TVDM 49600: Documentary Workshop

25 years worth of declassified documents now available to the public.

The Vault is our new FOIA Library, containing 6,700 documents and other media that have been scanned from paper into digital copies so you can read them in the comfort of your home or office

Declassified documents pertaining to national security obtained by FOIA requests. Contains collections such as the Torture Archive (primary sources related to the detention and interrogation of individuals by the United States).

A digital archive of the Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States from Hoover to Bush (1929 to present); see also IC Library stacks at: J80 .A283. The site also includes: inaugural addresses, radio addresses, fireside chats, debates, convention speeches, and party platforms.

AP Archive is the film and video archive of The Associated Press. View AP Archive’s videos via this channel – the collection offers 1.7 million global news and entertainment video stories, which date back to 1895.

DPLA connects people to the riches held within America’s libraries, archives, museums, and other cultural heritage institutions.

Europeana Collections provides access to over 50 million digitized items – books, music, artworks and more.

Includes the Prelinger Archives (archive.org/details/prelinger), Political TV Ad Archive, Wayback Machine (website captures), CNN Transcript Collection and a Television Archive.

Provides scope by year and access (free or pay)

The National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) is the nation's record keeper. Of all documents and materials created in the course of business conducted by the United States Federal government, only 1%-3% are so important for legal or historical reasons that they are kept by us forever.

This site is a living database with new materials added every day, featuring prints, photographs, maps, manuscripts, streaming video, and more.

Oyez (pronounced oh-yay), a free law project from Cornell’s Legal Information Institute (LII), Chicago-Kent College of Law and Justia.com, is a multimedia archive devoted to making the Supreme Court of the United States accessible to everyone.

An analysis of news and public affairs independent from traditional corporate media is available from this diverse video library. These collections offer an alternative way to view and interpret current news and public affairs. Many of these videos are available for free download.

By Paul Grabowicz, UC Berkeley.

Find census data on people, housing, the economic census on businesses, employment, education, income, etc. by city/town/county/state and the nation as a whole.

Audio of police and ambulance calls.

Find the status and history of bills in the current or prior legislature of Congress. Includes Committee Reports, Roll Call votes, Public Laws, U.S. Code, Congressional Record, etc.

Posts reports by the Congressional Research Service, a nonpartisan think tank for Congress that analyzes topics of public debate.

The U.S. Government Accountability Office (GAO) is an independent, nonpartisan agency that works for Congress. Often called the "congressional watchdog," GAO investigates how the federal government spends taxpayer dollars.

Portal to documents from the Government Publishing Office (budget, bills, hearings, Constitution, US Code, etc.). Formerly: FDsys, GPO Access

Gathers policy information state-by-state.

Find elected officials. Includes district maps.

The New York Open Government site is maintained by the Office of the Attorney General. It is a product of the aggregation of data from several New York State agencies, including data on campaign contributions and expenditures, lobbyist disclosures, government contracts, and registered charities.

Official website.

The Ithaca Journal compiled this site with New York state data that may be of interest to its readers.

Find and comment on Federal administrative regulations

The Association of Moving Image Archivists is an international nonprofit association dedicated to the preservation and use of moving image media.

Professional organization of college and university educators who study the history and creation of film, television and media. Publisher of the Statement of Best Practices in Fair Use in Teaching for Film & Media Educators

The International Documentary Association (IDA) is dedicated to building and serving the needs of a thriving documentary culture. -- website