Porter's Five Forces
Buying Power
- Bargaining leverage
- Buyer volume
- Buyer information
- Brand identity
- Price sensitivity
- Threat of backward integration
- Product differentiation
- Buyer concentration-vs-industry
- Substitutes availability
- Buyer incentives
- Consumer Price Index (CPI) from the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statisticsis a measure of the average change over time in the prices paid by urban consumers for a market basket of consumer goods and services. Indexes are available for the U.S. and various geographic areas. Average price data for select utility, automotive fuel, and food items are also available.
- Conference BoardProvides a rich array of actionable, authoritative economic data on the business cycle, labor demand and trends, and several barometers of consumer and business confidence, including the widely quoted Consumer Confidence Index and the Leading Economic Indicators. Limited data.
- Consumer Expenditure Survey from BLS (Bureau of Labor Statistics)Provides data on expenditures, income, and demographic characteristics of consumers in the United States.
- Simmons OneViewDemographic and psychographic data about American consumers 18+. Covers the products/services/media they use and consume.
- PEW Research CenterPew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping the world. They conduct public opinion polling, demographic research, content analysis and other data-driven social science research. They do not take policy positions.
- Statista
Subjects are geared towards business and marketing statistical needs, and include consumer goods, media, politics, sports, travel, and technology.
Contents: Statistical information, data, infographics, and tables.
Database searches searching by company name or product/service combined with words like; consumer, customer, distribution channel. Also search by company name and the keywords/subjects: brand loyalty, brand choice, consumer attitudes, etc.
- Business Source Premier (EBSCO)
Covers all areas of business.
Contents: Full-text articles, books, news industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses, working papers, and more.
- Business Insights (Gale) (Formerly known as Business Insights: Essentials)
Contains detailed company and industry news and information including company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, market research reports, SWOT reports, company histories, and more.
Contents: Company and industry information, articles, and statistical data.
- ABI/INFORM Collection (ProQuest)
This collection, comprised of ABI/INFORM Global, Trade & Industry, and Dateline, contains resources covering accounting, marketing, sports and business, and economics.
Contents: Full-text articles, dissertations, working papers, periodicals, country- and industry-focused reports, case studies, and market information.
- Nexis Uni (LexisNexis)Information and news on companies/industries including newspapers, business press releases, trade publications, patents, trademarks and legal proceedings.
