Advertising & Marketing Communications
Websites
- Alcohol and Tobacco Tax and Trade Bureau, U.S. Dept. of the Treasury.Includes links to relevant CFR regulations (generally found in 27 CFR).
- All Advertising Programs (BBB National Programs)Promoting responsible advertising through self-regulation, monitoring, and dispute resolution. Includes: NAD FastTrack; National Advertising Review Board; Coalition for Better Advertising Dispute Resolution Program; National Advertising Division; Children's Advertising Review Unit; Children's Food & Beverage Advertising Initiative; Children's Confection Advertising Initiative; Direct Selling Self-Regulatory Council; Digital Advertising Accountability Program.
- American National Standards Institute (ANSI)United States institute that creates and promulgates guidelines for businesses in a variety of sectors.
- The Children's Advertising Review Unit (CARU)The Children’s Advertising Review Unit (CARU), an investigative unit of the advertising industry’s system of self-regulation, has essentially two missions: (1) to protect children from deceptive or inappropriate advertising in all media, and; (2) to ensure that, in an online environment, children’s data is collected and handled in a responsible manner. CARU works with companies to ensure their advertising and data collection practices comply with all relevant laws and CARU’s self-regulatory guidelines, which take into account the uniquely impressionable and vulnerable child audience
- Code of Responsible Practices for Beverage Alcohol Advertising and MarketingGuidelines for alcohol advertising on the Distilled Spirits Council of the United States (DISCUS).
- Council for Research Excellence (CRE)Examines the knowledge and practice of audience research method for advertisers, agencies, and other media professionals. The Council includes Nielsen Media Research and its clients. Documentation is available under the Committees tab.
- Drug Marketing, Advertising, and CommunicationsFood and Drug Administration portal to information.
- European Advertising Standards Alliance (EASA)EASA is the coordinating body for advertising self-regulatory organisations within Europe, and seeks to promote responsible advertising. It does this by providing guidance to its members on how to go about advertising self-regulation for the benefit of both businesses and consumers.
- Federal Trade Commission : RulesLinks to 16 CFR from the Federal Trade Commission. Includes advertising and labeling regulations.
- IDEAllianceThe International Digital Enterprise Alliance is a non-profit organization that creates standards and best practices for the delivery of multimedia content.
- International Organization for Standardization (ISO)International developer and publisher of international standards.
- Media Rating Council (MRC)Organization that audits and accredits media ratings companies.
- National Advertising Division (NAD)The National Advertising Division monitors national advertising in all media, enforcing high standards of truth and accuracy. NAD examines advertising claims made for goods and services as diverse and critical as telecommunications, infant nutrition, over-the-counter medication and dietary supplements and on a wide variety of issues including clinically proven or efficacy claims, environmental, “green” or natural claims, product demonstrations, the use of endorsements or influencer marketing (including their disclosures), consumer reviews or sponsored content. NAD accepts complaints from consumers, competing advertisers and local Better Business Bureaus. NAD’s decisions represent the single largest body of advertising decisions in the United States.
- National Advertising Review Board (NARB)NARB is the appellate body for the advertising industry’s program of self-regulation. When an advertiser which is a party to an NAD proceeding is not willing to comply with an NAD recommendation, it may appeal (and, in the case of the challenger at NAD, petition for a right to appeal) the decision to a five-member NARB panel for an independent review.
- Self-Regulation in the Alcohol IndustryFrom the FTC.gov: Self-regulation in the Alcohol Industry: Report of the Federal Trade Commission. June 2008.
- Self-Regulatory Program for Online Behavioral AdvertisingThis comprehensive Self-Regulatory Program for Online Behavioral Advertising will help protect consumers’ privacy rights and expectations in ad-supported online media. Apr. 07, 2014.
Book
Advertising and Public Relations Law by Call Number: ebookISBN: 9780203845875Publication Date: 2010Addressing a critical need, Advertising and Public Relations Lawexplores the issues and ideas that affect the regulation of advertising and public relations speech. Coverage includes the categorization of different kinds of speech afforded varying levels of First Amendment protection; court-created tests for laws and regulations of speech; and non content-based restrictions on speech and expression. Features of this second edition include: overviews and synopses for each chapter extended excerpts from major court decisions appendices providing a chart of the judicial system, a summary of the judicial process, an overview of alternative dispute resolution mechanisms, and the professional codes for media industry and business associations online materials for instructors. The volume is intended for upper-level undergraduate and graduate students in media, advertising and public relations law or regulation courses. It also serves as an essential reference for advertising and public relations practitioners.
Government Documents: Federal
- GovInfoPortal to documents from the Government Publishing Office (budget, bills, hearings, Constitution, US Code, etc.). Formerly: FDsys, GPO Access
- Congress.govFind the status and history of bills in the current or prior legislature of Congress. Includes Committee Reports, Roll Call votes, Public Laws, U.S. Code, Congressional Record, etc.
- Regulations.govFind and comment on Federal administrative regulations
Government Documents: State
- National Conference of State Legislatures (NCSL)Gathers policy information state-by-state.
- New York StateOfficial website.
- New York Codes, Rules and Regulations (NYCRR)An unofficial compilation of NY State agency administrative rules and regulations.
