Cathy Michael
Table of Contents: Secondary Research
Getting to fulltext
When searching, if you see the "GET IT" icon, click on it. You'll be taken to the full text or to Interlibrary Loan (ILL) if full text is unavailable.
Best Bets: Databases
Advertising Data (Target Audience and Brand Analysis)
-
Catalyst, powered by MRI-Simmons (formerly Simmons Insights)
Contains U.S. adult (18+) consumer data on product and brand usage, spending behavior, and media habits. Users can create custom reports to analyze demographic and/or psychographic characteristics of product users and their media behavior.
Note: Access is limited to 5 users at a time.
Need search tips? Try: How to Use Catalyst (MRI-Simmons) and Catalyst-MRI/Simmons YouTube Videos.
Ad placement (Magazines, Newspapers, Television titles, rates and contact information)
-
SRDS Media Solutions
Includes access to the following databases: Consumer magazines, Digital websites, Newspapers, Out of Home, Radio, TV & Cable.
Contents: Advertising rates and deadlines, editorial or programming content, circulation, links to online media kits, web sites, and audit statements.
- Go to the magazine or newspaper's website and look for the "Media Kit" in the footer
- There is a lot of jargon in media planning. Here is a Glossary of Media Terms from SRDS.
Company, Industry, and Brand Analysis information (trade and industry news, competitors, some industry reports such SWOT)
-
Business Insights (Gale) (Formerly known as Business Insights: Essentials)
Contains detailed company and industry news and information including company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, market research reports, SWOT reports, company histories, and more.
Contents: Company and industry information, articles, and statistical data.
-
Business Source Premier (EBSCO)
Covers all areas of business.
Contents: Full-text articles, books, news industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses, working papers, and more.
-
ABI/INFORM Collection (ProQuest)
This collection, comprised of ABI/INFORM Global, Trade & Industry, and Dateline, contains resources covering accounting, marketing, sports and business, and economics.
Contents: Full-text articles, dissertations, working papers, periodicals, country- and industry-focused reports, case studies, and market information.
-
Nexis Uni (LexisNexis)Try Company Dossier (Search by Menu> Company Dossier) & Hoover's Company Records - In-depth Records
-
Statista
Subjects are geared towards business and marketing statistical needs, and include consumer goods, media, politics, sports, travel, and technology.
Contents: Statistical information, data, infographics, and tables.
-
NetAdvantage (S&P)
From Standard & Poor's, this database contains financial information for US and global companies, including current and past stock prices, annual reports, SEC and Canadian SEDAR filings, industry surveys, and other information for business research and analysis.
Note: For an overview of the database, please see our video.
Local Companies and Nonprofits
- Mine their websites for information
Also try the local Chamber of Commerce such as the Tompkins County Chamber of Commerce - Search local and regional news sources (see Newspaper Sources, right)
- Nonprofits: Try and find their 990s (instead of 10Ks). Check websites that evaluate them such as:
CitizenAudit.org Investigates nonprofits
GuideStar.org Search for nonprofits by name, etc. Form 990's available. Some are free.
Charity Navigator Search for nonprofits by name
Better Business Bureau Reports on major charitable organizations.
Sports:
-
Sports MarketingAnnual market research report available from Richard Miller & Associates available through SPORTDiscus. Includes some television viewing statistics.
-
SMA | Sports Market Analytics
Coverage includes sports equipment sales, sports participation statistics, the fan market, sports marketing information, and sponsorship for all major sports.
Contents: Full-text news and market research.
Entertainment
-
Arts, Entertainment and Recreation IndustryVia Business Insights: Essentials. This is an annual report from Plunkett Research, Ltd.
-
Amusement Parks, Theme Parks and Arcades IndustryVia Business Insights: Essentials, an annual industry report from Plunkett Research.
Selected Journals
-
Consumer ReportsThe current issue is available from 01/01/1988 to present via Nexis Uni.The current year is also available in paper in the library (Popular Periodicals).
-
Journal of Educational Advancement & MarketingPeriodicals LB2342.8 .J68 v. 1 (2016) -
-
Journal of Historical Research in Marketing2009 (Vol. 1, no. 1) - present (delayed 1 year)
-
Journal of Management and Marketing ResearchOpen Access. v. 1 2008-
-
Journal of research in interactive marketing.2007 (Vol. 1, no. 1) - present (delayed 1 year)
How to Read a Citation
Journals
Search all the library's journals by title or ISSN.