STCM 28800: Research & Statistics for Strategic Communication
Company, Industry, & Brand Analysis information
Trade and industry news, competitors, some industry reports such SWOT
- Business Insights (Gale) (Formerly known as Business Insights: Essentials)
Contains detailed company and industry news and information including company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, market research reports, SWOT reports, company histories, and more.
Contents: Company and industry information, articles, and statistical data.
- Nexis Uni (LexisNexis)
Contents: Full-text local, national, and international newspaper articles and legal resources.
Need search tips? See our guides for tips on Legal Searching and News Searching.
Note: The terms of use of this database place limits on the length of time that users may keep copies of material accessed from this service. Please review the terms before downloading any content.
- Business Source Premier (EBSCO)(BSP) Top index to business information. Trade and scholarly. EBSCO interface.
- ABI/INFORM Collection (ProQuest)
This collection, comprised of ABI/INFORM Global, Trade & Industry, and Dateline, contains resources covering accounting, marketing, sports and business, and economics.
Contents: Full-text articles, dissertations, working papers, periodicals, country- and industry-focused reports, case studies, and market information.
- NetAdvantage (S&P)
From Standard & Poor's, this database contains financial information for US and global companies, including current and past stock prices, annual reports, SEC and Canadian SEDAR filings, industry surveys, and other information for business research and analysis.
Note: For an overview of the database, please see our video.
- Yahoo FinanceSearch for news, symbols or companies.
- Seeking AlphaCorporate Earnings call transcripts. These are the transcripts from quarterly and yearly earnings announcements which are done by corporate officers to various financial analysts.
Statistics
- Statista
Subjects are geared towards business and marketing statistical needs, and include consumer goods, media, politics, sports, travel, and technology.
Contents: Statistical information, data, infographics, and tables.
- Catalyst, powered by MRI-Simmons (formerly Simmons Insights)
Contains U.S. adult (18+) consumer data on product and brand usage, spending behavior, and media habits. Users can create custom reports to analyze demographic and/or psychographic characteristics of product users and their media behavior.
Note: Access is limited to 5 users at a time.
Need search tips? Try: How to Use Catalyst (MRI-Simmons) and Catalyst-MRI/Simmons YouTube Videos.
- SRDS Media Solutions
Includes access to the following databases: Consumer magazines, Digital websites, Newspapers, Out of Home, Radio, TV & Cable.
Contents: Advertising rates and deadlines, editorial or programming content, circulation, links to online media kits, web sites, and audit statements.
- SMA | Sports Market Analytics
Coverage includes sports equipment sales, sports participation statistics, the fan market, sports marketing information, and sponsorship for all major sports.
Contents: Full-text news and market research.
- Sports MarketingAnnual market research report available from Richard Miller & Associates available through SPORTDiscus. Includes some television viewing statistics.
- Data.govThe purpose of Data.gov is "to increase public access to high value, machine readable datasets generated by the Executive Branch of the Federal Government." The site includes searchable data catalogs providing access to data in three ways: through the "raw" data catalog, the tool catalog, and the geodata catalog.
- data.census.gov
The data.census.gov platform provides access to data and digital content from the US Census Bureau including some data previously available through American FactFinder.
Contents: Census data.
- Data USAThe most comprehensive visualization of U.S. public data. Data USA provides an open, easy-to-use platform that turns data into knowledge. The software code is open source - users can build custom applications by adding other data.
- GallupPresents daily briefings on a single current topic, as well as recent Gallup Poll findings for public opinion
- The Harris PollEstablished polling firm.
- Roper CenterPublic Opinion research firm.
- Statistical Abstract of the United States
Summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States.
Contents: Statistical tables.
- AP -NORC Center for Public Affairs ResearchThe AP-NORC Center for Public Affairs Research was created to join the expertise of NORC, one of the world’s premier independent research organizations, with The AP, which provides news seen every day over all media platforms and formats by more than half of the world’s population (website).
Newspaper Coverage
- Nexis Uni (LexisNexis)
Contents: Full-text local, national, and international newspaper articles and legal resources.
Need search tips? See our guides for tips on Legal Searching and News Searching.
Note: The terms of use of this database place limits on the length of time that users may keep copies of material accessed from this service. Please review the terms before downloading any content.
- U.S. Newsstream (ProQuest)
Newspapers covered includes The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Boston Globe, Newsday, and Chicago Tribune.
Contents: Full-text newspaper articles, broadcast transcripts, blogs, and news sites from the United States.
- Ithaca JournalNewspaper covering the Ithaca, NY region from 1999+
- Ithaca VoiceLocal online newspaper for Ithaca, NY. Launched: June, 2014
- Tompkins WeeklyFree weekly news about Tompkins County, New York. Issues are available as pdf files.
Local Companies
For private local companies, mine their website and check local news sources. Set up an alert via Google.
- U.S. Newsstream (ProQuest)Fulltext news articles + the Ithaca Journal.
- Tompkins County Chamber of Commerce: Membership DirectoryWith over 700 active members, the Tompkins County Chamber of Commerce is a progressive, forward-thinking organization that serves as the voice of Tompkins County businesses.
- Ithaca JournalNewspaper covering the Ithaca, NY region from 1999+
- Ithaca VoiceLocal online newspaper for Ithaca, NY. Launched: June, 2014
- Ithaca Times (ithaca.com)Ithaca's free weekly newspaper
- Tompkins WeeklyFree weekly news about Tompkins County, New York. Issues are available as pdf files.
- Current issues of The Ithacan2013 to date
- Cornell Daily SunCornell University's student newspaper.
Sample Search: Public company
My Brand: Oreo
My Company: Nabisco Parent: Mondelez
__________________________________
Business Insights Essentials:
Provides: financial, legal, sales and marketing, and rankings. Lists: key sales, related companies, and key industries. Tells whether it is public or private. If it is public it displays the ticker symbol. Links out to the company's homepage. When linking out to the website, it indicates in the page footer the the parent company is Mondelez International (MDLZ)
- Nabisco Inc.
- Mondelez International
- Cookie and Cracker Manufacturing (311821) Find top companies, associations and an industry overview.
Visit the publicly traded company's Investor Relations site; SEC filings
- Mondelez International: Investor Relations (the events & webcasts + SEC filings will provide information)
- Seeking Alpha Corporate Earnings call transcripts. These are the transcripts from quarterly and yearly earnings announcements which are done by corporate officers to various financial analysts. This free website collates some events events by public companies; transcripts are available.
- SEC Info Securities Information from the SEC EDGAR database. Search by Name, Industry, Business, SIC Code, Area Code,Topic, CIK, Accession Number, File Number, Date, ZIP. You may have to join but membership is free.
- Yahoo! Finance Stock information
Nexis Uni
- Nexis Uni (replaces LexisNexis) Click on the Companies tab and search.
- Also try searching Hoover's Company Records - In-depth Records The Hoover's Company Records - In-Depth Records Database contains information for more than 40,000 major public and private companies worldwide. In-Depth Records include overviews and histories, up to 10 years of key financial and employment data, lists of products and key competitors, names of key officers, addresses, and phone and fax numbers.
Business Source Premier:
Provides scholary research, trade articles, and some reports:
- Search for Nabisco as a company
- Search for Mondelez as a company and Oreo (in TX -- anywhere in the fulltext of the article)
- In the left menu, limit to SWOT
- Search for Oreo cookie
- Search for NAICS industry code 311821 (news on the cookie industry) AND "market share" or ranking
ABI/Inform:
Provides scholarly research, trade articles, and some reports:
- Search for Nabisco as a company
- Search for Oreo cookie
- Search for NAICS industry code 311821 (news on the cookie industry)
