P.E.S.T.E.L/P.E.S.T.L.E. Analysis of a Company, Industry or Product
Templates & Explanation
- Wikipedia Definition of PEST(EL) AnalysisPEST analysis (political, economic, socio-cultural and technological) describes a framework of macro-environmental factors used in the environmental scanning component of strategic management. It is part of an external analysis when conducting a strategic analysis or doing market research, and gives an overview of the different macro-environmental factors to be taken into consideration. It is a strategic tool for understanding market growth or decline, business position, potential and direction for operations.
- How to Create a PESTLE Analysis TemplateThe PESTLE analysis is the analysis of the environment as a whole in which a business operates or tends to offer its trade. These are systematic factors that are beyond ones control and businesses need to chart out strategies keeping the results in view to peacefully coexist and keep on gaining revenues despite the concurrent situation.
These are databases which will help you find articles.
- ABI/INFORM Collection (ProQuest)
This collection, comprised of ABI/INFORM Global, Trade & Industry, and Dateline, contains resources covering accounting, marketing, sports and business, and economics.
Contents: Full-text articles, dissertations, working papers, periodicals, country- and industry-focused reports, case studies, and market information.
- Business Source Premier (EBSCO)
Covers all areas of business.
Contents: Full-text articles, books, news industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses, working papers, and more.
- Business Insights (Gale) (Formerly known as Business Insights: Essentials)
Contains detailed company and industry news and information including company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, market research reports, SWOT reports, company histories, and more.
Contents: Company and industry information, articles, and statistical data.
- ScienceDirectUseful for scholarly articles in all fields of business and economics even though Science is in the title of the database.
- Nexis Uni (LexisNexis)
Contents: Full-text local, national, and international newspaper articles and legal resources.
Need search tips? See our guides for tips on Legal Searching and News Searching.
Note: The terms of use of this database place limits on the length of time that users may keep copies of material accessed from this service. Please review the terms before downloading any content.
- U.S. Newsstream (ProQuest)
Newspapers covered includes The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Boston Globe, Newsday, and Chicago Tribune.
Contents: Full-text newspaper articles, broadcast transcripts, blogs, and news sites from the United States.
- Newspaper Source (EBSCO)
Contents: Newspaper articles from national, regional, and international newspapers and television and radio news transcripts.
- Wall Street Journal (1984-present) (ProQuest)
Contents: Full-text articles from The Wall Street Journal, including The Wall Street Journal Online (2010-present), and WSJ: the Magazine from The Wall Street Journal (Jun 2011-Apr 2013).
- New York Times (1980-present) (ProQuest)
Contents: Full-text NY Times articles, including New York Times Book Review (1988-present), New York Times Magazine (1997-present), New York Times Online (2015-present), and New York Times Video (2018-present). Updated daily.
- New York Times.com
Our campus subscription to The New York Times allows patrons to register for an individual account to NY Times online.
Note: To access our subscription for the first time, patrons will need to claim a pass. Already have a pass? Simply go to nytimes.com and log in using your account credentials. See our guide to The New York Times for more information.
- Wiley Online Library
Search across over 1,300 journals for full-text articles from Wiley.
Statistics
- Statista
Subjects are geared towards business and marketing statistical needs, and include consumer goods, media, politics, sports, travel, and technology.
Contents: Statistical information, data, infographics, and tables.
- Statistical Abstract of the United States
Summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States.
Contents: Statistical tables.
- NetAdvantage (S&P)This database contains financial information for US and global companies including prices, SEC and Canadian SEDAR filings, industry reports, news, etc. There is analysis of 40 domestic industries (2x-yearly) and 12 international industries (1 x-yearly) with each industry given a Porter's Five Forces Analysis. Go to Research, Report Type>Industry Overview, Date Range>Last 12 months, Click on the Industry you want, choose Industry Overview (.pdf image) on the right to open. Choose CFRA Equity Research as the contributor. You can then print or download. Each industry covered will be given a Porter's Five Forces Analysis. This database also contains information on publicly traded companies including financial, analysis and S.E.C. documents. You may also research companies and get S&P Analysis by typing in Name of company/ticker in search box, then going down left column>Research>Investment Research. You will then get a report on that company by clicking on the .pdf.
- NetAdvantage (YouTube)How to access the Industry Reports in NetAdvantage.
- Statista-Publication FinderSearches for reports by companies and NGO's on a wide variety of topics. Useful for finding reports not included in Statista
