STCM 28800: Research & Statistics for Strategic Communication

• The Advertising Association / Warc  UK companies that provides the database called Expenditure Report. The report covers advertising expenditure data going back to 1982 in addition to 2 years of projections. IC Library does not subscribe but some data is mentioned in the press release. 
• Alliance for Audited Media  Organization that audits circulation statistics and generates reports to assist advertisers and publishers with media sales. Formerly known as the Audit Bureau of Circulations.  Some free reports are available.
• Bureau of Economic Analysis, U.S. Department of Commerce  Covers a wide variety of economic indicators at the national, international, regional and industry levels, including: Gross Domestic Product(GDP), Personal income, Balance of Trade, and an overview of the U.S. Economy.
• Bureau of Labor Statistics. U.S. Department of Labor  Detailed releases of a wide variety of economic statistics including: Consumer Price Index (CPI), productivity, consumer spending, wages and earnings, employment/unemployement, inflation among others.  They Publish the Consumer Expenditure Survey (CE), a survey of American buying habits (spending, earnings, etc.) as well as The American Time Use Survey (ATUS) that measures the amount of time people spend doing various activities. 
• Cornell Program on Applied Demographics (PAD) PAD works with the New York Statistical Information System (NYsis), Regional Economic Development, and Consumer Demographics and Market Strategies (CDMS).   Contact information can be found here. Cornell is home to a U.S. Census Research Data Center (RDC).  It is located at the Cornell Institute for Social and Economic Research (CISER).
• EDGAR Database (Securities and Exchange Commission)  Official SEC (Securities and Exchange Commission) documents such as Form 10-K, 10-Q, Proxy statements, registration statements, and merger and acquisition documents. *Be sure to look at the DEF14A (Proxy) statements and the Management Discussion and Analysis sections of Form 10-k, Form 10-Q for insights into management.
• MarketingCharts  Charts and data for marketers in web and Excel format from Watershed Publishing.
• NationMaster  A central data source and handy way to graphically compare nations. NationMaster is a compilation of data from such sources as the CIA World Factbook, UN, and OECD.  Use the search form to generate maps and graphs on all kinds of statistics.
• Pew Research: Journalism Project Assesses the state of news in society. Includes a link to The State of the News Media Annual Report as well as other research reports and analysis.
• Research and Markets: Market research reports Company, based in Ireland, that sells international market research reports on a variety of specific topics.
• SEC Filings from Yahoo Announcements of SEC (Securities and Exchange Commission) filings updated daily from Yahoo.
• SEC Info  Securities Information from the SEC EDGAR database. Search by Name, Industry, Business, SIC Code, Area Code,Topic, CIK, Accession Number, File Number, Date, ZIP. You may have to join but membership is free.
• Trendwatching.com TRENDWATCHING.COM and its 3,000+ trendspotters scan the US, Canada, European Union, Japan, South Korea, India, South Africa, Australia, Brazil and 50 other nations & regions for hot, emerging consumer trends and related new business ideas. Free monthly bulletin briefings are archived back to first issue (November 2002). 
• VALS (Values, Attitudes, and Lifestyles) By Strategic Business Insights, this measurement tool based on psychographic segmentation is used in marketing to define targets.

Media research companies (a selection. note: many market research reports are priced out of range for the academy; you can sometimes read executive reports for general trends; Cornell subscribes to MINTEL):

• Alexa: an Amazon.com Company  Alexa provides data on web traffic based on data from their global traffic panel and from sites that installed the Alexa script on their site and certify their metrics. 
• BIA Kelsey Company specializing in supplying local media data to clients.
• comScore  Market research company that measures consumer behavior online for a variety of industries.
• Edison Media Research Marketing research for broadcasters including television, radio, and the Associated Press.
• eMarketer Online market research that reports on trends in key industries: banking, broadband, consumer products, e-commerce, media &entertainment, information technology, international, internet demographics, internet usage, media & content, pharmaceuticals & health care, retail, telecommunications, travel, wireless, etc. Partial fulltext. Visitors can sign up for free newsletters.
• Forrester  Market research company
• Google Ads  Online advertising site for Google.
  Think with Google  Data and insights from Google. 
• Insight Research Corporation Market research for the telecom industry.
• Kantar Media Company that provides strategic advertising intelligence. & compete
• Media Science From "Our Philosophy": "...we are leading the charge in redefining how consumer research is performed with research methods that mirror the pace of innovation in the marketplace."
• Nielsen Measures audiences for television and other media markets. Claritas SiteReports provides U.S. demographic data.
  ​Nielsen Audio (formerly Arbitron)  Market research firm that collects data on the radio industry and other media outlets. Nielsen acquired Arbitron in 2013.
  Nielsen Ratings and Rankings-Top 10s and trends  The top 10s and trends in consumer media and marketing behavior for radio, television, books, video games, music, advertising, and sports.
  Nielsen Scarborough Research Measures consumer trends for media markets.
• Q Scores This company measures the consumer appeal of personalities, products, characters, licensed properties, programs and brands.   The Q Score is a "measure of likeability" that predicts consumer involvement. Data is sold to advertisement and PR firms amongst others.
• Verizon Media  Verizon media's ad platform.