TVDM 49600: Documentary Workshop
What is IC Library's Mission
"Our mission is to enhance teaching and learning at Ithaca College through the provision of flexible, diverse, and user-centered information services and resources." About the Library.
College libraries collect materials that support the teaching and learning at the institution. Unlike research libraries, college libraries do not have robust archives, deep collections of news (foreign, historical, local, etc.), historical almanacs, directories, and books. If materials are not in use and are not current, they often are withdrawn for space considerations. College libraries subscribe to a number of databases that support the information needs of the community. These databases provide access to scholarly journals, trade publications, newspapers and other sources that are otherwise behind paywalls. By authenticating into the databases, access is provided to a wealth of important information needed for research and study.
In contrast, research libraries will keep annual directories, print newspapers, and old books for future in depth research; this supports Ph.D. programs where researchers do deep dives into such materials. Most even send low use materials to off site storage facilities or to compact shelving areas. Their campuses often consist of a main library and multiple special libraries that focus on areas of strength on their campus. Consequently, they often have a large staff to support this system. See the page on Research Libraries and Archives for more information.
Library Tip: EVERYTHING IS DRIVEN BY THE INFORMATION NEED
Before starting your research: Consider what types of information you may need. Write down your research questions and then consider what sources may have answers. Ask a librarian if you're not certain.
My presentation topic comes from local news articles:
-
O’Connor, Kelsey. Ithaca History Center Opens Exhibit about 1900’s Spanish Flu Epidemic | The Ithacan. 11 Oct. 2012,
- Githler, Charley. “Outbreak: Ithaca And The 1918 Flu Epidemic.” Ithaca Times, 26 Jan. 2018,
The video, below, describes how the library provides access to subscription databases. If you hit a paywall, try the library.
What is the Deep Web?
Newspaper Coverage
- Nexis Uni (LexisNexis)
Contents: Full-text local, national, and international newspaper articles and legal resources.
Need search tips? See our guides for tips on Legal Searching and News Searching.
Note: The terms of use of this database place limits on the length of time that users may keep copies of material accessed from this service. Please review the terms before downloading any content.
- New York Times.com
Our campus subscription to The New York Times allows patrons to register for an individual account to NY Times online.
Note: To access our subscription for the first time, patrons will need to claim a pass. Already have a pass? Simply go to nytimes.com and log in using your account credentials. See our guide to The New York Times for more information.
- Ancestry Library Edition
Contents: Genealogical information including US and UK census data, vital records, directories, photos, and church, court, and immigration records.
Need search tips? See our Guide for more information.
- Ithaca Journal
The Ithaca Journal is Ithaca's daily newspaper. Use this link to search or browse for articles through U.S. Newsstream.
- News (Gale OneFile)
Formerly known as InfoTrac Newsstand, this database provides access to major U.S. regional, national, and local newspapers and news sources, as well as world news sources.
Contents: Newspaper articles, images, and radio and TV broadcast transcripts.
- Newspaper Source (EBSCO)
Contents: Newspaper articles from national, regional, and international newspapers and television and radio news transcripts.
- U.S. Major Dailies: Historical Newspapers (ProQuest)
Newspaper titles covered includes The New York Times, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and Wall Street Journal.
Contents: Full-text, digitized newspaper articles including full-page views, front-page headlines, classified ads, marriage and death announcements, comic strips, reviews, display advertising, editorials, birth notices, and photographs.
- U.S. Newsstream (ProQuest)
Newspapers covered includes The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Boston Globe, Newsday, and Chicago Tribune.
Contents: Full-text newspaper articles, broadcast transcripts, blogs, and news sites from the United States.
Magazine Coverage
- Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)
This multidisciplinary database contains articles from magazines and peer-reviewed journals, as well as Associated Press (AP) video content (1930s-present).
Contents: Full-text articles and video.
- ProQuest Research Library (ProQuest)
This custom link allows patrons to search across several ProQuest databases including APA PsycInfo, Healthcare Administration Database, Education database, Psychology Database, Research Library, and Social Science Database.
Contents: Full-text articles, abstracts, and ebooks.
- Academic OneFile (Gale OneFile)
This multidisciplinary database contains peer-reviewed articles, reference sources (including Gale Encyclopedia of Science and Encyclopedia of World Biography), and other sources including podcasts and transcripts from NPR and CNN, full-text from The Economist (1988-present), as well as videos from BBC Worldwide Learning.
Contents: Full-text articles, podcasts, broadcast transcripts, and videos.
- General OneFile (Gale OneFile)
This general-interest database covers a wide-range of topics.
Contents: Citations and some full-text of newspaper, magazine, and journal articles.
Images
- Artstor
Contains images from approximately 300 collections from all over the world to support study across disciplines, including anthropology, fine art, archaeology, history, and theatre.
Contents: Images.
Sound
- Sound Effects v. 1Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries
- Sound Effects v. 2Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries
- Sound Effects v. 3Smithsonian Global Sound for libraries
- Naxos Music LibrarySearch for: "sound effects"
Context and History
- CQ Researcher
This database contains reports and analysis with opposing viewpoints on current issues.
Contents: Reports including background information and chronology, assessments, pro/con statements, and bibliographies.
- Opposing Viewpoints (Gale in Context)
Contains a range of perspectives on many important social issues and current events, with pro/con viewpoints in an interdisciplinary resource. Areas of focus include science, environmental studies, politics, business, and social sciences.
Contents: Reference articles, viewpoints, infographics, news, periodical content, multimedia, and more.
- Gale Ebooks
Formerly known as Gale Virtual Reference Library, this collection contains reference materials covering business, philosophy, history, film, Jewish studies, and more.
Contents: Ebooks.
Books
- Library Search: Advanced SearchChange the "Any Field" drop-down to Title to search by title. Under "Tweak my results" in the right menu, limit to "Library Catalog" to find books and videos available in the library.
Stock Footage + Everything under the Sun by Call Number: General Stacks PN1995.9.S6964 F67 2019ISBN: 9781615932955Publication Date: 2019This is the only book that gives an overview of the use of archival footage and how it played an expanding and crucial role in documentary and TV films. Readers learn how to research images and clear the rights. Part One is an overview of archival footage, reviewing exactly what constitutes archival material and how it fits within the broader history of film and TV production. It also introduces the areas of research and legal parameters to the reader. Part Two examines the variety of styles of entertainment programming that use archival footage, including separate sections on network magazine formats, cable reality shows, webisodes, PBS documentaries, feature-length documentaries, and how documentaries can sway public opinion. Each Part offers interviews with experts who give a realistic idea of how they've used stock footage in their own work. Part Three covers Visual Literacy 101, a short course on how to "read" a film. By looking at only a few seconds of footage, one can deduce some very important facts about the film. This part makes a detective out of any researcher or editor who is determined to find the most authentic setting and context for their film. Part Four discusses how to use archival footage, writing a script that includes archival material, editing archival material, negotiating rights and budgeting constraints.
- Ebook Central (ProQuest)
Contains over 180,000 ebooks in nearly all disciplines including business, education, sciences, technology, law, and medicine.
Contents: Ebooks.
Need search tips? See our Guide for more information.
- WorldCat via FirstSearch
Contents: Bibliographic information for books, journals, and multimedia owned by libraries worldwide.
Scholarly Articles
- EBSCO Research Library
Search across all of our EBSCO subscriptions for full-text articles and abstracts in almost every discipline.
- Academic OneFile (Gale OneFile)
This multidisciplinary database contains peer-reviewed articles, reference sources (including Gale Encyclopedia of Science and Encyclopedia of World Biography), and other sources including podcasts and transcripts from NPR and CNN, full-text from The Economist (1988-present), as well as videos from BBC Worldwide Learning.
Contents: Full-text articles, podcasts, broadcast transcripts, and videos.
Biography
- Nexis Uni (LexisNexis)
Contents: Full-text local, national, and international newspaper articles and legal resources.
Need search tips? See our guides for tips on Legal Searching and News Searching.
Note: The terms of use of this database place limits on the length of time that users may keep copies of material accessed from this service. Please review the terms before downloading any content.
Directories
- Polk City DirectoryA-Z directory, reverse look-up, look-up by street, wealth codes, etc. Reference Stacks F129.24 .C57
- Editor & publisher newspaper data bookListing of daily and weekly newspapers.
- The New York Red BookDirectory of who is who in New York government . Includes maps.
- United States Government ManualThe official handbook of United States government including executive, judicial and legislative information. PDFs of 1995+ are available.
Statistics
- Statista
Subjects are geared towards business and marketing statistical needs, and include consumer goods, media, politics, sports, travel, and technology.
Contents: Statistical information, data, infographics, and tables.
- Statistical Abstract of the United States
Summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States.
Contents: Statistical tables.
