Television, Photography & Digital Media Production
Books: Table of Contents
Finding Books
- Library Search: Advanced SearchChange the "Any Field" drop-down to Title to search by title. Under "Tweak my results" in the right menu, limit to "Library Catalog" to find books and videos available in the library.
- Ebook Central (ProQuest)
Contains over 180,000 ebooks in nearly all disciplines including business, education, sciences, technology, law, and medicine.
Contents: Ebooks.
Need search tips? See our Guide for more information.
- WorldCat via FirstSearch
Contents: Bibliographic information for books, journals, and multimedia owned by libraries worldwide.
Encyclopedias and Handbooks
- Encyclopedia of television shows, 1925 through 2007 by This work represents decades of research and television's entire history. While documentation regarding cast and personnel is now often found online, descriptions of the shows from authoritative sources are still not widely available. Terrace fills that gap with this work, which covers more than 9,350 shows and constitutes the most comprehensive documentation of TV series ever published"Call Number: ebookPublication Date: 2009
Encyclopedia of television shows a comprehensive supplement, 2011-2016 by
"This supplement to Encyclopedia of Television Shows, 1925-2010 covers 1612 series broadcast between January 1, 2011, and December 31, 2016. Major networks--ABC, CBS, the CW, Fox and NBC--are covered along with AMC, Disney, Nickelodeon, Bravo, Lifetime, Discovery, TNT, Comedy Central and History Channel. Alphabetical entries provide storylines, casts, networks and running dates"--
Includes index.
Call Number: ebookISBN: 1476630941Publication Date: 2018
The Business of Entertainment by
The Business of Entertainment lifts the curtain to show the machinery (and sleight of hand) behind the films, TV shows, music, and radio programs we can't live without. The Business of Entertainment comprises three volumes, covering movies popular music, and television. But it's not all about stars and glitter--it's as much about the nuts and bolts of daily life in the industry, including the challenges of digitizing content, globalization, promoting stars and shows, protecting intellectual property, developing talent, employing the latest technology, and getting projects done on time and within budget. Challenges don't end there. There's also advertising and product placement, the power of reviews and reviewers, the cancerous spread of piracy, the battles between cable and satellite operators (and the threat to both from telephone companies), the backlash to promoting gangsta lifestyles, and more. Each chapter is written by an authority in the field, from noted scholars to entertainment industry professionals to critics to screenwriters to lawyers. The result is a fascinating mosaic, with each chapter a gem that provides insight into the industry that--hands down--generates more conversations on a daily basis than any other.
Call Number: ebookISBN: 9780275998394Publication Date: 2008
Dictionary of Media and Communication Studies by
The Dictionary of Media and Communication Studies has provided students and the general public alike with a gateway into the study of intercultural communication, public relations and marketing communications since 1984. In this 9th edition, James Watson and Anne Hill provide a detailed compendium of the different facets of personal, group, mass-media and internet communication that continues to be a vital source of information for all those interested in how communication affects our lives. They cover new applications and developments, such as the incorporation of Neuroscience techniques in advertising and marketing. Other updates include Cyber-bullying, Twitter scandals, conduct in media organizations, on-line lobbying, global protesting/petitioning, and gender issues relating to social media in general. While new entries explore the profound shifts that have taken place in the world of communication in recent years, the purpose of this new edition is not necessarily to keep abreast of every new media event but to reflect the trends that influence and prompt such events, such as the Leveson Inquiry and Report and phone hacking via mobile phones. Politics seems to be playing out more on Twitter than in The Times. This volume seeks to make its twenty-first century readers more media literate, as well as more critical consumers of modern news.
Call Number: ebookISBN: 9781628921496Publication Date: 2015
Encyclopedia of the Documentary Film by
The Encyclopedia of the Documentary Filmis a fully international reference work on the history of the documentary film from the Lumière brothers' WorkersLeaving the Lumière Factory(1885) to Michael Moore's Fahrenheit 911(2004). This Encyclopediaprovides a resource that critically analyzes that history in all its aspects. Not only does this Encyclopediaexamine individual films and the careers of individual film makers, it also provides overview articles of national and regional documentary film history. It explains concepts and themes in the study of documentary film, the techniques used in making films, and the institutions that support their production, appreciation, and preservation.
Call Number: Reference Stacks PN1995.9.D6 E53 2006ISBN: 1579584454Publication Date: 2005- Encyclopedia of international media and communications byCall Number: ebookPublication Date: 2003Explores the ways that editorial content--from journalism and scholarship to films and infomercials is developed, presented, stored, analyzed, and regulated around the world.
- Encyclopaedia of Mass Communication : Volumes 1- 3Entries on the role, impact and significance of media; communication methods and theories; moral, ethical social & political aspects; and international aspects.
Encyclopedia of Media Violence by
Does violence on a movie, TV, or computer screen or in a song lyric beget violence in the streets? What about aggression and violence in televised sporting events? What are the known effects of violence in the media on the developing mind of a young child? Do rating systems and warning labels help in the effort to keep overtly violent materials out of the hands of children--or do they act as magnets? Where does violence in the media cross a line from legitimate entertainment and plot development to gratuitousness and even pornography? How do we define media violence, and just how much is there? What methodologies do behavioral scientists use to assess content and draw conclusions about effects, and how do we separate valid inferences from entrenched myths and assumptions? How should findings from research studies be translated into public policy? Students are able to explore these questions and more in the Encyclopedia of Media Violence. Entries examine theory, research, and debates as they relate to media violence in a manner that is accessible and jargon-free to help readers better understand questions from varied perspectives. From "Aggression" and "Animated Cartoons" to "V-chips" and "War Toys," this work provides balanced, comprehensive coverage of this hot-button issue. Features & Benefits: 134 signed entries are available both in print and electronically. Entries conclude with Cross-References and Suggestions for Further Readings to guide users to related entries and resources for further research. Although organized in A-to-Z fashion, a thematic Reader's Guide in the front matter groups related entries by topic to make it easier for users to locate related entries of interest. In the electronic version, the Reader's Guide combines with the Cross-References and a detailed Index to facilitate search-and-browse.
Call Number: Reference Stacks P96.V5 E59 2013ISBN: 9781412936859Publication Date: 2013- Encyclopedia of television (Museum of Broadcast Communication) byCall Number: ebookPublication Date: 2004also available in Reference Stacks PN1992.18 .E53 2004 Covers programs, people, history, trends, policy, etc.
Prime-Time Television by
Television is a unique medium in that both its dramas and its comedies have the ability to tell their stories over real time, with characters developing over years rather than just the two hours allowed in a movie or the few hundred pages of a book. Despite this, very few authors have attempted to look at television from this vantage point. Prime-Time Television provides an essential resource for anyone interested in the history of television. The focus here is on programming: the shows, the producers, the genres, the trends, and the influences. Everyone interested in the questions of why the programs look the way they do, why they're scheduled as they are, why some shows air while others are cancelled, and what has shaped and influenced the shows we see, will want this book. The chapters are organized chronologically, beginning with an examination of radio's influence on early television, and cover all major developments--technological, aesthetic, and to some extent cultural--in the medium. Concise sidebars cover more concise topics, such as the quiz show scandals, and the introduction of the three-camera filmed sitcom with I Love Lucy, a model that has remained the standard for over 50 years.
Call Number: General Stacks PN1992.3.U5 M623 2006ISBN: 0275981428Publication Date: 2006- Encyclopedia of television shows, 1925 through 2007 byCall Number: ebookPublication Date: 2008Covers more than 9,350 shows (including pilots)
Race in American Television: Voices and Visions That Shaped a Nation [2 Volumes] by
This two-volume encyclopedia explores representations of people of color in American television. It includes overview essays on early, classic, and contemporary television and the challenges, developments, and participation of minorities on and behind the screen. Covering five decades, this encyclopedia highlights how race has shaped television and how television has shaped society. Offering critical analysis of moments and themes throughout television history, Race in American Television shines a spotlight on key artists of color, prominent shows, and the debates that have defined television since the civil rights movement. This book also examines the ways in which television has been a site for both reproduction of stereotypes and resistance to them, providing a basis for discussion about racial issues in the United States. This set provides a significant resource for students and fans of television alike, not only educating but also empowering readers with the necessary tools to consume and watch the small screen and explore its impact on the evolution of racial and ethnic stereotypes in U.S. culture and beyond. Understanding the history of American television contributes to deeper knowledge and potentially helps us to better apprehend the plethora of diverse shows and programs on Netflix, Hulu, YouTube, and other platforms today. Offers accessible yet critical discussions of television culture Provides historic understanding of the contributions of significant artists of color to the history of American television Discusses a diversity of shows as well as debates and themes central to the history of American television
Call Number: ebookISBN: 9781440843068Publication Date: 2021
History of the Mass Media in the United States by Call Number: Reference Stacks P92.U5 H55 1998ISBN: 1579580122Publication Date: 1998- International television & video almanac.Call Number: General Stacks PN1992.1 .I55Publication Date: 1987 - 2014Ceased in 2014. This is a good source of historical television statistics.
Television Cartoon Shows by
This comprehensive reference to TV cartoon shows covers some 75 years. In the decade or so since the first edition, the industry has grown and expanded to previously unimagined heights, thanks in great part to the upsurge of cable TV services catering to animation fans. In the ten-year period since the first edition, nearly 450 new cartoon series premiered in the U.S.Alphabetically arranged by title, the book discusses each cartoon show in detail, providing full production credits and offering commentary on such elements as development, characters, style, and the show's significance in the overall scheme of television animation.
Call Number: Reference Stacks PN1992.8.A59 E74 2005ISBN: 0786420995Publication Date: 2005
Audience Ratings in a Digital Age by
In Tracking the Audience: The Ratings Industry From Analog to Digital, author Karen Buzzard examines the key economic, political, and competitive factors that have influenced ratings methods dominant in each of the markets for radio, TV, and the Internet, tracing the practice¹s history from its early beginnings up to its most recent advances.　 Beginning with the birth of the industry in 1929, Tracking the Audiencetraces the establishment of a standardized ratings "currency" as it evolved to meet the needs of the analog broadcast system, and explores the search for new gold standards necessitated by the devastating effects of the digital revolution. Buzzard examines key challenges to the established system by discussing the movement from traditional sampling methods to new, more transparent measurements. More than a history of the ratings industry itself, it also tracks the evolving business model for the broadcast industry.　 Tracking the Audience:The Ratings Industry From Analog to Digital shows how the development of conceptual tools designed to measure and package radio, TV, and Internet audiences is the result of a variety of historical factors. With a detailed examination of ratings providers, their methods, and their attempts to adjust to meet new demands a digital age, this volume explains how a standardized broadcast system of audience measurement ratings has evolved, and where it is going in the future. y.　 Tracking the Audience:The Ratings Industry From Analog to Digital shows how the development of conceptual tools designed to measure and package radio, TV, and Internet audiences is the result of a variety of historical factors. With a detailed examination of ratings providers, their methods, and their attempts to adjust to meet new demands a digital age, this volume explains how a standardized broadcast system of audience measurement ratings has evolved, and where it is going in the future.
Call Number: ebookISBN: 9780203149492Publication Date: 2012
Directories
-
White Pages Reverse phone, people and business.
-
Dickman directory. Ithaca & Tompkins County. A-Z directory, reverse look-up, look-up by street, wealth codes, etc.
-
Editor & publisher newspaper data book Listing of daily and weekly newspapers.
-
The New York Red Book Directory of who is who in New York government . Includes maps.
-
United States Government Manual The official handbook of United States government including executive, judicial and legislative information. PDFs of 1995+ are available.
-
United States House of Representatives Representatives, Committees, Legislative activity, etc.
-
United States Senate Representatives, Committees, Legislative Activity, etc.
Social media (Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, etc.) can be used for contacts.
Books by Subject
- Al Jazeera (Television Network)
- Animation
- Cable television
- Children's television programs
- Cinematographers
- Cinematography
- Comedy programs
- Communication International
- Cop shows
- Crime on television
- Detective and mystery television programs
- Documentary films
- Documentary films Authorship
- Documentary films Production and direction
- Documentary television programs
- Documentary videos
- Educational films
- Emmy Awards
- Fantasy television programs
- Feature films
- Horror television programs
- Minorities on television
- (screenwriting) Motion picture authorship
- Motion picture producers and directors
- Motion pictures--Editing
- Police Television series
- Sex on television
- Science fiction television programs
- Telecommunication
- Television advertising
- Television and children
- (screenwriting) Television authorship
- Television broadcasting
- Television broadcasting Europe
- Television comedies
- Television Production and direction
- Television programs for children
- Television serials
- Television views
- Violence on television
