STCM 30900: Media Planning
Client: Tesla (Fall 2019)
- Search your client's website: Tesla
Tesla’s Annual Report (10K) https://ir.tesla.com/sec-filings/sec-filing/10-k/0001564590-19-003165 .Note: Find advertising spend under Operating Expense; it is called SG&A (Sales General & Administrative Expense). This line can be found in the 10K (annual) or the 10Q (quarterly). Business students have access to a ratio as to what part of the overall budget the SG&A should be.
Tesla Dealerships https://www.tesla.com/findus/list
Communication to Investors: https://ir.tesla.com/press-releases - Find the industry code: NAICS (North American Industrial Classification System) Automobile Manufacturing (336111)
Uses a 6 digit numbering system to classify industries that either make a product or offer a service (such as banks) in North America. You can search the database by code or by text describing the industry. These codes can be used to generate a list of companies in an industry and to compare them using other directories found both print or online. You may find the codes and an explanation of them here: http://www.census.gov/eos/www/naics/ You can also discover the NAICS code through Buniness Insights and the Company Dossier, below. - Company Profile and History. Search Business Insights: Essentials Tesla and Nexis Uni (replaces LexisNexis) (Business module > Company Dossier) for company profiles.
- Coverage in trade magazines, newspapers, business wires, and reports.
Search Business Source Premier (Original Interface) (EBSCO) Company = Tesla and IC NAICS = 336111 ABI/INFORM Collection (ProQuest) org(tesla) and NAICS(336111) - Coverage in the S&P Industry survey Use the database NetAdvantage
- Information from supporting trade associations.
Print Reference: Encyclopedia of Business Information Sources
REF DESK HF5353 .E52 Use it to identify directories, yearbooks, periodicals and newsletters, and trade associations for your industry. Industry organizations are a good additional source of information. Some information may be available for members only. ex. Association: Electric Auto Association - Look for additional reports in Statista , a database that aggregates statistical information from market research, government data, etc. Tesla
- Ward’s automotive yearbook. (1938). Detroit: Ward’s Communications.
- Use Simmons OneView to find more demographic information of those you plan to target (find information, for example, preferences of female health food eaters in a particular age range). You can also find which media that demographic is most likely to use as well as psychographics of your target group.
- Use SRDS Media Solutions for ad placement by DMA, media contact information, and some pricing.
- 2016 Ward's Automotive Yearbook p 158-59Electric Vehicles. Click View > Clockwise.
Behind the Research Help Desk in the Library.
Ref HD 9710 .U5 W26 2016
Client: Sonic Drive-in (Fall 2018)
- Search your client's website: ex. Sonic Drive In
- Find the industry code: NAICS (North American Industrial Classification System)
Uses a 6 digit numbering system to classify industries that either make a product or offer a service (such as banks) in North America. You can search the database by code or by text describing the industry. These codes can be used to generate a list of companies in an industry and to compare them using other directories found both print or online. You may find the codes and an explanation of them here: http://www.census.gov/eos/www/naics/ How to find a NAICS code Learn how to search the NAICS code (video, Jim Bondra) Limited Service Restaurants: 722513 - Company Profile and History. Search Business Insights: Essentials and Nexis Uni (replaces LexisNexis) (Upper left Menu > Company Dossier) for company profiles. Is there a parent company (look at the hierarchy)? Is there a company history? After finding the company profile in Nexis Uni, do a second search for news.
- Coverage in magazines, newspapers, business wires, and reports.
Search Business Source Premier (Original Interface) (EBSCO) and ABI/INFORM Collection (ProQuest) for:
a) by your company's name or ticker (ex. SONC)
b) by the NAICS industry code (ex. 722513) - Coverage in the S&P Industry survey (print resource, library Reference)
Standard & Poor's Industry Surveys REF HC106.6 S74 Here is a sample page from the Industry Survey for Foods & Nonalcoholic Beverages (p.25). The report is dated June 2014. - Information from supporting trade associations.
Print Reference: Encyclopedia of Business Information Sources
REF DESK HF5353 .E52 Use it to identify directories, yearbooks, periodicals and newsletters, and trade associations for your industry.
Industry organizations are a good additional source of information. Some information may be available for members only. Associations include:
National Restaurant Association - Look for additional reports in Statista , a database that aggregates statistical information from market research, government data, etc.
- Use Simmons OneView to find more demographic information of those you plan to target (find information, for example, preferences of female health food eaters in a particular age range). You can also find which media that demographic is most likely to use.
- Use SRDS Media Solutions for ad placement by DMA, media contact information, and some pricing.
Client: FIJI Water (Spring 2018)
- Search your client's website: FIJI Water Parent: The Wonderful Company
- Find the industry code: NAICS (North American Industrial Classification System)
Uses a 6 digit numbering system to classify industries that either make a product or offer a service (such as banks) in North America. You can search the database by code or by text describing the industry. These codes can be used to generate a list of companies in an industry and to compare them using other directories found both print or online. You may find the codes and an explanation of them here: http://www.census.gov/eos/www/naics/ Soft Drink Manufacturing 312112 You can also discover the NAICS code through Buniness Insights and the Company Dossier, below. - Company Profile and History. Search Business Insights: Essentials FIJI Water Company, L.L.C. and Nexis Uni (replaces LexisNexis) (Business module > Company Dossier) for company profiles.
- Coverage in trade magazines, newspapers, business wires, and reports.
Search Business Source Premier (Original Interface) (EBSCO) Company = FIJI water and IC NAICS = 312112 -- limit to the subject: bottled water ABI/INFORM Collection (ProQuest) org(fiji water) and NAICS(312112) - Coverage in the S&P Industry survey (print resource, library Reference)
Standard & Poor's Industry Surveys REF HC106.6 S74 - Information from supporting trade associations.
Print Reference: Encyclopedia of Business Information Sources
REF DESK HF5353 .E52 Use it to identify directories, yearbooks, periodicals and newsletters, and trade associations for your industry. Industry organizations are a good additional source of information. Some information may be available for members only. ex. International Bottled Water Association - Look for additional reports in Statista , a database that aggregates statistical information from market research, government data, etc. FIJI Water
- Use Simmons OneView to find more demographic information of those you plan to target (find information, for example, preferences of female health food eaters in a particular age range). You can also find which media that demographic is most likely to use as well as psychographics of your target group.
- Use SRDS Media Solutions for ad placement by DMA, media contact information, and some pricing.
