TVDM 22000: Global Information
Keep Informed
Sign up for alerts through trade journal site or professional organizations; you can also follow them in Twitter, YouTube or Facebook. Library databases offer alerts but require you to create accounts first; library databases may offer full text holdings whereas the online journal's site may offer partial full-text to non-subscribers (this is called a paywall to help generate memeberships or subscriptions).
From the Library:
- New York Times (1980-present) (ProQuest)
Contents: Full-text NY Times articles, including New York Times Book Review (1988-present), New York Times Magazine (1997-present), New York Times Online (2015-present), and New York Times Video (2018-present). Updated daily.
- Variety (ProQuest)Oct 25, 1972 (Vol. 268, no. 11) - present
- Hollywood Reporter (Nexis Uni)May 15, 1991 - present
- Broadcasting & Cable (EBSCO)07/05/1999 to present
- Foreign AffairsReviews current events as they affect US relations worldwide, focusing on international, political, commercial and cultural relations.
- Foreign PolicyCarnegie Endowment for International Peace
- Mother JonesPresents articles dealing with national news, investigative reporting, commentary, the arts as well as articles on health, the environment and book reviews
- UTNEUtne Reader is a quarterly American magazine that collects and reprints articles on politics, culture, and the environment, generally from alternative media sources including journals, newsletters, weeklies, zines, music, and DVDs
Publisher Websites:
- Streaming MediaTrade magazine for the streaming industry
- IndieWire Since launching on July 15, 1996, IndieWire has grown into the leading news, information and networking site for independent-minded filmmakers, the industry and moviegoers alike.
News Portals
- Newspaper MapBrowse a map for world news
- Online Newspaper Directory of the WorldPortal to world news by region.
Newswires - Aggregated News
- Associated Press (YouTube) Archive VideoAP Archive is the film and video archive of The Associated Press. View AP Archive’s videos via this channel – the collection offers 1.7 million global news and entertainment video stories, which date back to 1895.
- GlobalPostPart of PRI, GlobalPost provides original international reporting rooted in integrity, accuracy, independence and powerful storytelling.
- Public Radio International (PRI)Public Radio International (PRI) is a global non-profit media company focused on the intersection of journalism and engagement to effect positive change in people’s lives.
- Global VoicesGlobal Voices is an international and multilingual community of bloggers, journalists, translators, academics, and human rights activists.
- Inter Press ServiceNews & Views from the Global South
- ReutersReuters, the news and media division of Thomson Reuters, is the world’s largest international multimedia news provider reaching more than one billion people every day.
- WorldpressFounded by Teri Schure in January 1997, Worldpress.org contains articles reprinted from the press outside the United States, as well as originally written material.
- UPIUnited Press International is a leading provider of news, photos and information to millions of readers around the globe.
Global News Outlet (a selection)
- Al Jazeera Creative Commons RepositoryThe Al Jazeera Creative Commons Repository hosts select broadcast quality media that Al Jazeera has released under various Creative Commons licenses. -website
- Al Jazeera EnglishIndependent news organization with a global audience funded in part by the Qatari Government.
- Alhurra TVAlhurra is a United States-based public Arabic-language satellite TV channel that broadcasts news and current affairs programming to audiences in the Middle East and North Africa. Alhurra is operated by the Middle East Broadcasting Networks, which also operates Radio Sawa
- AllAfricaOnline distributor of African news and information
- BBC NewsBritish Broadcasting Corporation.
- Radio Nigeria(Federal Radio Corporation of Nigeria) Largest radio network in Africa
- Nigerian Television AuthorityTV network for the people of Nigeria
- NHK World - JapanNHK WORLD-JAPAN is the international service of Japan's public broadcaster NHK. It provides the latest information on Japan and Asia through television, radio and online to a global audience.
- Radio SawaArab language network financed by the US BBG
- Maori TelevisionMāori Television is New Zealand’s indigenous broadcaster, providing a wide range of local and international programs for audiences across the country and online.
