STCM 30900: Media Planning
Keep Informed
Sign up for alerts through trade journal site or professional organizations; you can also follow them in Twitter, LinkedIn or Facebook. Library databases offer alerts but require you to create accounts first; library databases may offer full text holdings whereas the online journal's site may offer partial full-text to non-subscribers (this is called a paywall to help generate memberships or subscriptions).
From the Library:
Advertising Age Try ABI Inform. There is sometimes a lag; this has been reported. If the current issue is not there, submit an ILL request by selecting the Articles radio button. You can check with Cathy first!
Adweek In ProQuest Central Essentials from 2003+ (PDF fulltext)
Publisher Websites:
Advertising Age: Sign up for their daily wake-up call
Adweek: Sign up for newsletters
Learn how to set up alerts by watching this video.
Best Bets: Databases
- EBSCO Research Library
Search across all of our EBSCO subscriptions for full-text articles and abstracts in almost every discipline.
Sample Searches:
When you search a database by subject, you retrieve every article in the database that contains that term in the subject field. You'll need to narrow your search by adding other key terms or limiting your search by title, date, an added subject, etc. in the left menu.
- Communication Source (EBSCO)
Contains content from communications journals, magazines and other publications, covering related disciplines including linguistics, rhetoric and discourse, speech-language pathology, and media studies.
Contents: Indexing, abstracts, and full-text articles. 1900-present.
- Business Source Premier (EBSCO)
Covers all areas of business.
Contents: Full-text articles, books, news industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses, working papers, and more.
- ABI/INFORM Collection (ProQuest)
This collection, comprised of ABI/INFORM Global, Trade & Industry, and Dateline, contains resources covering accounting, marketing, sports and business, and economics.
Contents: Full-text articles, dissertations, working papers, periodicals, country- and industry-focused reports, case studies, and market information.
- Nexis Uni (LexisNexis)
Contents: Full-text local, national, and international newspaper articles and legal resources.
Need search tips? See our guides for tips on Legal Searching and News Searching.
Note: The terms of use of this database place limits on the length of time that users may keep copies of material accessed from this service. Please review the terms before downloading any content.
- Statista
Subjects are geared towards business and marketing statistical needs, and include consumer goods, media, politics, sports, travel, and technology.
Contents: Statistical information, data, infographics, and tables.
- Business Insights (Gale) (Formerly known as Business Insights: Essentials)
Contains detailed company and industry news and information including company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, market research reports, SWOT reports, company histories, and more.
Contents: Company and industry information, articles, and statistical data.
- ScienceDirect
Subjects covered include biology, chemistry, computer science, economics, environmental science, mathematics, medicine, neuroscience, nursing, physics, education, and psychology.
Contents: Abstracts and full-text articles from scientific, technological, and medical scholarly journals and reference books published by Elsevier.
Journals
Search all the library's journals by title or ISSN.
Journals: a STCM selection
- Advertising Age - publisher's website AdAge
- Communication Theory
- Communication World
- Communication Yearbook
- Harvard business review
- International Journal of Strategic Communication
- Journal of Advertising Education
- Journal of Communication
- Journal of Marketing Communications
- Journal of Public Relations Research
- PRweek (U.S. ed.)
- Public Relations Quarterly
- Public Relations Review
- Social Marketing Quarterly
- Strategic Communication Management
- Visual Communication Quarterly
