Open Educational Resources
Course Materials
- Check out this in-progress (open creation) OER GUIDE created by librarians at Ryerson University. It includes a broad range of open educational resources organized by disciplines.
- CORA Community of Online Research Assignments - multiple, reliable and reproducible research assignments that can be enhanced by user feedback. This collaborative space can also be used to adapt and experiment with research assignments and share successes or lessons learned so that others may benefit.
- Saylor Academy List of open textbooks that can be reused and remixed for courses.
- Core - Open Access Repository for the Humanities Links to digital humanities syllabi, Biblical studies, Gender studies, Musicology, and Film Studies materials. Includes peer-reviewed journal articles, dissertations and theses; works in progress; conference papers; syllabi; abstracts; data sets; presentations; translations; book reviews; maps; charts
- Lumen Learning - open courseware and support for educational institutions to help them eliminate textbook costs, broaden access to educational materials and improve student success through the effective use of open-educational resources (OER). Includes MyOpenMath, a popular online math lab tool.
- Merlot provides access to curated online learning and support materials and content creation tools, led by an international community of educators, learners and researchers. Includes peer review ratings and user ratings for materials.
- Teaching Commons Open educational resources from colleges and universities. Includes open access textbooks, course materials, lesson plans, and multimedia.
- Public Data Sets
- Academic Earth Free online lectures from universities such as Berkeley, UCLA, Harvard, MIT, Princeton, Stanford and Yale.
- Berkeley Webcast Freely available online course lectures from the University of California Berkeley
- BioQUEST Library "An ongoing peer-reviewed community publication of software simulations, tools, data sets, and other supporting materials from educators and developers engaged in education and research in science".
- Carnegie Mellon's Open Learning Initative offers online courses that address teaching and learning goals. Active learning courses are included.
- CITE A blog on course materials, innovation, and technology in education
- Internet Archive: Open Educational Resources
- Khan Academy Video tutorials on subjects such as mathematics, history, finance, physics, chemistry, biology, astronomy, and economics.
- Open Courseware Consortium "a collaboration of higher education institutions and associated organizations from around the world creating a broad and deep body of open educational content using a shared model."
- Interactive Open Educational Resources : A Guide to Finding, Choosing, and Using What's Out There to Transform College Teaching ebook in IC Library's collection
