TVDM 22000: Global Information
Search Tips
USE THE THESAURUS IN DATABASES
If you search the subject GLOBALIZATION in the Thesaurus tab, you will find all spellings of the word (globalization or globalisation).
WILDCARDS AND TRUNCATORS
- globali?ation -- the ? is a wildcard and will give you globalization or globalisation in your search
- Disney* -- the * is a truncator and will give you Disney, Disneyfication or Disneyization
Truncators and wildcards differ from database to database. Click on the "Help" tab (usually in the upper right) and look for wildcards and trucators.
BROADEN YOUR SEARCH
If you are searching for articles on a station such as PBS, or a program, such as Spongebob, use the "all text" search feature.
Databases
- EBSCO Research LibrarySearch across all subject disciplines on the EBSCO platform. Includes: Communication Sources, SocIndex, and Business Source Premier (listed separately, below).
- Nexis Uni (LexisNexis)Search for international news, newswires and transcripts. Go to the Menu and select Company Dossier to find company profiles.
- Communication Source (EBSCO)
Contains content from communications journals, magazines and other publications, covering related disciplines including linguistics, rhetoric and discourse, speech-language pathology, and media studies.
Contents: Indexing, abstracts, and full-text articles. 1900-present.
- Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)
This multidisciplinary database contains articles from magazines and peer-reviewed journals, as well as Associated Press (AP) video content (1930s-present).
Contents: Full-text articles and video.
- SocINDEX with Full Text (EBSCO)
Covers a broad range of studies, including gender studies, criminal justice, social psychology, religion, racial studies, and social work.
Contents: Abstracts and full-text of scholarly journals, books, and conference papers.
- Business Source Premier (EBSCO)
Covers all areas of business.
Contents: Full-text articles, books, news industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses, working papers, and more.
- Communication Studies: a SAGE Full-Text Collection
Contains articles from communications journals covering related disciplines including journalism, public opinion, political communication, mass communication, television and media, and management.
Contents: Full-text articles from Sage journals.
- BBC Monitoring Inernational Reports (via Nexis Uni)Translates news worldwide from 1979*
- Statista
Subjects are geared towards business and marketing statistical needs, and include consumer goods, media, politics, sports, travel, and technology.
Contents: Statistical information, data, infographics, and tables.
Select Journals
- Global media and communicationGlobal Media and Communication is an international, peer-reviewed journal that provides a platform for research and debate on the continuously changing global media and communication environment.
- International communication gazetteInternational Communication Gazette is one of the world's leading communication journals publishing scholarly articles from the international community of communication scholars.
