TVDM 22000: Global Information
General Search
- Library Search: Advanced SearchChange the "Any Field" drop-down to Title to search by title. Under "Tweak my results" in the right menu, limit to "Library Catalog" to find books and videos available in the library.
- WorldCat via FirstSearchWorldCat via FirstSearch contains most the book holdings of Ithaca College Library plus books not held by other libraries. Borrow books we don't have using the Interlibrary Loan link.
Reference Sources
Blockbuster by
It's a typical summer Friday night and the smell of popcorn is in the air. Throngs of fans jam into air-conditioned multiplexes to escape for two hours in the dark, blissfully lost in Hollywood's latest glittery confection complete with megawatt celebrities, awesome special effects, and enormous marketing budgets. The world is in love with the blockbuster movie, and these cinematic behemoths have risen to dominate the film industry, breaking box office records every weekend. With the passion and wit of a true movie buff and the insight of an internationally renowned critic, Tom Shone is the first to make sense of this phenomenon by taking readers through the decades that have shaped the modern blockbuster and forever transformed the face of Hollywood. The moment the shark fin broke the water in 1975, a new monster was born. Fast, visceral, and devouring all in its path, the blockbuster had arrived. In just a few weeks "Jaws" earned more than $100 million in ticket sales, an unprecedented feat that heralded a new era in film. Soon, blockbuster auteurs such as Steven Spielberg, George Lucas, and James Cameron would revive the flagging fortunes of the studios and lure audiences back into theaters with the promise of thrills, plenty of action, and an escape from art house pretension. But somewhere along the line, the beast they awakened took on a life of its own, and by the 1990s production budgets had escalated as quickly as profits. Hollywood entered a topsy-turvy world ruled by marketing and merchandising mavens, in which flops like Godzilla made money and hits had to break records just to break even. The blockbuster changed from a major event that took place a few times ayear into something that audiences have come to expect weekly, piling into the backs of one another in an annual demolition derby that has left even Hollywood aghast. Tom Shone has interviewed all the key participants -- from
Call Number: PN1993.5.U6 S4927 2004ISBN: 0743235681Publication Date: 2004
Companion Encyclopedia of Middle Eastern and North African Film by
The Companion Encyclopedia of Middle Eastern and North African Film is a unique, one volume work which illuminates a fascinating variety of cinema which is little known outside its own area. The Encyclopedia is divided into nine chapters, each written by a leading scholar in the field. Each chapter covers the history and major issues of film within that area, as well as providing bibliographies of the leading films, directors and actors. The areas covered are: Central Asia, Egypt, Iran, Lebanon, Syria, Iraq, Kuwait, Libya, The Magreb, Palestine, Turkey. This Encyclopedia will be an invaluable reference tool for students and scholars of Film and Media Studies. It contains more than 60 black and white photographs of featured films, includes references and suggestions for further reading at the end of each chapter, and the volume concludes with comprehensive name, film and general indexes.
Call Number: Reference Stacks PN1993.5.A65 C66 2001ISBN: 0415187036Publication Date: 2001
Contemporary Youth Culture by Call Number: Reference Stacks HQ796 .C8154 2006ISBN: 0313327165Publication Date: 2005
Cultural Memory Studies: an International and Interdisciplinary Handbook by
This handbook represents the interdisciplinary and international field of cultural memory studies for the first time in one volume. Articles by renowned international scholars offer readers a unique overview of the key concepts of cultural memory studies. The handbook not only documents current research in an unprecedented way; it also serves as a forum for bringing together approaches from areas as varied as sociology, political sciences, history, theology, literary studies, media studies, philosophy, psychology, and neurosciences."
Call Number: ebookISBN: 1282196812Publication Date: 2010
Encyclopedia of Children, Adolescents, and the Media by Call Number: Reference Stacks HQ784.M3 E53 2007ISBN: 1412905303Publication Date: 2006
Encyclopedia of Hollywood by Call Number: Reference Stacks PN1993.5.U6 S494 1990ISBN: 0816017921Publication Date: 1990- Encyclopedia of international media and communications byCall Number: ebookPublication Date: 2003Explores the ways that editorial content--from journalism and scholarship to films and infomercials is developed, presented, stored, analyzed, and regulated around the world.
European Media Governance by
A multitude of factors affect how the European media industry is governed, including commercialisation, concentration, convergence and globalisation. George Terzis collection, European Media Governance, is the first volume to concentrate on analysing and explaining how European countries are slowly conceding control of the media from the government to the market, professional and public forces.This impressive volume provides a detailed examination of all aspects of media governance, including media ownership structures, government policies, citizen s organisations and union s accountability systems, for 32 European countries. European Media Governance includes recent research into technological developments and provides sources for more information in each country. In addition to this incredibly diverse scale of research and analysis, the book provides a companion website with regular updates. Terzis European Media Governance addresses all aspects of media governance in Europe, reflecting contemporary developments in both the countries analysed and their media, creating a comprehensive and reliable source."
Call Number: ebookISBN: 1281172383Publication Date: 2008
European Media Governance by
Media Governance today is shifting media rules and regulations from national government policies to local, regional, national, multinational and international ones and away from exclusively governmental domains to others, such as market, professional and public interest/pressure groups. Many media-related civil society organisations are based in Brussels, operate at a European level and influence exactly the part of Media Governance that has escaped the national shackles of the member states. But which are those organizations and who do they represent? Which are the relevant EU regulations for the different media industries that they try to influence? How do they participate in the media related debates in the different EU institutions? What are their major position papers? What is the current state of affairs in the European Media Governance relevant to their industry and what are the future issues that they are trying to tackle early enough at a European level? Finally, how are their lobbying efforts coordinated with other political, professional and public interest groups? This book presents the work of 10 of these European organizations from a variety of media sectors, as well as the relevant work of the European Commission, the European Parliament, and the European Consumers Association.
Call Number: Reference Stacks KJE6946 .E96 2008ISBN: 1281172375Publication Date: 2008
The Future of Television by
The book's journey into the future of television begins with "You Are Here," delving into "The Great Convergence" of television and Internet and the vortex of change we all inhabit now. Then, glancing back, we explore "The Old World" of broadcast television to understand how we got to this moment of transition. Next, traveling "Between Worlds," we visit cable television and see how the boundaries between network, cable, and Internet are mutating. After that, we enter "The New World" that ranges from empires like Netflix and Amazon down to Kickstarter-funded web series, and all the creative expressions that abound. Finally, we look ahead to the "Far Frontier" of interactivity and transmedia and a distant, fantastic future. All these experiences are focused on how a writer, producer, director, or entrepreneur can use the emerging possibilities to create original television now and in the coming decade.
Call Number: PN1992.5 .D68 2014ISBN: 9781615932146Publication Date: 2015
The Greenwood Encyclopedia of World Popular Culture by
Focusing on the cultural distinctiveness and diversity of the modern world, the six-volume Encyclopedia of World Popular Culture is designed to meet the needs of today's multicultural classrooms and libraries. Thematic organization makes studying a broad range of topics- from film and art to foods and fashions-ideal for students of world history and culture. Appealing to a wide range of audiences, the Encyclopedia gives readers quick access to the popular interests in countries around the world, all while offering critical insight into the influence of regional pop culture on contemporary societies over the past century. Discover popular funk musicians in Nigeria, and the Senegalese performers who use a rich mix of hip-hop, reggae, and techno to sing about village life and women's rights. Find out about Belgium's long tradition of comics and graphic novels. Learn about Iran's plans, amidst all of its problems with the West, to encourage tourism. Uncover the story behind manga magazines (or comic books), which sell upwards of several million copies every week in Japan. The wealth of information inside the Encyclopedia of World Popular Culture is sure to surprise even the most seasoned pop culture aficionado. Focusing on the cultural distinctiveness and diversity of the modern world, this six-volume reference is designed to meet the needs of today's multicultural classrooms and libraries. Thematic organization makes studying a broad range of topics-ranging from film and folk art to foods and fashions-ideal for students of American history and culture. Appealing to a wide range of audiences, the Encyclopedia gives readers quick access to the most intriguing countries of the world, all while offering critical insight into the influence of regional pop culture on contemporary societies over the past century. Each engaging volume in the six-volume set features in-depth chapters covering every crucial aspect of popular culture, including: -Architecture -Art -Dance -Fashion & Appearance -Film -Food & Foodways -Games, Toys, and Pastimes -Literature -Love, Sex, & Marriage -Music -Periodicals -Radio & Television -Sports and Recreation -Theater & Performance -Transportation & Travel Beyond reflecting the tastes and attitudes of the people, popular culture gives students a lens through which to understand a culture's customs, value system, and core beliefs. Interested in how a Danish cartoon can spark a fury of protests across Muslim world, why some high schools in the U.S. are testing all athletes for performance-enhancing drugs, or why India's recent decision to ban smoking on television and films has Bollywood fuming? No subject is off limits in this unique resource. Each volume provides an introduction to the region's popular culture in a broad context and a general bibliography. Other useful features include a comprehensive resource guide of print, electronic, and organization sources for each chapter; a full subject index; and 200 color illustrations that richly document current popular life and culture around the globe.
Call Number: Reference Stacks HM621 .G74 2007ISBN: 031333255XPublication Date: 2007
The Handbook of Diasporas, Media, and Culture by
A multidisciplinary, authoritative outline of the current intellectual landscape of the field. Over the past three decades, the term 'diaspora' has been featured in many research studies and in wider theoretical debates in areas such as communications, the humanities, social sciences, politics, and international relations. The Handbook of Diasporas, Media, and Culture explores new dimensions of human mobility and connectivity--presenting state-of-the-art research and key debates on the intersection of media, cultural, and diasporic studies This innovative and timely book helps readers to understand diasporic cultures and their impact on the globalized world. The Handbook presents contributions from internationally-recognized scholars and researchers to strengthen understanding of diasporas and diasporic cultures, diasporic media and cultural resources, and the various forms of diasporic organization, expression, production, distribution, and consumption. Divided into seven sections, this wide-ranging volume covers topics such as methodological challenges and innovations in diasporic research, the construction of diasporic identity, the politics of diasporic integration, the intersection of gender and generation with the diasporic condition, new technologies in media, and many others. A much-needed resource for anyone with interest diasporic studies, this book: Presents new and original theory, research, and essays Employs unique methodological and conceptual debates Offers contributions from a multidisciplinary team of scholars and researchers Explores new and emerging trends in the study of diasporas and media Applies a wide-ranging, international perspective to the subject Due to its international perspective, interdisciplinary approach, and wide range of authors from around the world, The Handbook of Diasporas, Media, and Culture is ideal for undergraduate and graduate students, teachers, lecturers, and researchers in areas that focus on the relationship of media and society, ethnic identity, race, class and gender, globalization and immigration, and other relevant fields.
Call Number: ebookISBN: 9781119236726Publication Date: 2019
The Handbook of Global Communication and Media Ethics by
This groundbreaking handbook provides a comprehensive picture of the ethical dimensions of communication in a global setting. Both theoretical and practical, this important volume will raise the ethical bar for both scholars and practitioners in the world of global communication and media. Selected by Choice as an Outstanding Academic Title for 2011 Brings together leading international scholars to consider ethical issues raised by globalization, the practice of journalism, popular culture, and media activities Examines important themes in communication ethics, including feminism, ideology, social responsibility, reporting, metanarratives, blasphemy, development, and "glocalism", among many others Contains case studies on reporting, censorship, responsibility, terrorism, disenfranchisement, and guilt throughout many countries and regions worldwide Contributions by Islamic scholars discuss various facets of that religion's engagement with the public sphere, and others who deal with some of the religious and cultural factors that bedevil efforts to understand our world
Call Number: ebookISBN: 9781444390605Publication Date: 2011
The Handbook of Global Media and Communication Policy by
The Handbook of Global Media and Communication Policy offersinsights into the boundaries of this field of study, assesses whyit is important, who is affected, and with what political,economic, social and cultural consequences. Provides the most up to date and comprehensive collection ofessays from top scholars in the field Includes contributions from western and eastern Europe, Northand Central America, Africa and Asia Offers new conceptual frameworks and new methodologies formapping the contours of emergent global media and communicationpolicy Draws on theory and empirical research to offer multipleperspectives on the local, national, regional and global forums inwhich policy debate occurs
Call Number: P95.8 .H365 2011ISBN: 9781405198714Publication Date: 2011
Handbook of Global Media Research by
Bringing together the perspectives of more than 40 internationallyacclaimed authors, The Handbook of Global Media Researchexplores competing methodologies in the dynamic field oftransnational media and communications, providing valuable insightinto research practice in a globalized media landscape. Provides a framework for the critical debate of comparativemedia research Posits transnational media research as reflective of advancedglobalization processes, and explores its roles andresponsibilities Articulates the key themes and competing methodologicalapproaches in a dynamic and developing field Showcases the perspectives and ideas of 30 leadinginternationally acclaimed scholars Offers a platform for the discussion of crucial issues from avariety of theoretical, methodical and practical viewpoints
Call Number: P91.3 .V635 2012ISBN: 9781405198707Publication Date: 2012
The Handbook of Global Online Journalism by
The Handbook to Global Online Journalism features a collection of readings from international practitioners and scholars that represent a comprehensive and state-of-the-art overview of the relationship between the internet and journalism around the world. Provides a state-of-the-art overview of current research and future directions of online journalism Traces the evolution of journalistic practices, business models, and shifting patterns of journalistic cultures that have emerged around the world with the migration of news online Written and edited by top international researchers and practitioners in the area of online journalism Features an extensive breadth of coverage, including economics, organizational practices, contents and experiences Discusses developments in online news in a wide range of countries, from the USA to Brazil, and from Germany to China Contains original theory, new research data, and reviews of existing studies in the field
Call Number: ebookISBN: 9781118313954Publication Date: 2012
Handbook of Media Audiences by
This handbook offers a comprehensive overview of the complexity anddiversity of audience studies in the advent of digital media. Details the study of audiences and how it is changing inrelation to digital media Recognizes and appreciates valuable traditional approaches andidentifies how they can be applied to, and evolve with, thechanging media world Offers diverse perspectives from which being an audience,theorizing audiences, researching audiences, and doing audienceresearch are approached today Argues that the field works best by identifying particular'audience problems' and applying the best theories and researchmethods available to solving them Includes contributions from some of the most outstandinginternational scholars in the field
Call Number: P96.A83 H35 2011ISBN: 9781405184182Publication Date: 2011
Hollywood Blockbusters
Certain Hollywood movies are now so deeply woven into the cultural fabric that lines of their dialogue - for example, 'Make him an offer he can't refuse' - have been incorporated into everyday discourse. The films explored in this book, which include The Godfather, Jaws, The Big Lebowski, Field of Dreams and The Village, have become important cultural myths, fascinating windows into the schisms, tensions, and problems of American culture. Hollywood Blockbusters: The Anthropology of Popular Movies uses anthropology to understand why these movies have such enduring appeal in this age of fragmented audiences and ever-faster spin cycles. Exploring key anthropological issues from ritual, kinship, gift giving and totemism to literacy, stereotypes, boundaries and warfare, this fascinating book uncovers new insights into the significance of modern film classics for students of Film, Media, Anthropology and American Cultural Studies.
Call Number: ebookISBN: 1282387472Publication Date: 2010
The International Encyclopedia of Media Literacy by
The definitive international reference on a topic of major and enduring importance Dynamic, multidisciplinary, and global in scope, media literacy is one of today's fastest growing fields of applied communications. Media literacy encompasses a truly vast range of issues, including participatory culture, digital learning, civic engagement, the impact of media on children, the sociocultural and political dimensions of literacy education, the role of media in shaping social identity, activism, digital teaching and learning, the role of media in shaping health behavior, the impact of news on society, and adolescent development, to name just a few. The first of its kind in ambition and scope, The International Encyclopedia of Media Literacy provides global coverage of this dynamic and swiftly moving topic. As wide ranging and inclusive as the subject it treats, this two-volume encyclopedia offers a perspective on the past, present and future of media literacy around the world. Defines the vocabulary and key concepts that engendered the field and have shaped its trajectory over the past half-century Co-edited by the foremost names in Media Literacy and features contributions from leading international scholars and practitioners in the field Organized around the major subject areas of media literacy history and theoretical foundations; community, democracy, and policy; identity and health; the news; media effects, children, family, and youth; literacy, technology, and education; digital media and learning Part of The Wiley Blackwell-ICA International Encyclopedias of Communication series, published in conjunction with the International Communication Association. Online version available at www.wileyicaencyclopedia.com The International Encyclopedia of Media Literacy is an indispensable reference for students, teachers, scholars and practitioners of media literacy from a wide range of backgrounds and life experiences. It will also be of value to people in a wide array of professions and academic disciplines, including sociology, media studies, cultural studies, journalism, social media, educational and developmental psychology, and more.
Call Number: Reference Stacks P96.M4 I58 2019ISBN: 9781118978245Publication Date: 2019
The International Film Business by
The International Film Business examines the independent film sector as a business, and addresses the specific skills and knowledge it demands. It describes both the present state of the industry, the significant digital and social media developments that are continuing to take place, and what changes these might effect. The International Film Business: describes and analyses the present structure of the film industry as a business, with a specific focus on the film value chain discusses and analyses current digital technology and how it potentially may change the structure and opportunities offered by the industry in the future provides information and advice on the different business and management skills and strategies includes case studies on a variety of films including The Guard (2011), The King's Speech (2010), The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel (2012), Cloverfield (2008), Pobby & Dingan (aka Opal Dream, 2005), Confessions of a Dangerous Mind (2002), The Reckoning (2002)and The Mother (2003), and company case studies on Pixar, Renaissance, Redbus and Zentropa. Further case studies on films that failed to go into production include Neil LaBute's Vapor and Terry Gilliam's Good Omens. Taking an entrepreneurial perspective on what future opportunities will be available to prepared and informed students and emerging practitioners, this text includes case studies that take students through the successes and failures of a variety of real film companies and projects and features exclusive interviews with leading practitioners in all sectors of the industry, from production to exhibition.
Call Number: ebookISBN: 9781136295034Publication Date: 2014- International motion picture almanac.Call Number: PN1993.3 .I55Publication Date: 1964-2014Ceased in 2014 but can be used for historical statistics.
- International television & video almanac.Call Number: PN1992.1 .I55Publication Date: 1987-2014Ceased in 2014 but can be used for historical statistics.
Movie Blockbusters by
Big-budget, spectacular films designed to appeal to a mass audience: is this what - or all - blockbusters are? Movie Blockbusters brings together writings from key film scholars, including Douglas Gomery, Peter Kramer, Jon Lewis and Steve Neale, to address the work of notable blockbuster auteurs such as Steven Spielberg and James Cameron, discuss key movies such as Star Wars and Titanic, and consider the context in which blockbusters are produced and consumed, including what the rise of the blockbuster says about the Hollywood film industry, how blockbusters are marketed and exhibited, and who goes to see them. The book also considers the movie scene outside Hollywood, discussing blockbusters made in Bollywood, China, South Korea, New Zealand and Argentina
Call Number: PN1993.5.A1 M68 2003ISBN: 0415256097Publication Date: 2003
The New Historical Dictionary of the American Film Industry by
From author Anthony Slide, Hollywood's most celebrated and prolific scholar, cames a wonderfully comprehensive dictionary of American producing and releasing companies, technical innovations, industry terms, studios, genres, and organizations.
Call Number: Reference Stacks PN1993.5.U6 S539 2001ISBN: 9781578860159Publication Date: 2001
The No-Nonsense Guide to Global Media by
This new addition to the brilliant No-Nonsense series explores the diversity of world media, from the corporate to the independent, and introduces readers to the political economy of the major media: film, television, radio, recording, publishing and the internet. While examining the dominant media, Peter Steven emphasises the diversity of local media production and media audiences around the world. He encourages the reader to question how the media reflects society: as passive recipients or as part of the construction of the media world.
Call Number: P96.I5 S748 2010ISBN: 9781906523404Publication Date: 2010
The Routledge International Handbook of Children, Adolescents and Media by
The roles that media play in the lives of children and adolescents, as well as their potential implications for their cognitive, emotional, social and behavioral development, have attracted growing research attention in a variety of disciplines. The Routledge International Handbook of Children, Adolescents and Media analyses a broad range of complementary areas of study, including children as media consumers, children as active participants in media making, and representations of children in the media. The handbook presents a collection that spans a variety of disciplines including developmental psychology, media studies, public health, education, feminist studies and the sociology of childhood. Essays¿provide a unique intellectual mapping of current knowledge, exploring the relationship of children and media in local, national, and global contexts. Divided into five parts, each with an introduction¿explaining the themes and topics covered, the handbook features 57 new contributions from 71 leading academics from 38 countries. Chapters consider vital questions by analyzing texts, audience, and institutions, including: the role of policy and parenting in regulating media for children the relationships between children¿s¿ on-line and off-line social networks children¿s strategies of resistance to persuasive messages in advertising media and the construction of gender and ethnic identities The Handbook¿s interdisciplinary approach and comprehensive, international scope make it an authoritative, state of the art guide to the nascent field of Children¿s Media Studies. It will be indispensable for media scholars and professionals, policy makers, educators, and parents.
Call Number: ebookISBN: 9781138849136Publication Date: 2015
Comparative Media Policy, Regulation and Governance in Europe by
This book offers a comprehensive overview of the current European media in a period of disruptive transformation. It maps the full scope of contemporary media policy and industry activities while also assessing the impact of new technologies and radical changes in distribution and consumption on media practices, organizations, and strategies. Combining a critical assessment of media systems with a thematic approach, it can serve as a resource for scholars or as a textbook, as well as a source of good practices for steering media policy, international communication, and the media landscape across Europe.
Call Number: ebookISBN: 1783208864Publication Date: 2018
Browse Books by Subject
- Al Jazeera English
- Apple Computer, Inc.
- Blockbusters (Motion Pictures)
- Broadcasting--Europe
- Communication, International
- Communication and culture
- Computers and civilization
- Cyberspace Social aspects
- Culture and globalization
- Culture and globalization--Asia
- Digital audio broadcasting--Europe.
- Digital divide
- Disney, Walt, 1901-1966
- Walt Disney Company.
- Documentary films
- Feature films
- Globalization
- Google (Firm)
- Information society
- Information society Europe
- Intercultural communication
- Internet--Social Aspects--China
- Internet Europe
- Internet Social aspects
- Mass media--Europe.
- Mass media and children
- Mass media and culture
- Mass media and culture -- Asia
- Mass media and globalization.
- Mass media and nationalism
- Mass media Audiences
- Mass Media Ownership
- Mass media Social aspects
- Mass media policy European Union countries.
- Mass media Political aspects
- Mobile communication systems
- Mobile computing
- Motion pictures--Africa.
- Motion pictures--India. (Bollywood)
- Motion pictures--Nigeria (Nollywood)
- Murdoch, Rupert, 1931-
- Popular culture
- Poplular culture -- Asia
- Radio broadcasting--Europe.
- Radio Free Europe
- Reality television programs.
- Television and children
- Television and culture
- Television broadcasting--Europe.
- Television broadcasting policy--Europe.
- Television programs for children
- Transborder data flow
- Visual Communication
- Walt Disney Company
- Wireless Internet
