exclusive access to archival and personal documents, The Queens of Animation reveals the vital contributions these women made to Disney's Golden Age and their continued impact on animated filmmaking, culminating in the record-shattering Frozen, Disney's first female-directed full-length feature film. A Best Book of 2019: Library Journal, Christian Science Monitor, and Financial Times
Call Number: General Stacks NC1766.U52 H65 2019ISBN: 9780316439152Publication Date: 2019
The Handbook of Gender, Sex, and Media by
The Handbook of Gender, Sex and Media offers original insights into the complex set of relations which exist between gender, sex, sexualities and the media, and in doing so, showcases new research at the forefront of media and communication practice and theory. Brings together a collection of new, cutting-edge research exploring a number of different facets of the broad relationship between gender and media Moves beyond associating gender with man/woman and instead considers the relationship between the construction of gender norms, biological sex and the mediation of sex and sexuality Offers genuinely new insights into the complicated and complex set of relations which exist between gender, sex, sexualities and the media Essay topics range from the continuing sexism of TV advertising to ways in which the internet is facilitating the (re)invention of our sexual selves.
Call Number: ebookISBN: 9781118114216Publication Date: 2011- Encyclopedia of Gender in Media by The media strongly influences our everyday notions of gender roles and our concepts of gender identity. The Encyclopedia of Gender in Media critically examines the role of the media in enabling, facilitating, or challenging the social construction of gender in our society. The work addresses a variety of entertainment and news content in print and electronic media and explores the social construction of masculinity as well as femininity. In addition to representations of gender within the media, we also analyze gender issues related to media ownership and the media workforce. Despite an abundance of textbooks, anthologies, and university press monographs on the topic of gender in media, until now no comprehensive reference work has tackled this topic of perennial interest in student research and papers.Call Number: Reference Stacks PN1992.8.W65 L69 1999ISBN: :9781412990806Publication Date: 2012
- Encyclopedia of television (Museum of Broadcast Communication) byCall Number: ebookPublication Date: 2004also available in Reference Stacks PN1992.18 .E53 2004 Covers programs, people, history, trends, policy, etc.
