Open Educational Resources
OER Textbooks and Books
- The American Yawp is a free and online, collaboratively built American History textbook.
- BC Open Texbook Project from the University of British Columbia. Textbook list can be sorted by those that have been reviewed, adopted, meet accessibility criteria, and include supplementary material.
- The Noba Project provides open access to content that can be customized to fit the scope and sequence of common courses in Psychology.
- University of Minnesota, Open Textbook Library Includes faculty reviews.
- OpenStaxCollege Free course materials for 25 common introductory classes. The textbooks are open to classes anywhere. OpenStax is partnering with OER Commons to provide online community hubs where instructors can freely share and modify syllabuses, homework, study guides and other open-copyright course materials.
- OER Commons is a digital public library that offers tools for collaboration, sharing and remixing openly licensed course materials. It features tools for evaluation, quality review and improvement of high-quality resources.
- Connexions
- Platform for shared educational texts -- view and share educational material made of small knowledge chunks called modules that can be organized as courses, books, or reports. Anyone may view or contribute.
- WikiBooks An online wiki-based collection of over two thousand open-content textbooks. Fully editable, published under the Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike License.
- Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB)
- Internet Archive Includes links to over 430 billion web pages and 6.5 million texts.
Subject-Specific OER Sites
- BioWiki - open access textbook content created and edited by instructors and students at UC Davis.
- ChemCollective - a collection of course materials (virtual labs, tests, etc.), under a creative commons license, created by faculty and staff at Carnegie Mellon.
- ChemWiki - open access textbook content created and edited by instructors and students at UC Davis.
- OpenChemistry Lecture Videos - lectures created and taught by UC Irvine instructors, which covers a wide range of topics and levels.
- Green Tea Press books - a variety of computer science topics, created under an open license which allows users to download, use and modify content freely.
- Economics Network - links to numerous textbooks, lectures, etc. which cover economics topics.
- Open Data Institute - open data focusing on five main sectors: agriculture and nutrition, data infrastructure, finance, global development, and open cities.
- NASA Goddard Earth Sciences (GES) Data and Information Services Center (DISC) - Earth science data, information, and services to researchers and students.
- Center for Open Education and Language Learning - links to resources for the teaching and learning of foreign languages.
- American Institute of Mathematics - a list of approved open textbooks.
- Online Statistics: An Interactive Multimedia Course of Study - resources for teaching introductory statistics at the college level.
- SageMath - open-source mathematics software system available online or for download.
- Sociological Cinema - videos for sociology instructors to include in their courses.
- PhET Interactive Simulations - free interactive math and science simulations. Simulations are available in a range of subjects at varying levels up to university.
- Writing Commons - open-education materials for the instruction of writing and information literacy.
