Be Vote Ready
Government Documents
FEC: Making Electioneering Communications
"An electioneering communication is any broadcast, cable or satellite communication that refers to a clearly identified federal candidate, is publicly distributed within 30 days of a primary or 60 days of a general election and is targeted to the relevant electorate."
- GovInfoPortal to documents from the Government Publishing Office (budget, bills, hearings, Constitution, US Code, etc.). Formerly: FDsys, GPO Access
- Compilation of Presidential DocumentsThe Compilation of Presidential Documents collection consists of the Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents and the Daily Compilation of Presidential Documents which are the official publications of materials released by the White House Press Secretary. The Compilation of Presidential Documents is published by the Office of the Federal Register (OFR), National Archives and Records Administration (NARA).
- USA.govSearches across all federal, state and local government websites. Use it to identify regulatory agencies or research specific industry regulations.
- Congress.govFind the status and history of bills in the current or prior legislature of Congress. Includes Committee Reports, Roll Call votes, Public Laws, U.S. Code, Congressional Record, etc.
If I need the floor debate of Congressional Representatives I go to:
- Congressional Record (from GovInfo) The official record of debates on the floor
- C-SPAN. Unofficial service from US Cable companies provides video of the floor debates and other events
- Congressional HearingsMost Congressional hearings are published two months to two years after they are held. Only hearings released to GPO from the committees are made available on GovInfo. Coverage from 1985 - present.
- US Code from the House of Representatives.Searchable version of the U.S. code either by keyword, boolean or by title and section.
- Federal RegisterPublished by the Office of the Federal Register, National Archives and Records Administration (NARA), the Federal Register is the official daily publication for rules, proposed rules, and notices of Federal agencies and organizations, as well as executive orders and other presidential documents
- Federal Election Commission (FEC)The FEC was created to promote confidence and participation in the democratic process. The site includes campaign finance data, candidate compliance guides, legal resources, etc.
- New York State Legislature: Bills and LawsSearch bill text, status, summaries, sponsor memos, and floor vote. Links to search for NYS Legislative Bills, NYS Legislative Resolutions, and the Laws of New York (see also: Nexis Uni for Federal & State Codes - NY Consolidated Law Service).
- New York. Board of ElectionsFind elected officials. Includes district maps.
- eCode360 LibraryOnline municipal codes from General Code. Click on the New York map. Includes the City of thaca, the Town of Ithaca, and Tompkins County.
- National Conference of State Legislatures (NCSL)Gathers policy information state-by-state.
